May. 24th, 2018

gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2KOIbzG

asfhs;foajshfs thank you all for the comments on my selfie, ILU GUYS
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2x5XMZV

vickisigh:

week 3 of mermay! <3 

Twitter | Instagram | Patreon | Store
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2LrOCdg

thebootydiaries:

cashier: do you want the receipt?

me: yas bitch tell me everything
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2IHmgxP

novitae:

cupcakeemily34:

badveganwolf:

imran-suleiman:

Photographer Mattias Klum from National Geographic gets close and personal with a lion.

“and all of a sudden you feel very small” damn right

IT JUST WANTS TO BE LOVED AND SAVED

please, if you are able, do what you can for the asiatic lion. donate, get involved, spread information. there are only about 300 left in the world, and they all live in Gir Forest National Park in India.

the african lion is also estimated to be extinct by 2050 due to habitat loss, sport hunting, and loss of their prey base to the bushmeat trade. these beautiful creatures could be extinct in our lifetime. the next generation may not ever have the chance to see these creatures, there will be no more cute lion vines, there will be no more documentaries, there will be no more zoos or sanctuaries containing lions. there will be no more lions.

if you have any love for nature, any love for animals, any love for life, and if you care at all about the permanent loss of a species, especially one so beautiful and iconic, if you care and if you are able, please donate to help save lions.

The Lion Conservation Fund

The African Wildlife Foundation

The World Wildlife Foundation
(Your picture was not posted)

Photo

May. 24th, 2018 03:09 pm
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2kkPWlJ
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2xbDluu

broke-broken-breaking:

folkdad:

i complimented an old lady customer’s little round glasses and she said “why thank you! someone told me they had a ‘steampunk look’. i haven’t been called a punk in a long time, much less a steamy one!” i’m flatlining

This is so pure
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2IJagvV

stormpilot:

love, simon (2018)
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2IL4khV

urban-cryptid:

mulaney:

Uh oh! Baby Boy is on Tumblr! I’m John Mulaney and this is my first post. I am silly but also a guys’ guy. This is my best photo.

I cant believe this is actually john mulaney and not a parody blog created for the sole purpose of making this shitpost
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2s5AwWY

pillowfort-io:

Hey! Have you heard about Pillowfort.io?

Pillowfort.io is a new blogging website, made by people who grew up on blogging sites like LiveJournal and Tumblr. We wanted to make a user-friendly space on the web for creativity, communication and content-sharing. Pillowfort aims to be a hybrid of Tumblr, Twitter, and LiveJournal–keeping the strengths of these sites while compensating for their weaknesses.

Our goals for Pillowfort are

To build a space for fans and creators alike to share their work

To give users tools to create communities of their own

To encourage a positive and safe environment for all users

Features

The ability to control who can view, reblog, and comment on your posts

Nested comment threads for better dialogue between users

User-created communities for sharing content and meeting others with similar interests

A built-in blacklisting feature, so you can hide posts containing certain keywords and tags

A private messaging feature that lets you build friendships one on one

But you know what’s the best thing about Pillowfort.io? It’s already live and in beta! We’re gearing up to welcome our fourth wave of beta users this Summer and you can sign up for registration here. If you have any questions, check out our about page!

We look forward to having you join the party!

Read this post on Pillowfort.io!

Have questions? Feel free to email us at info@pillowfort.io!

I really hope this takes off!

I have an account with the same username as here.
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2IKpufZ

pervocracy:

witchfinder-major-saucepan:

practicalityinpraxis:

witchfinder-major-saucepan:

So like… what do gatekeepers… DO in the real world? Like if they’re at an LGBT+ event and a bi woman is like “Hi I’m Emily and this is my boyfriend,” do they like… confront her? When a person at a support group says “I’m asexual” do they just sit silently and stew in their own rage? Like how do you people function in the real world??

An enormous amount of gatekeepers don’t interact with local queer groups and communities at all. The younger ones don’t have access, and the older ones got black listed a long time ago for being vile.

That lack of access, for the younger ones, is why they are so easily targeted by older radfem types, and is why the age of gatekeepers is so skewed towards young people, btw. They have no way to experience actual queer communities, so they get sucked into this awful, dangerous parody of it.

That was a rhetorical question but this is a damn good answer

Also, not being in real-life communities means you don’t get a chance to fairly interact with all the other qualities of these people.  Like, what if Emily and her boyfriend are super sweet and generous people?  What if the asexual person is a fantastic listener and really understanding?

Or what if the asexual person isn’t any kind of saint, but they’re just a very specific person, with long grey hair and a dog named Pebbles and an interest in ethical archaeology?

And I know that by the strict rules of engagement this shouldn’t matter, the answer should be “you may be lovely but you’re simply not qualified to be part of this group,” but I also know that’s not how it is in real life.  In real life it’s a lot easier to type “I am the ultimate judge and monarch of who counts as queer!!!” into the accepting blue void of Tumblr than it is to say it to Emily’s face.
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2xay4Dl

picsthatmakeyougohmm:

hmmm
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2GNos10

birdandmoon:

I got to visit a bird banding station, and… this happened.
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2kmpKao

pervocracy:

It’s a ritual now.  You know how it goes

The first news reports are confused, incomplete, just the location and something about an “active shooter.”  You still have room to hope it’s not too bad, maybe someone just fired some rounds in the air and didn’t hit anyone.  Or maybe there’s only one or two dead; that would make it more like just a regular murder.  That’s a thing you can hope for too.

Then you get the body count.  Then the updated body count.  There was a point in your life when that number might have made you cry.  Now you just sigh.  Maybe when you see all the names and pictures you’ll cry a little.  Maybe when you see the obituaries saying things like “she liked rabbits and dancing” because, hey, what can you really say when you’re telling the life story of a child who had barely started to live?

The suspect is taken, sometimes dead, sometimes alive.  Their motivations are mostly opaque.  Something something “troubled,” something something “red flags,” here’s some social media posts that are kinda creepy or extremist but not beyond what ten thousand other teenage edgelords might post.

There’s a gun control debate.  There’s a mental health debate.  There’s a bullying debate.  There’s a tug-of-war over the shooter’s political and/or ethnic affiliation.  There’s a “maybe the victims are really the evil ones” debate that used to be a weird fringe sideshow but is apparently mainstream now.  There’s a violent entertainment debate.  There’s a thousand little “this is really about my pet issue, and here’s why…” debates.

Thoughts and prayers are offered, politicians make their Serious Face.  Facebook icons are changed.  The Onion posts this article.  Flags are at half-mast for a week.  Flags are always at half-mast these days anyway.  We bitterly say “this will all be forgotten in a week” to each other, then forget it in a week.

Then another news report comes on, confused and incomplete.



I’m sad and angry and want this to end.  I have some hope that the Parkland survivors’ self-advocacy became a turning point, started to break the cycle.  Something has to.
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2s8eCSb

nest:

this is this guy’s entire tinder bio and i am OBSESSED with how it is phrased
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2KTFkWu

marsincharge:

hundondestiny:

marsincharge:

This is gonna be hard for a lot of people to hear but uhhh…when you blow your friends off continuously, they reserve the right to get annoyed with you, even when it’s because you’re Sad™️.

Yeah, the issue becomes “why do you keep making plans when you know you’re not going to keep them?“ 

It’s your responsibility to manage your feelings, not other people. If you know you’re not in a stable mind, don’t make plans, or at least keep things to a “I’m not sure how I’ll be feeling but I’ll try and make it if I can!”

And if you know you aren’t typically going to have the energy to go out-out, suggest something that’s more your speed. I’m not huge on clubbing, but my friends will usually be down to have a kickback with movies and weed when we all have time—that’s much easier for me to handle emotionally and energy-wise, and it still gives us a fun time together.

it’s not that difficult if you get out of that “well i’m DEPRESSED so you can’t judge me” kind of mindset. people ought to be respectful, but their feelings don’t have to fall behind yours.

Thank you for elaborating on my point so eloquently.
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2J6lARY

wizardtwins:

poundedinthebuttbymyownpodcast.com

this is a gift to us all
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2KS28FR

zandorv:

captainsnoop:

thalassarche:

orson-bigdaddy-krennic:

shamblingshitpickle:

PSA: journalists aren’t supposed to put names in the headlines if the person isn’t a public figure. It’s not a matter of maliciously not giving credit

^^^as a journalist, this is something that bothers me ALL THE TIME

A friend of mine on Twitter explained this the other day, so to elaborate based on what she said: If the name is not instantly recognizable the way a public figure is, then putting the name in the headline isn’t going to bring about any sort of recognition or connection in the reader, and doesn’t do much to draw the reader into the story. But something like “local teen” does create a connection by tying the person into the community, and encourages the reader to learn more about what this local teen has done. The name will be in the article itself, after the headline has done its job at getting the reader to look into it.

It’s worth noting too that usually, according to the Inverted Pyramid writing style used for journalism where the most important information is shared first, the person’s name is usually in the first sentence of the first paragraph.

Whenever I see someone get up at arms over a headline that says “Local Teen” and the first comment is “SAY THEIR NAME” I’m always like “hey, thanks for telling every journalist present that you don’t read articles and just skim headlines.” Really makes us feel appreciated.

I think this Onion headline illustrates the point pretty well
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2IIghJ7

mythicamagic:

sokkable:

thesneezyunicorn:

sokkable:

not to be controversial but

mid season two zuko hair is his best

I want proof

book one: does not pull off this very traditional cut at all. he looks like an onion with a horse’s tail glued onto his head. (1/10)

book two: wholesome cut, so cute. just look at him, he just wants to support his uncle and be happy. (10/10)

book three: angst overload. too much edginess, look at him. wow he even has hair in front of his eyes. so rebellious (4/10)

YOU FOOL, YOU ABSOLUTE fOoooL!

^^^ THIS is true Zuko book three hair. It has just the right amount of floofyness to dance in the breeze and it’s BEAUTIFUL 11/10 don’t come at me with your Beach episode Zuko.

Book three redemption Zuko hair is best hair.
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2GMvCCB

florbe-triz:

FMA au where everything is the same, except Ed’s hair is braided differently every day.
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2IGG98l

shrlockstrk:

What I mean when I say I like a villain:

I like their story

I like their motivations

I like their skills/powers

I like their intelligence

I like their quotes

I find them interesting

I like their relationship with other character(s)

What I definitely don’t mean when I say I like a villain:

“They’re just misunderstood”

I’m defending every single one of their actions and I think they’re 100% innocent

I’m a dumbass who doesn’t know that they’re a villain
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2KRaRYN

shen-ceus:

Avengers: Who would literally be stupid enough to trust Loki twice after they got backstabbed by him? He’s evil.

Thor:
(Your picture was not posted)

Photo

May. 24th, 2018 08:12 pm
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2Ludf9c
(Your picture was not posted)

Profile

gravityeyelids: (Default)
Rachel

April 2019

S M T W T F S
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 01:38 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios