via
http://ift.tt/2CZMAMB:
penrosesun:
cykelops:
i understand being excited for superhero movies about WOMEN but can we PLEASE stop hiring men to be in charge of them. they had their chance writing female characters as supporting roles and they failed. time to try it this way.
Ok, so…
If this is about “Ant-Man & the Wasp”, that’s… fair, I guess, except that as a sequel to “Ant-Man”, it makes sense to keep the same director. But, yeah, sure – it’d probably be better if one of the screenwriters was a woman.
If this is about “Batgirl”, once again, yeah, I guess that’s fair – Joss Whedon might have made a name for himself writing Strong Female Characters, and he is apparently drawing pretty extensively from the work of female comic book writer Gail Simone, but they probably could have gotten a woman to direct instead, and that probably would have been preferable.
If this is about “Gotham City Sirens,” the director is the same guy who did “Suicide Squad”, but the screenwriter is a woman.
If this is about “Silver and Black”, the director, story credit, and screenwriter are all women.
If this is about “Captain Marvel”, the original screenwriters were two women, the new screenwriter is also a woman, and the film is being directed by a male/female screenwriting pair who have worked together before.
If this is about “Wonder Woman 2″, I know the screenwriter personally, and he’s doing it because *Patty Jenkins* herself asked him to write it, not because some higher level exec put a man on the project.
And if you’re talking about “Black Widow”, it’s so early in production that it’s hard to say what’s going on, but at minimum, we already know that Nicole Perlman is involved in the writing, in addition to David Hayter.
SO YES, obviously, Hollywood needs more women, and needs more women in charge. But I have no friggin’ clue why people are singling out female superhero movies for that, especially given than female superhero movies are actually for the most part doing really well in terms of putting women in charge of their development (finally tally for all the screenwriters and directors I listed, btw, is 10/17 female, and that’s not counting the fact that several of those men are working directly under or with women who specifically chose them). No, women aren’t dominating female superheroes the way men are dominating… well, almost everywhere else, but the one place where women are going better-than-even with men for creative control seems like a really bizarre place to point the finger regarding the problem of women in Hollywood being passed up for men.
TL;DR:
Let’s stop talking about the comparatively rare problem of men being put in charge of female superhero movies, and start talking about, you know, LITERALLY EVERY OTHER AREA IN HOLLYWOOD.
(Your picture was not posted)