Jan. 15th, 2018

gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2r11fFU:

enrimoe:

starshein:

Listen up. There is literally an app that can help you avoid self harm and I don’t know why we aren’t talking about it.

Calm Harm can be tailored to your needs and will provide strategies to help you get past those crucial moments of wanting to harm.

It’s also totally FREE.

once again, it’s called CALM HARM

This app is #10 in play store
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2mFlFzL:

lightskinlivinglavish:

hello-giggles-yahoopartner:

If you grew up in the 2000s, chances are you definitely wished your long-lost grandmother would suddenly arrive in town and reveal you were secretly a princess in an adorable little European country called Genovia. The dream. The 2001 film The Princess Diaries and its 2004 sequel had us all wishing we were Mia Thermopolis.

But anyone who has read the brilliant book series by Meg Cabot knows that there are some serious differences between The Princess Diaries book and the films; namely, in the books Mia’s dad is alive and a major character. So why did Disney decide to kill him off for the films? According to Cabot, it was because of Dame Julie Andrews.

The celebrated author recently revealed to Entertainment Weekly that she was surprised when Disney told her they wanted to write out one of her main characters. That is, until she heard why.

“[Mia’s father] plays a big role in the books,” She explained to EW. “I was like, ‘Oh, oh, my God, what did he do [for Disney to kill him off]?’ And they said, ‘Well, we have this actress, who’s a really big actress, that we want to play the grandmother. And we wanna make her role much bigger, and kinda raise the stakes, and give her a lot more lines, and we think we can give her a lotta the dad lines.’ And I was like, ‘Well who’s the actress?’ And they were like, ‘Julie Andrews.’ I was like, ‘Oh my God, kill the dad.’ I was like, it’s Julie Andrews, sure.”

“oh my god kill the dad”
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2DwFkc9:

gif87a-com:

Photographer finds locations of 1960s postcards to see how they look today [x]
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2FCAwCM:

nurseyxbitty:

what-even-is-thiss:

Yesterday my dad told me something that I think maybe more people need to hear.

You’re allowed to just do things for fun.

He told me that in this modern society, especially the United States, we seem to have this attitude that we shouldn’t do something unless we’re aiming to be the best at it. If we can’t sing like Beyonce or Frank Sinatra or something there’s no point to singing. If we can’t make the next big breakthrough there’s no point in looking into mechanics and engineering.

But, he tells me, it took him a long time to figure out that life doesn’t have to be a race. If you want to take up the piano when you’re a teenager or later you’re not going to master it. You’re not going to be able to play to huge concert halls, but that also shouldn’t stop you. You can study a language out of curiosity and then drop the ball if you want. You can just get okay at something or even be terrible at it. You can drop it for days or years and then pick it up again and it doesn’t have to be a shameful thing.

I’m really glad he told me that because today I opened my sketchpad for the first time in months and just started drawing. And it looks terrible. But I don’t care. I don’t have the talent or patience or spacial awareness to get anywhere near good at drawing, but it’s fun. It helps me focus my mind and nobody has to see it.

And because of what he told me, I’m thinking maybe someday soon I will take up the bass guitar. And I won’t worry about how well I do, or how fast I learn, or that I haven’t played an instrument since sixth grade, or that I don’t have that much time to practice. I’m just gonna enjoy the experience. Maybe I’ll try swing dancing again and take a class because I’m not the best dancer but damn if it isn’t fun.

Yeah, you don’t have to be good at things. It’s not a requirement. Maybe that seems obvious but it had never occurred to me before. You’re allowed to just enjoy what you’re doing. For me, that feels like a life changing revelation. I don’t have to be good at something to like it. I don’t have to put 100% effort into everything I do. It’s kind of amazing.

i love this post and i love you
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2EH5loy:

booksandrandomfandoms:

haelstorm:

me: i want to buy new books

the 10 unread books i bought last year, staring at me from my bookshelf:

Probably more like the 100 unread book I bought last year but yea 😂
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2AZYSD0:

iruutciv:

It’s been a while but!!!! Have a short happy fluffy Victuuri kiss everyone, happy 2k18!!!
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2De9Zy7:

jonghyunkazoo:

Granny: No printer, just fax!
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2B0YPH9:

smuganimebitch:

ringoroadagain:

smuganimebitch:

all offense intended but some of yalls ideas for making a “better” star wars film are hot garbage

49-minute yoda fuck scene

you are the exception
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2EGsBTH:

weekendviking:

everyoneisgay:

heatherannehogan:

Lesbophobia is real. It’s the prejudice, bigotry, and oppression that exists at the intersection of homophobia and misogyny. Let me say it again: Lesbophobia is real. Hate for lesbians is real.

However, it is essential to acknowledge and understand that the term lesbophobia has been co-opted by a loud and growing contingent of LGBTQ women in communities that share troubling ties and ideology with factions that exist inside the alt-right movement — worse, the dangerous dogma that’s attaching itself to word the lesbophobia has found a new home at AfterEllen.

I first encountered the word lesbophobia in response to the post I wrote called Queer Women Take Over The 2016 Emmys. Her Story got a revolutionary nod for Outstanding Short Form. Kate McKinnon took home a trophy for Saturday Night Live. Sarah Paulson won for The People vs. O.J. Simpson. And Jill Soloway scored another victory for Transparent. On social media there was a small outcry that I hadn’t chosen the headline “Lesbians Take Over the 2016 Emmys,” despite the fact that Kate McKinnon was the only winner who explicitly identifies as a lesbian. (In fact, Sarah Paulson is on record saying, “I refuse to give any kind of label just to satisfy what people need.”) The reasons the handful of dissenters gave for my decision to call the Emmys queer was that I am a lesbophobe, an espouser and executor of lesbophobia.

To be very honest with you, I shrugged it off. The most unwinnable battle we have at Autostraddle is labeling LGBTQ people in a way that satisfies everyone. It’s such a constant struggle, we laid out an explanation about labels in our official comment policy. Recently on a Pop Culture Fix, I wrote about the new queer characters coming to The Good Wife spin-off. One of them will be a lesbian, according to the show’s writers; the other’s sexuality has not been labeled. So, I said, “The Good Wife spin-off will prominently feature two lesbian, bisexual, gay, homosexual, or otherwise queer-identified women.” Just to cover all my bases because it was almost Christmas and I was tired and I didn’t want to have to argue about labels. And yet, the cries of lesbophobia came in again. I got a couple of emails, a dozen or so tweets. Essentially: “Lesbian is not a dirty word! Saying queer is lesbophobic!”

So, on December 26, I tweeted something I think is a true, fair, and accurate analogy:

Yelling “lesbophobia!” when someone says “queer” is like yelling “war on Christmas!” when someone says “happy holidays.” Come on, y'all.

A couple of days later, AfterEllen’s official Twitter tweeted at me and said: “@theheatherhogan oh, agreed. It’s like yelling “biphobia!” and “transphobia!” when someone says lesbian.“

To which beloved Autostraddle cartoonist Dickens replied:

“AfterEllen is three weeks shy of transforming their website into an online support group for victims of wyt lesbian genocide. This is honestly the most ridiculously entitled white lesbian coated petrified bullshit I have seen in a long time. And if you don’t think white supremacy has reached out its dirty little fingers and touched a few groups of marginalized white folks, well. Keep an eye on their feed here and there. Keep an eye on their former writers. They aren’t just trying to Make Lesbianism Great Again… They are asserting their strength. They are erasing the visibility of the defectors. They are sliding their salty little asses into spaces and feeds where they must know they are clearly not wanted or cared for. I was never a fan of AE but this new image they’re building for themselves is a little too Nazi-adjacent for my galaxy Blaaaack aaaass.”

Dickens was, of course, correct. And her point was proven once again the very next day when an article blasted out to the 125,000 followers of AfterEllen’s official, verified Twitter account cried: “Lesbian Spaces Are Still Needed, No Matter What the Queer Movement Says”. It suggests that trans women and bisexual women’s desire to be included in queer women’s spaces is to blame for the decline of lesbian-specific spaces, which lesbians need to stay safe from trans and bisexual women.

That kind of rallying cry feels very much like the “Save Our White Neighborhoods” rallying cry of the alt-right, so I went on a deeper dive to try to find the origins of what I called “the lesbophobia movement” on Twitter. And what I found was more horrifying than I ever imagined.

A few weeks ago AfterEllen — which everyone presumed dead after the company that owns it effectively fired everyone, including longtime editor in chief Trish Bendix — announced it had acquired a new editor named Memoree Joelle. In October, Joelle, tweeted a Change.org petition that she’d signed called Take the L Out of LGBT. The petition is a direct response to a previously failed petition that called for GLAAD, the Human Rights Campaign, HuffPo Voices, The Advocate, etc. to Drop The T from LGBT. The most popular supporter of the petition is a guy you might know called Milo Yiannopoulos. He signed it, tweeted about it, and dedicated 3,000 words to it in a post on Breitbart. Thanks to Milo’s urging, Matthew Hopkins, one of the main perpetrators of Gamergate, wrote a post called “Why #GamerGate Should Help the ‘Drop the T’ Campaign” on his personal blog. Hopkins called it “one of the most politically important campaigns of our generation.”

In addition to signing and tweeting about the petition, Joelle commented her approval. When former AfterEllen writer Elaine Atwell brought Joelle’s support of the petition to light, Joelle’s comments disappeared from the petition, and so did Elaine’s byline from the hundreds of articles she wrote over the last five years at AfterEllen.

The comments on the Change.org petition mention lesbophobia multiple times and equate it with trans activism, as do the subreddits that discussed Joelle’s contribution to the petition. “Part of lesbophobia is hating us for our same-sex attraction, but another very big part of it is hating us for our rejection of men,” one user wrote on /r/GenderCritical/. (Trans women are almost always referred to as men on this particular subreddit.) Another Redditor on /r/actuallesbians decried the “male entitlement and lesbophobia” of protesting the petition. “The moment we talk about your rape culture or your male violence we’re ‘transphobic’ or ‘biphobic.’” (The men in this comment are actually trans women and “rape culture” refers to the constantly espoused idea in TERF communities that trans women are male predators.) The lesbophobia tag on the blog GenderTrender is a deeply disturbing trip down an anti-trans rabbit hole. The lesbophobia tag on the website 4th Wave Now is horrifying; it equates allowing trans kids/teens to come out and live openly as their true gender with child abuse, ideas that are — again — shared with Breitbart and Milo Yiannopoulos. Reddit and Tumblr are absolutely flush with lesbians using the word “lesbophobia” to back up the ideas presented in these “Drop the T”/“The L Is Leaving” petitions.

These spaces that use the word “lesbophobia” to attack trans and bi women or people who use the word queer share more than than an ideology with Breitbart. You’ll find them saying things like “trans women want to colonize the lesbian community.” You’ll find them using the phrase “SJW” (meaning Social Justice Warrior), a pejorative term coined by the Men’s Rights Activist movement. And you’ll find a lot of talk about how the correct “biology” is the thing that allows people access to the protections of the majority. And lots and lots and lots and lots of just truly sickening propaganda leveled at trans and bi women. It’s very much about creating an in-group and scapegoating an out-group through tried and true tactics that have been — I’m sorry — utilized by Fox News and the alt-right for years.

I wrote about these things on Twitter, and you can read Dickens further unpacking them here and here. (You should read that last thread before you jump in here and call her “my black friend.”)

Look, we didn’t just wake up one day with an openly racist, openly sexist, openly xenophobic, openly ableist, openly anti-semitic president in the White House, appointing the leader of the most dangerous white supremacist website in history to his top advisor position. We watched blatant and unabashed white supremacist language and ideas slowly take over the movement from the inside. We watched the most powerful scapegoat the most vulnerable. We watched Fox News make heroes out of the white men who murdered unarmed black children and terrify people with their whole War on Christmas bullshit and equate all Muslims with terrorists. A Nazi didn’t walk into the West Wing and have a seat; the slow creep of white supremacy laid the path for him.

Vox did a fascinating interview with former conservative talk show host Charlie Sykes earlier this year. He quit over Trump. But the whole interview is him agonizing about how, to him, the GOP had always been about fiscal conservatism and states rights and he believed in that ideological purity so deeply that he fooled himself into believing that’s what the GOP was about to everybody, despite the fact that he saw the white supremacy and fascism slowly gaining power and momentum until it took over.

To realize, first of all, that you’re part of a movement that was not the movement you thought it was, that you’re aligned with people that you didn’t really understand you’re aligned with, and to realize that everything that you thought about the conservative intellectual infrastructure was really piecrust thin. You thought you had this big principled movement and then suddenly along comes Donald Trump and you realize that it was just was just the pastry on top. So I think disorienting is a great term. Disillusioning is not too strong either.

To me, what we’re talking about with lesbophobia is a similar thing. Is lesbophobia a term some lesbians have rallied around to protest the prejudice and bigotry that exist at the intersection of homophobia and misogyny? Yes, of course. Absolutely. HOWEVER. I had to go searching for people using the word lesbophobia like that because my entire experience with the way the word kept popping up in my timeline and in my comments and in the comments sections of other websites was to decry the use of the word queer and to espouse anti-trans and anti-bi ideology. And that includes every single person who landed in my mentions on Twitter when I started talking about this. I did not click on a single profile without finding anti-trans, anti-bi language; or ask a single person if they believe trans women are women and have them say yes.

If you are a woman who is using the word lesbophobia to NOT do those things, and you’re more angry at me for pointing out that it’s happening than you are at anti-trans/anti-bi people who have hijacked its meaning, I … I truly don’t understand. What’s happening at AfterEllen is terrifying me. Maybe the website is technically dead, but it still has clout and power and it’s using it to push some really dangerous ideas about lesbian exclusivity, and those ideas are shared by a very loud group of people who use the word “lesbophobia” on their blogs, social media, Reddit, etc. to vilify the people (like me) who stand against them.

I don’t want to cause anyone pain. I don’t want to make anyone feel unsafe or unloved or unaccepted. I DO NOT BELIEVE LESBIANS ARE NAZIS. I AM A LESBIAN. If you truly think that’s what I was saying when I unpacked these ideas on Twitter, I’m sorry. It was not my intention.

I do think, however, that it’s imperative for you to open your eyes to how the word lesbophobia is being used to persecute and oppress trans and bi women in very vocal and influential spaces that have direct ties in ideology and language with the alt-right.

An incredibly important read.

Via Crystal; language in propaganda is important, and often subtle.
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2D4sAZs:

theultravioletcatastrophe:

tastypimp:

Science is so cool

Thank you, shitty science side of tumblr
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2mymlpC:

mexicanheaux:

juri-han:

mexicanheaux:

mexicanheaux:

Sometimes u just gotta make yourself a quesadilla and move the fuck on

The worst part about this post??? People saying “with cheese!” Bitch cheese is literally in the word if it had no cheese it would be a dilla

in some places a quesadilla doesnt include cheese
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2DugUjz:

zetsubonna:

gudroo:

gudroo:

hey did anyone hear the news that scientists have actually been able to figure out the most common key that old pirate shanties were sang in

imo it’s really interesting? like, they found and analysed lots and lots of sheet music that they suspect was inspired by all these old shanties, since all the music was written by people who are believed to have been former sailors or even former pirates. and the neat part is that statistically speaking almost 90% of them are written in the same key. i mean, obviously it’s not confirmed 100%, but it looks like almost all pirate shanties were sang in a high C

GO TO JAIL
(Your picture was not posted)

Photo

Jan. 15th, 2018 06:27 am
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2Dw77JU:
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2r8808P:

Why we fell for clean eating:

thurisazsalail:

systlin:

dimetrodone:

bogleech:

I actually remember “The Blonde Vegan” pissing me off with her potentially deadly pseudoscience. I had no idea she ACTUALLY started slowly dying from this shit, tried to tell her audience, and got mostly death threats and body shaming from them in return.

The entire nebulous movement of Unprocessed Organic Food Hippie movement is so fucking evil. They should just be held down and forced to subsist on nothing but McNuggets .

I feel like it’s worth noting that her specific “clean eating” diet wasn’t just “no processed food”, but also no meat, no grain, no oil, no legumes. 

This wasn’t something like the paleo or keto diet or even most vegan diets (which can be flawed but also practiced health and be substained and fine for many people with the right resources and information), but one that basically cut out a large majorly of calorie (and often nutrient) dense foods that most would consider healthy and alright in a standard diets.

Not that this thing wasn’t the result of how dangerous *diet culture* gets when mixed with notions of purity and body shaming and really bad science, but this was very much also a case of all that stuff mixed in likely serious eating disorders and becoming a community

Orthorexia is the obsession with eating ‘clean’, and it’s every bit as dangerous as anorexia and bulimia. 

Orthorexia is how, last semester, I ended up nearly failing half of my classes.

See, I actually know QUITE a bit about nutrition, nutrient chemistry, medicine, etc. So I thought, “Hey, Nutrition + Drugs” class? EASY A!” 

Yeahhhh… I did not know that there were THREE SEPARATE MANDATORY PROJECTS that required me to count calories + various nutrients, which included not being ‘allowed’ to go over certain ones EASILY done over (like sugar and salt, which is in EVERYTHING), etc. etc. 

My calorie count on a very active lifestyle went from around 2500-2000 to….. 600. 500. Lower and lower.

Here’s the thing: I was eating. All. Day. I was eating ALL THE FUCKING TIME. I thought I was doing so good! I was able to do this stupid project and not stop eating! ……. why am I so disoriented? distracted? can’t seem to stay awake or turn anything in? 

………… until I counted the calories, which I’d saved until only the end. 

oh fuck. 

I WAS eating! …. mostly vegetables and vegetable-and-fruit based dressings. I was eating TONNES. I was so, so stuffed on high-fibre stuff like nutmeg + cinnamon honey yams, mixed greens salad with cucumbers and bell peppers with this delicious dressing my former boss at a chinese restaurant made me from orange juice and ginger and veggies. 

600 calories worth. Because those vegetables have almost no calories in them.

Basal metabolic rate, what I need to just sit down and breathe and exist, is 1400 calories daily. 1400 needed to live, 2200 needed for daily activities minimum, v 600 actual intake calories a day.

You can see the problem here, right?
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2D5a6YC:

youregonnarememberme:

smol-anxiety-bean:

marthastarr:

otto-rocket:

otto-rocket:

otto-rocket:

First day of life up until 6th grade Jumped all the way to Freshman year of High School

Then I cut my hair Junior year, why did I do thatSlowly it started growing back and then….I finally felt comfortable to express myself (the picture on the left was my debut)

At this point in my transition I am 6 months into HRT

A year on HRT

Over a year and a half on hormones. My transition hasn’t been the clearest path but I am so happy that I am on it.

Update:

2 years since my coming out 

2 years on hrt

2.3 years on hrt

2 and a half years on hormones 

Its been a while since I’ve done an update so here it goes

At this point I am 3 years into my Hormone Replacement Therapy. I’m thriving. 

These pictures were taken days apart and I am 3 and a half years into my medical transition (The picture on the right was also posted by Instagram on all their major social media handles attached with an interview I did with them for International Women’s Month)

During this time I was 4 years into HRT. Clearly living for it.

I am currently 4 and a half years into HRT, 5 years into socially transitioning, 6 years into when i first came out to my community around me and I’m loving life more than I ever thought I would. 

I need to save that post to remind myself that “Heaven needs time to render”.SUCH AN INSPIRATION!!!

Oh my god she is so pretty

Holy shit dream girl 😍
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2Dz5BH3:

lulanight:

Literally please please don’t interrupt people who have speech impediments to correct or rush them.

That includes not interrupting:

• Stuttering

• Really slow speech / lots of pauses or ums

• People who have difficulty being concise because thats really common for autism/adhd/other nd brains

• People with lisps/slurred speech due to a natural impediment

• People who repeat themselves without meaning to (another nd brain thing)

We KNOW that our speech isn’t typical, and a lot of us (though not speaking (yes that was a pun) for all of us) are pretty sensitive about it.

By interrupting you disrupt our train of thought, and in some cases we will literally forget everything about what we were going to say.

Also noah fence but if you interrupt to mock, laugh at, or get angry at us for our speech I hope you have a bad day and step on a lego.
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2DwwN9p:

onewildassnigga:

lynnwho:

lovealwaysgretchen:

blueklectic:

lilwhitbit:

oddity-ofeven:

onlyblackgirl:

tae-kun:

you know you’re a real friend when you’re willing to risk getting kicked in the head, just to make someone else look good

Sis who did two at once fucked me up.

The hug 💕

I’m loving the energy coming from this video

I adopted all of these kids

@lynnwho lemme try this on you tomorrow

Lol, only if I can go next. I can’t wait!

i love hwoarang and friendship
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2Dyr5nh:

baelor:

ok with everything going on i have to know. how do you pronounce pokemon?

po-kay-mon (kay rhymes with slay, day, etc)

po-kuh-mon (kuh rhymes with duh, uh, etc)

po-key-mon (key rhymes with see, tree, etc)

reblog with the way you say it in the tags!!
(Your picture was not posted)

Photo

Jan. 15th, 2018 07:33 am
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2DAPybT:
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2r3KzOg:

anythang4selenas:

To the men that love thick thighs, asses, & breasts but criticize big nipples, panzas, & back rolls…who feel that they deserve a prize for fucking fat women…who purposefully hide the fat girl they’re having sex with from their friends…who make sure to turn off the lights before stripping the layers of toxic masculinity they carry..who, with trembling hands, explore the hills and valleys of my body they swore to never trespass..who feel insignificantly small as they lay naked next to my big, soft cuerpo: yes I am too much for you, I always will be.
✨🌹
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2EIyYWy:

feedyourdeadnametothevoidfish:

cipheramnesia:

etrianodysseyobsession:

rhelmot:

halerogers:

(x)

Trans culture is also laughing at ads like this

She’s so happy

My local area mass transit system is abbreviated HRT. I see HRT buses everywhere.

enter the trans cube
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2DeC6NR:

Le Pianoquarium

Rage

FiddleBack

Swamp of Soap

Voice of Crystal

Everlasting Blues

nauticalfoxlight:

zedrin-stormshock:

nunsnroses:

nijuukoo:

Art by Cyril Rolando

I feel like this really expresses each instrument.

Hey no joke

this guy has some of the best tutorials on various aspects of art (including color!)

Check him out, seriously.

Omg I love this
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2FFyXnK:

zintersoldier:

anyone else have a heart thats too soft….. a marshmallow heart…… tempur-pedic mattress heart…. a cotton candy heart…..
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2D4gyiB:

xiubilationlee:

curdledgirdle:

curdledgirdle:

Fun D&D challenge:

All characters must be based on Whose Line party quirks prompts

I’ve got dibs on
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2r8OER9:

istudypirates:

malkiewicz:

Synonyms are weird because if you invite someone to your cottage in the forest that just sounds nice and cozy, but if I invite you to my cabin in the woods you’re going to die.

My favourite is explaining the difference between a butt dial and a booty call
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2ELjvoR:

bransonreese:

the-legit-alois:

slangwang:

bransonreese:

crystallotusfr:

bransonreese:

serpentking456:

notcaycepollard:

the twitter thread the artist created after this was one of the best situations i have ever seen in my whole life:

Somebody give this ignoramus a piece of actual shark skin and tell him to rub his face with it, let him find out just how “smooth” sharks really are.

Somebody did. I use it as a pillowcase because it’s so smooth.

But buddy.

Shark skin feels exactly like sandpaper. It is made up of tiny teeth-like structures called placoid scales, also known as dermal denticles. These scales point towards the tail and help to reduce friction from surrounding water when the shark swims. … In the opposite direction, it feels very rough like sandpaper.

((Here m8 http://ift.tt/2qHQtmo ))

Buddy. It’s smooth. The link you sent me led to a website that described how smooth they are. I dunno, maybe you don’t know how to read?

this post is transcendent

lets take this guy to Sea World and throw him in the shark tank. “HOW SMOOTH ARE THEY NOW MOTHER FUCKER!!??!!?”

I’d just be like “they’re very smooth” and I’d swim out and citizens arrest you for attempted murder.
(Your picture was not posted)

Photo

Jan. 15th, 2018 10:02 pm
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2DfFTdN:
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2rcfSX4:

eunnri:

Is it true love?

yes

yes it is
(Your picture was not posted)

Profile

gravityeyelids: (Default)
Rachel

April 2019

S M T W T F S
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930    

Most Popular Tags

Page Summary

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 29th, 2026 03:37 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios