Apr. 5th, 2018

gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2EiiqEo

roguereyes:

t'challa, texting shuri: answer your phone

shuri, texting back: gimme a minute, i can’t find my phone

t'challa: ok

t'challa, five minutes later: you’re a terrible child. You know you’re killing me. You’re killing your brother.
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2JiQEeI

feuilletoniste:

fartgallery:

starbucks barista: ive got a caffe mocha for… “russian spy”?

everybody: [remains seated and eyes each other suspiciously]

barista [throwing his CIA badge at the floor in defeat]: dammit i thought for sure that would work

#pretty sure america tried this during the Cold War
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2q6JfWR

formaldehyde–face:

perkachow:

foxymaple:

videohall:

For some reason a bird speaking Japanese is mildly off putting.

> Literal translation

Bird:“ ‘Uhm Hello, this is the Ono family.”

Bird: “What’s wrong?”

Owner: “Abe-chan, you’re a little too early. Once the phone’s picked up, then properly say hello.”

Bird: “Okay, understood.”

Owner: “Do you really understand? I’m counting on you. Hello, this is the Ono family residence in Gifu.”]

Bird: “Okay, I understand!”

Owner: “Got it.”

> That’s clearly some sort of Pokemon.

> Off-putting? It’s like birds were meant to speak Japanese!

> For some reason it’s never occurred to me that birds can mimic languages other than English. It’s so cool, though!

quoth the raven; “moshi moshi”

Mildly annoyed voice: Hai, WAKARIMASHITAAAAAA!

How the fuck is this real?!
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2Gywrnx

interstellarvagabond:

jomjjeoro:

hey guys. this is my invention. check it out

listen no matter how depressed I am whenever this post shows up on my dash I fucking lose it I just laugh so hard, it’s such a good post. The way it’s presented? Soap on a sink nozzle, okay clearly this is some sort of handwashing appliance. Then there’s just water going everywhere no further explanation it’s so good I’m so happy
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2Eij052

queen-of-the-cemetery:

haiku-robot:

wonderfulworldofmichaelford:

curiooftheheart:

wonderfulworldofmichaelford:

curiooftheheart:

wonderfulworldofmichaelford:

curiooftheheart:

matt-the-blind-cinnamon-roll:

slapandticklelol:

“This poem doesn’t rhyme.”

Dude about to make haikus:

“Oh you haven’t heard?”

fuck you

The first line is six syllables.

THIS

POEM

DOES-N’T

RHYME

That’s 5 syllables

Poem is two syllables. Po-em.

Poem is ONE syllable, who the fuck uses two syllables to say poem?

What the fuck are you on about? Literally just say it out loud. Po-em. One syllable would be like Pome.

“Pome” IS how you say it you neanderthal. Who the fuck says PO-EM?

“pome” is how you
say it you neanderthal who
the fuck says po-em

^Haiku^bot^9. I detect haikus with 5-7-5 format. Sometimes I make mistakes.

Disappointing each other includes you. | PayPal | Patreon

The circle of life
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2JfRLMd

emphasisonthehomo:

voxiferous:

memecucker:

ace-and-ranty:

memecucker:

what if i told you that a lot of “Americanized” versions of foods were actually the product of immigrant experiences and are not “bastardized versions”

That’s actually fascinating, does anyone have any examples?

Chinese-American food is a really good example of this and this article provides a good intro to the history http://firstwefeast.com/eat/2015/03/illustrated-history-of-americanized-chinese-food

I took an entire class about Italian American immigrant cuisine and how it’s a product of their unique immigrant experience. The TL;DR is that many Italian immigrants came from the south (the poor) part of Italy, and were used to a mostly vegetable-based diet. However, when they came to the US they found foods that rich northern Italians were depicted as eating, such as sugar, coffee, wine, and meat, available for prices they could afford for the very first time. This is why Italian Americans were the first to combine meatballs with pasta, and why a lot of Italian American food is sugary and/or fattening. Italian American cuisine is a celebration of Italian immigrants’ newfound access to foods they hadn’t been able to access back home.

(Source: Cinotto, Simone. The Italian American Table: Food, Family, and Community in New York City. Chicago: U of Illinois, 2013. Print.)

Stuff you Missed in History Class has a really good podcast overview of “Foreign Food” in the US.
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2H8yZFL

blackladyjeanvaljean:

idelity:

Hedy Epstein, a 90-year-old Holocaust survivor, has been taken into custody by police in Ferguson over her protesting and blocking an entrance to the Nixon building. 

a Holocaust survivor spent more time in jail than Darren Wilson

think about that
(Your picture was not posted)

Photo

Apr. 5th, 2018 12:22 am
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2uUybSH
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2HaRFEP

wombatking:

that-kawaii-chic:

valkyrielesbian:

Ok seriously we’re not appreciating M'Baku enough?? Boy challenged T'challa, lost, accepted it and left. Then like 3 days later the king washed up on his shore and he’s like “aye I could use this to become king but nah let’s save the guy until he gets better” so now he has an unconscious, barely-clinging-to-life king in his living room, but he does everything to save him. Then the servants of that king show up, offer him the throne and the Black Panther serum which would pretty much make him invincible, and what does he do? Does he go “Mhm ok niiice” and accept it, thus becoming rightful king? Nope! He shows them the dying T'challa, who they bring back to life with the serum and leave. They ask for his army, but he doesn’t want to risk his people, but in the end realises they should stick together so he barges into the battle like the fucking Icon™ he is ok I just love M'Baku let’s give him the appreciation he deserves

M'baku is the personification of honour imo. You won’t find a defeated warrior with pride and honour like his that easy. Respecting his rival, the needs of his people and Wakanda itself??? Putting all that over his ego???? Someone raised that man right yo.

At the same time, we can’t forget T’Challa’s role in all this. He had M’Baku at his mercy, and could have easily killed him or gone out of his way to humiliate him. Instead he treated him as a fellow warrior with honor, and assured him that he respected his leadership of his tribe. That very much planted the seeds of M’Baku’s respect for him, and wound up serving as his own salvation.

It’s the rarest of unicorns - two competing alpha males whose masculinity isn’t toxic.
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2Iw6129

iwilleatyourenglish:

thehighpriestofreverseracism:

okayysophia:

gaygerian:

traumavomit:

not to be controversial but the reason they wont pass a law saying that people with a history of domestic violence arent legally allowed to purchase a gun is bc half of the police force would no longer be legally allowed to hold their jobs. 

this ain’t tea this is hennessy

based on reporting, 10% of families in the general population endure domestic violence.

in contrast, 40% of police officer families endure domestic violence. again, this is based on reporting, so the number is likely HIGHER.

escaping abusive partners in law enforcement is made particularly difficult for these victims, because police officers

are armed

know the otherwise confidential locations of domestic abuse shelters

are able to game the system in order to avoid punishment

are often friends with the very officers who would be called to assist in a domestic situation

and can sometimes redirect blame onto the victims—one of my coworkers knows someone whose spouse was a cop who got her arrested for kidnapping when she fled with her children.
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2IrsNIA

mewtripled:

✨🐶🌿✨
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2Ha3bQQ

herm0d:

hiemalaurore:

herm0d:

my gender is bees. thats it. just bees thats all there is to it

whats in your pants then

i want you to look me in the eyes and take a wild fucking guess
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2GzcEEt

constant-vellichor:

I just scrolled through the ace discourse tag for thirty minutes and I’m so tired. Just… just let me spell it out here.

If you are attracted sexually and romantically only to women if you are a man, and only to men if you are a woman, you are straight. If you identify solely with the gender you were assigned at birth, you are cis. 

If any of these things don’t apply to you, you are LGBTQ+. Period.

Asexual people are not sexually attracted to anyone. Aromantic people are not romantically attracted to anyone. Therefore, even if an aromantic person identifies as heterosexual and an asexual person identifies as heteroromantic, they are still not straight and are part of the community. End of story. 

And it’s not some pissing contest about who is more oppressed. Different parts of the community face different types of discrimination and oppression. LGBTQ+ people band together because we are different from society’s norm. Why the fuck are we squabbling among ourselves about who’s different now?

If you are a Self-Confessed Tumblr Aphobe: Congratulations! You’ve succeeded in being a dick over the internet to somebody about their sexuality/romantic orientation! Are you proud? Do you feel good inside? Have you validated yourself via shitting on other people? 

Well, in the real world and in IRL LGBTQ+ spaces, your opinions are just as stupid, wrong and unnecessary as they are online, only you don’t have a computer to hide behind and can tell aro and ace people just how much you hate them to their faces and see where it gets you!

tl;dr, aro and ace people are LGBTQ+, the entire ‘ace discourse’ is fucking idiotic, and if you are an aphobe you need to fucking stop. This community is a place where any LGBTQ+ people can be supported and validated, and if that doesn’t appeal to you, you can go make your own much smaller, shittier community full of assholes and gatekeepers.

Reblog to piss off an aphobe and make an ace person feel valid and safe in their own community.
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2EiE9vW

theultravioletcatastrophe:

Hot new crossover psychological horror dating sim

Dream Daddy Literature Club
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2GzsOxk

sabotender-bailarina:

sabotender-bailarina:

sapphiccygnet:

warmsleepy:

moranion:

warmsleepy:

Bring back the phase of society where having your tiddies all the way out was fine but showing ankle flesh was scandalous

i know this is aiming at 17. and 18. and 19. century fashion, but i really wanna bring back those dresses that only basically start under the boobs, like that little number Minoan snake goddess figurine is wearing

that was actually what i was thinking of! ive been obsessed with that figure since i was her in a history book as a kid lmao 

 the ultimate look!!! 2 titties out 2 snakes in hand 

titties out, snakes up, she’s ready 2 go

ankles: covered

snakes: up

titties: out

I am forcibly removed from the historical narrative
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2GZaoFI

exeggcute:

this is mean and terrible but it exhausts me to be around people who haven’t finished going through their pretentious asshole phase like okay holden caulfield I know we’re all helplessly suckling at the teat of modern media but can you shut up and play some goddamn mario kart for like five minutes
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2uQD5Qk

I mean, I’m bi so
(Your picture was not posted)

Photo

Apr. 5th, 2018 11:47 am
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2q7IfSq
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2HgdvqN

talesfromweirdland:

Some sample pages from Andrew Loomis’s series on how to draw comics, 1939-1961, concerning perspective and composition. (The changes in font and layout stem from the fact the pages come from different prints.)

I tried to collect the most useful pages, but of course I’m limited to only 10 images per post.

This is a follow-up of sorts of the Disney “how to draw comics” handouts I posted earlier, and which can be found HERE.
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2JmiHtQ

rocksfalleveryonedies:

claydols:

uranus sounds like “your anus”. haha sorry guys, pretty extreme science jokes for you all, you might not get it if you dont study astrophysics

#a summary of the big bang theory
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2GAyo2D

zoochan:

Rebel & Revenge
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2ElOVSa

pervocracy:

I’m starting to appreciate more just how scary it is to be a doctor.

You have a patient come in with a stomach ache, nausea, feels tired and sort of generally miserable, no other obvious characteristic symptoms.

Out of 100 patients like this, 90* will be a minor gastroenteritis or whatever, maybe you ate something bad, here’s some nausea medication, go home and eat bland foods and get enough fluid and sleep it off.

And 7 will be appendicitis or gallstones or pancreatitis and need to be admitted to the hospital, 1 will be a heart attack with atypical symptoms, 1 will be the first sign of cancer, and 1 will be some weirdo disorder with a name like “Coleman’s 4268py deletion snydrome, Type II”** that you never heard of.

If I were a doctor, this would make me terrified to ever tell a patient “maybe you ate something bad, go home and sleep it off.”  Even though that’s usually the right answer, and even though it’s a waste of time and money to do an EKG and CT and 4268py test on everyone with a tummy ache–it’s got to be anxiety-provoking to not be certain that you aren’t missing something.  And at some point you will send someone home only to get a call the next day that they collapsed and now they’re in the ICU (or the morgue).  And it’s got to be really hard to go back to work after that and say “go home and sleep it off” to your next patient, even though that’s still usually the right answer.

I’m understanding more these days how tough it is to live with that kind of risk and responsibility.

*not actual statistics

**not an actual thing
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2HcOqg2

thepunisher:

wait, what?? you can dislike a character without harassing the people who actually love that character???? what??
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2GS0VAf

prokopetz:

euo:

I hate the “I didn’t disclose all my trauma immediately so it’s not real” attitude on tumblr y'all have no respect for trauma victims and their processing and I wish somebody would staple your lips together shut the fuck up

Bonus points if it then segues into “also, you’re not allowed to have an opinion on [topic X] unless you’ve personally experienced [trauma Y], and are able to satisfy some arbitrary standard of proof to substantiate it”, thereby perversely shutting those who have, in fact, personally experienced [trauma Y] out of the discussion unless they’re willing to publicly and repeatedly rehash what may well be the literal worst experience of their lives.
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2En6IZ1

chuuni:

I see you through the water

Drawn on stream. Parody of the aquarium scene in Romeo+Juliet (the version with Leo in it)

Suppose Joker never met Akechi before arriving eventually at the cruise ship palace. He wanders off alone from the masked party and comes to an aquarium. Taking off his mask to inspect closely, Joker notices another person on the other side staring intently back at him…
(Your picture was not posted)

Photo

Apr. 5th, 2018 06:07 pm
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2GAjHbP
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2Em2FfJ

thefingerfuckingfemalefury:

gothiccharmschool:

ten-and-donna:

stultae:

“no one likes to be around an eeyore”

excuse me eeyore had TONS OF FRIENDS, your statement is patently untrue according to WINNIE THE POOH CANON

The whole point of Eeyore’s character was that despite his depression, he had tons of friends and was always included in their lives.

THIS IS VERY IMPORTANT.

<3 All the animals of 100 Acre Wood love and cherish Eeyore and they never let the fact that he is depressed stop them from loving him and wanting him in their lives <3
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2Hcag3t

shakeitha:

what I actually mean when I send the kissy face emoji
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2q8PScl

knightjeran:

bisexualcharacteroftheday:

Today’s Bisexual Character of the Day is: you
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2GH0ULO

rileyjaydennis:

millennial-review:

Merriam-Webster’s social media is the only thing giving me hope in these dark times
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2q8aUHR

death-by-lulz:

In the goat’s mind: ”hello furry sausages let’s be friends okay”

In the puppies’ minds: “jeSUS CHRIST WHAT THE HELL”
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2qcwolY

andhumanslovedstories:

champagnemoon:

why everybody be tryna act like they didn’t have a twilight phase

You either had a twilight phase or you had an anti-twilight phase and in either case you invested emotion in twilight, your twilight phase
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2GBIcJT

ororosmunroe:

marsincharge:

rageclit:

pizzaback:

I hate how the stereotype is that dolphins are good and sharks are evil, when dolphins are so smart that they have the capacity for evil but sharks are simple fish who can only be true neutral, so even if a minority of dolphins are evil there are still more evil dolphins than sharks

quality marine philosophy discourse

I say this to every person who will listen

The reason why people love dolphins so much is because they have a better pr team while sharks have faced countless character assassinations over the years in the media. In this essay I will argue
(Your picture was not posted)

Photo

Apr. 5th, 2018 10:17 pm
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2uKVxK4
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2HdTzEQ

marlenholmes88:

I’d just like to take a moment and appreciate all that Griffin McElroy has done for meme
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2EnbmGG

mistresstrevelyan:

peebsayle:

alienshepard:

trained video game designers who get paid thousands of dollars for making video game: some things are way too difficult to create with this engine, you have to understand that we are very limited in our possibilities for this game

modders with a pirated version of photoshop who work full jobs outside the video game industry: hey guys I made 100 hairstyles and re-textures of 750 outfits during my lunch time. Also this female character now has proper armor and can be romanced by a female protag. I was kinda busy last night but here are 20 new complexions you can download for free

hi, resident games art student here! i am. bad at articulating stuff but let me explain why there aren’t 100 hairstyles and 750 re-textures made by game devs! there are a LOT of misconception about the game industry, most prominently maybe that there is this Huge Capitalist Entity™ behind them when in fact there is a team of hardworking devs. These people spend SO much time and work on these games, they’re the last ones who want to release a shitty product. I’m sure that at this point everybody has heard about how stressful making games is but let me tell you exactly HOW bad it is. Because this industry truly treats their people like crap. Like they literally made up a new term for overtime, “crunch”, so they wouldn’t need to pay people extra. Let me add a quote from Blood, Sweat and Pixels, a book that follows the development stories of popular games such as Diablo 3, Dragon Age Inquisition, Stardew Valley, etc.

“The developer’s team had to spend the next few months “crunching”, working eighty- to one-hundred hour weeks (…) Some of them slept in the office so they wouldn’t have to waste time commuting”

So yeah.
It’s not really an issue of “do we have the skill?” but more “do we add another hairstyle or do we fix these game breaking bugs?”. When you literally have to decide which bugs you have to fix in time and which ones you can’t there simply isn’t enough time for adding more cosmetics. All games are released unfinished because it is simply not feasible to fix everything. Game development is brutal. Our lecturer told us that people in the industry usually work there for no longer than 8 years simply because it is so demanding and soul sucking. So why is crunch a thing, you may ask.

“I think it remains to be seen whether crunching actually works. Obviously a lot of literature says it doesn’t. (But) I think everybody finds a time in their development careers where you’re going ‘I don’t see what other options we have’” (Aaryn Flynn)

One huge part of that is because the games industry doesn’t have something which almost every other industry has: unions.
This has recently gotten more attention with the whole voice actor thing, but the simple fact is that as of now there are no unions for people working on games, something big publishers want to keep that way. Working in games still has kind of a “rockstar” image, it’s a small industry and there are thousands of eager people who would take any kind of job. As a result there are no real actions that get taken against overworking as everyone is ultimately seen as replaceable.
Not only that but individual studios are largely at the mercy of their publishers. Let’s look at Ensamble as an example. Instead of making the original IP the studio wanted to create they were told by Microsoft to make a game within the Halo franchise. Only to be told that after the release of what was now “Halo Wars” the studio would be shut down.

So while they might not add tons of additional content in form of cosmetics a TON of the work goes into the less glamorous systems like inventory, pathfinding or 3D modelling hundreds of assets only 10% of players are going to look at in detail. And don’t make me go into the topic of 3D modelling because THAT is a whole other rant bc it is difficult AS FUCK and incredibly underappreciated.

And lastly, it is a job. a not very well paid one so you can shove that “thousand of dollars” up your ass.

Last time reblog. Because THE COMMENTARY is important.

I legit love discussing games on here but seeing posts like this getting THOUSANDS OF NOTES despite its fallacies, misconceptions and outright ignorance of how our industry works is beyond frustrating.
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2q9qRwJ

eclipsebykimlipmp3:

soyeahso:

I’ve had a couple of people ask me how to track anons, as far as figuring out if it’s the same anon sending you multiple messages, or someone returning. Sometimes it’s easy because of writing style, but a lot of the time it all sounds the same, and it’s good to have some kind of confirmation. 

The first thing you’ll need to do is install Statcounter on your blog. Their instructions are pretty clear and they walk you through it so much better than I ever could, so start there. 

You’ll also need new x-kit, with the timestamps extension installed. 

So you have an anon that was sent at 8:32 am. Go to Statcounter and click on Visitor Paths in the side bar. This displays information for individuals who visited your blog, and what pages they went to, including the time of their visit, location, and IP.  

Notice how this very enthusiastic Ben Solo fan visited my /ask at 8:31 am.  If there are no other visits to that page at that time, it’s pretty clear this is your culprit. 

What I usually do, with hateful anons, is give them a tag, which you can do by clicking on the tag icon next to their IP address. Then it’s clear when they’ve returned or when they’re lurking.

It’s still very limited, because a person may be sending anons from multiple places with different IP addresses, but I’ve been able to identify that most of the regular hate I’ve gotten has come from a relatively small number of people. 

One caveat about Statcounter is that it can make you kind of paranoid for a minute when you first get it. It can feel weird when you see someone like, looking through 10 pages of one of your thirst tags. But for the most part, I just try to remind myself that they’re more likely to be interested in my content than they are trying to dig up dirt. 

Hopefully this was clear. Let me know if you have any questions or suggestions. 

this is really useful and i used this a lot a while back when i was getting wayy more hate. if you’re worried about an abuser or family member checking your blog this is realllllllllly good
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2GA4qf2

tredlocity:

tredlocity:

tredlocity:

GOD, netflix is savage lmao.

Wait, shit, this is real. It’s not an april fools gag making fun of brickleberry.

Fuck.
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2qaJ25Z

soyeahso:

studyelement:

just start. do a single math problem out of the 20 you have. one page of reading and youre done. try to just place one item where it belongs. research that one thing you need for your paper. go over a powerpoint slide for that lecture youre confused in.

i promise you doing one single action feels better than doing nothing at all. take 5 minutes to do just one small task thats been staying in the back of your head.

And yes this is actually a decent bit of advice for some people with executive dysfunction. I used to get so overwhelmed working retail when there would be like, an entire table of shirts that were unfolded, just piled up like laundry.
But then one day I decided I would focus on one shelf, or one stack, or one shirt at a time. And sometimes it still felt overwhelming as fuck but I felt like crying way less often.
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2IvSlE9

jedihighcouncil:

Straight men who always joke about hating their girlfriend are so fucking weird like imagine having a girlfriend and not treasuring and loving her every day smh grow up
(Your picture was not posted)

Profile

gravityeyelids: (Default)
Rachel

April 2019

S M T W T F S
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930    

Most Popular Tags

Page Summary

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 06:28 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios