Mar. 26th, 2018

gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2I3L4v6

kenkus-delivery-service:

Russian psyop agent: -sits on secluded park bench-

Handler: -sits down, not making eye contact- I like your shoelaces.

Russian psyop agent: -staring straight ahead- Thanks, I stole them from the president.

Handler: -nods once, slides over manila envelope labeled “dank socialist memes-
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2G6QF7k

justsomeantifas:

lord-kitschener:

Do you think the Russian agents were briefed beforehand on what a shithole this website is, or did some poor bastard in Krasnoyarsk get blindsided by their first random anon demanding their opinion on whether or not sexbot yiffing is problematic or empowering

Some sad sack from a troll farm in Smolensk: All right listen up gang. Who can tell me what this means?

*points to a white board with the words ‘big yeet’ written on it, underlined and circled*
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2pErsHn

catesly:

12drakon:

decepticonsensual:

So, I did it - went through and searched my blog for the posts I’d unknowingly reblogged from any of the Russian troll accounts on the list Tumbler’s sending round.  I think the results are interesting for anyone else who’s gotten the same email and may be wondering:

I came up with around 15 reblogs in total.  Most of them fell broadly under the umbrella of “legit things posted to build the account’s credibility”:  actual news stories with credible sources, or screenshots of twitter conversations (which might be either discussing facts or opinions) or of TV shows.  Most actually had a positive tone (probably because of the correct assumption that people are less likely to fact-check “awesome historical figure of colour!”-type posts than “awful thing happened yesterday here!” posts), and covered topics like Black history, modern Black leaders, Muslim positivity, and body positivity.  One was a post explaining the procedure for writing in Bernie Sanders in the 2016 election, which I and most of the other people in the chain reblogged expressly to explain what a bad idea it was.

Even some of the positive posts, though, take on a bit of a sinister edge when you know where they’re coming from.  “Neglected historical figures” posts, like any “why is no one talking about X” posts, can bolster the sense that news sources outside your online bubble are ignoring or obscuring the truth about the world.  A gifset (like one I reblogged) of Jon Stewart giving a blistering takedown on The Late Show, with a caption about how much the poster misses Stewart and how much we need someone like him, but there’s no one on The Daily Show now who’s his equal, uses a genuinely great moment of political satire to denigrate the amazing work currently being done in satire, and chip away at the credibility of voices like Trevor Noah’s and all the other comedians and commentators who are calling politicians to account now.

I want to talk about this post in particular, because I think it’s really telling.  It shows just how insidious propaganda can be:

The Fact Check:  Like many others, the post presents facts that are broadly correct - India TV and several other sources did say that Tom Holland “wants to play an Indian Spiderman”.  However, if you read the coverage, the same articles also quote Holland saying that an Indian actor should take the role of Spiderman if an Indian version of the film is made.  It seems more likely that it was a language issue or other mistake than a deliberate attempt to misrepresent the actor.

The Hook:  The post creates a sense of urgency by suggesting that misinformation is already being circulated, and that this misinformation is hurting innocent people.  I certainly hit reblog because I didn’t want a misleading story to make people think badly of Tom Holland.  If you buy that the lie is already out there, then, given how fast information circulates, there’s a sense of time pressure around sharing the “truth” that (ironically) helps real misinformation spread.

The Framing:  The whole post is (again, kind of ironically) framed as a fact check, contrasting the headline with dialogue from the actual interview.  But the fact check is deliberately incomplete.  It demonstrates that what Holland said was different from the headline, but skirts the question of what the original article really claimed he said.

The Spin:  And this is the really insidious bit.  Why bother painting an Indian news outlet like it’s trying to smear a random actor when it’s not?  Look at the caption:

I am fed up with the media nowadays
That’s the point - that seed of doubt about the media.  Not entertainment media, all media. Don’t trust mainstream journalism.  Don’t trust the sources of information that have access, resources, and influence.

Sound familiar?  The lying mainstream media?  Fake news?

So if you’re wondering how infiltration works and what it tries to accomplish - well, here you go.

^^^THAT

Learn to recognize the pattern. Inciting strife or outrage should be suspicious. Anything that is not constructive. “Fed up” - and then what?

Healthy movements want to BUILD: take care of people, comfort, feed, develop.

I’ve been trying to learn about that stuff, and then warn friends, for the last couple of years. The pattern has been very similar in 2013 and up with Russian meddling in Ukraine. Some of the same people are involved. I freaked out so much when I started to see that sick slag happening in the US. 

Currently, they are meddling in the gun issue to incite strife.

All of this. Kudos to DC for actually taking the time to do this. It shows how easy it is for any one of us to assist in spreading misinformation online.

(Also, an interesting little book published like almost 100 years ago that details how a lot of this bullshit works is Bernays’ Propaganda. I read it after the election and was surprised/unsurprised at how relevant it was today).
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2uiDomN

superlinguo:

In Canada, the Nunavut Official Languages Act came into force this month. This means the Inuit language will be given equal status to English and French, as official languages.

You can read more about this excellent recognition of Indigenous language here, at Language Magazine: 

“All three official languages will enjoy equality of status and equal rights and privileges as to their use in territorial institutions — namely in the Legislative Assembly, the courts, and the departments of the government of Nunavut — and public agencies.”

In the previous piece of relevant legislation (now superceded), the Inuit language was considered secondary (alongside six other Aboriginal languages) to French and English.

Down here in Australia, I think it would be fantastic to see us move towards recognition of Aboriginal languages. A few months ago our friends over at Crikey.com’s Fully(Sic) blog talked about the current political climate of constitutional recognition of Australia’s first peoples and their languages. It’s interesting to note their take on Aboriginal languages being considered official (or “national”) languages - blog post here.
(Your picture was not posted)

Photo

Mar. 26th, 2018 01:48 am
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2Gb3jhK
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2Gml7K3

deluxetrashqueen:

Someone: “I want a cat/rabbit/other animal that will be super openly affectionate, go for walks, play fetch, not mind being handled rough, never be shy, and also I don’t want it to claw me or the furniture(so I’ll probably get it declawed) and I don’t want to ever clean a litter box or cage.”

Me: “Hey there’s this great new type of animal you might be interested in:”

Someone: “I want a dog but I don’t ever want to take it for walks or exercise it very much or let it outside and I want it to be fine with being left alone for longer periods of time and also never bark.”

Me:

Someone: “I want a cat or dog but I want to only feed it a vegan diet.”

Me:

Someone: “I want to have a pet but I basically never want to interact with it.”

Me:

Someone: “I want to get my kid a cute pet for Easter/Christmas!”

Me:

Get a pet that fits your needs. Don’t get a pet then try to force it to fit your lifestyle. Just because you saw a person walking a rabbit once doesn’t mean you can expect a rabbit to just be a dog. Just get a dog!
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2G6o3LB

A post shared by Lunny (@lunumbra) on Feb 5, 2018 at 12:10pm PST

geodude:

stimybee:

from lunumbra on instagram!

Artists are so… Amazing
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2pE2Lty

luckycavy117:

mia-cooper:

storyadvocate:

ciarachimera:

Dads who refuse to do anything that is traditionally considered “feminine” with their daughters are lame dads. I’ve been in the store and overheard a dad tell his little girl who might have been 12 to go by herself to go get pads after she asked him to go with her. “Go get them yourself.” and he looked mortified she even asked him to go. Like dude she clearly looks like she needs help. Take her to the god damn tampon/pad section and help her and if you don’t know what she needs go ask some one in their pharmacy to point out a good choice for you. Tampons and pads are part of pharmacy so chances are they will be able to help. Fuck all that. Help your daughters! They ask you to paint their nails, do it. It might turn out messy but so what? They ask you to have a tea party, do it. Sure the tea might be imaginary or just water and served out of tiny pink cups but get over it.

This. Also, don’t be afraid to teach your daughters “manly” things. You’re building something and she asks what you’re doing? Tell her. Teach her how to use that drill and do it right. Going hunting and she wants to come? Bring her along. She likes auto shop? Take her out to the garage. Even if she doesn’t, teach her how to do a basic oil change, how to change a tire. Teach her how to do things for herself and that she is fully capable of doing it. Don’t divide your kids into gender roles, see them as people.

There’s nothing shameful about periods. They happen to every single uterus-owning person on this earth. If you, as a parent, act embarrassed about getting the necessary supplies, your child will grow up feeling ashamed of a natural biological process. It’s uncomfortable enough to deal with periods by themselves, nobody needs to be embarrassed about their bodies on top of that.
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2GrSkDU

theblackmanonthemoon:

your-fav-film-freak:

Yo.

Still one of the hardest bar I’ve ever heard
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2Gw4snk

death-deafying-stuntman:

Im having trouble explaining this to myself, the fuck?
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2IR0OmF

opossummypossum:

MOOOOOM
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2ukiCTR

lysistrescent:

noctumsolis:

not-so-terrible:

jupiterjames:

friendlytroll:

cat–77:

toloveviceforitself:

onewit-torulethem-all:

prokopetz:

toloveviceforitself:

prokopetz:

andersonsallpurpose:

prokopetz:

moonbelowsea:

prokopetz:

If you ever feel like you must be the most unobservant person in the world, remember: I once spent half a year failing to notice that my new favourite restaurant was a money-laundering front for the Ukrainian mafia.

(I didn’t think anything of it at the time, but in retrospect, the fact that it was always dead no matter the time of day - I think the busiest I ever saw it was five people, myself included - well, that should have been a tipoff. Also, the waitstaff kept calling me “Mr. Prokopetz”, which I had assumed was just part of the restaurant’s gimmick, but given that “Prokopetz” is a Ukrainian surname, I’m now force to wonder whether they’d thought I was, you know, in the business. I just liked the pierogi!)

What I need to know is how on earth did OP finally realize his favorite restaurant was a money-laundering front for the mafia.

I’d like to say I put together the clues, but in reality, I just showed up one day to find that the place had been indefinitely shut down, and later learned it was because the managers had all been arrested.

What I really want to know is how good the food was?

Excellent, if your tastes run to the “heavy cream and too much garlic” end of the spectrum.

Every crime front I’ve ever eaten at has had completely amazing food, honestly. I am pretty convinced that if you want to open a front, you don’t choose “restaurant” as your front-business unless you have a relative who loves to cook.

It tickles me that this is evidently a sufficiently common experience that people find it relatable. (Seriously, check the notes!) We should write reviews or something.

did I just read the line “every crime front I’ve ever eaten at” with my own two eyes

Look, I went to college and lived my early adulthood in a town whose entire thing was import/export, and we had a lot of restaurants that were suspiciously empty except when they were closed and filled with very serious men in nice clothes.

They were usually run by someone who was about the right age to be some adult’s parents or grandparents, and in the case of the two Korean restaurants matching this description, they didn’t speak English. Universally though, they were very pleased to see customers, very proud of their cooking, and very very interested in keeping us far away from the aforementioned serious men in nice clothes. And despite having huge dining rooms and never having more than a couple customers, they never went out of business.

Also, because I am very, very stupid and sometimes don’t think before I talk, I once said loudly, over the phone, while sitting in one of these places, “Hey! Yeah if you want to meet us, we’re eating at [place]. You know…[place]? You totally know it. The Front, on Warwick st!”

The looks I got from every single employee were amazing and then I left.

We had a corner store/deli-place near our apartment in college. Everyone knew they were in on something and no one cared because they looked out for their customers and their neighborhood as a whole.

They started stocking my favorites because I mentioned them within hearing range once, would tell their “vendors” to move out of the way if we stopped in. I walked a different route home and got harassed one night and they asked after me. When they found out what happened, they declared “Consider it taken care of, you should never be afraid around here.” Never happened again.

Everyone needs their friendly neighborhood crime lord.

This is both my favorite and makes me fondly remember home. Less of the  eateries, more of the mysterious retail joints that never seem to close despite no one ever buying anything, though. Well. Aside from the juice bar. Didnt last, though. 

I found these places everywhere I lived. My favorite was an omurice place near my home in Japan, and a mother/son officially ran it. The food was incredible, and one night I was there and there was a boisterous crowd of BLATANTLY yakuza men eating and drinking. They started talking to me, and were super nice. Said they wanted to “practice their English,” and paid for my food and drinks and then said they wanted to take me to karaoke. That was a little alarming, but the mother/son, who seriously looked after me as the only foreigner in the area, said I should go, and the son came along. So we piled into a white landboat Cadillac and partied until dawn.

One of the older men at the party took me to my neighborhood and dropped me off out front (the car was literally too big to fit down the small neighborhood streets) and said that I had his blessing.

Which was confusing, but I was drunk, so whatever. Then I went back to the restaurant about a week later and the mother said, “the family approves of you. You may marry our son if you wish and be welcomed.”

I did not marry him, but wow. There were no hard feelings, either. They still helped out if I got harassed by the cops (which happened a lot in these smaller towns with no foreigners) or anything like that.

And to this day, no omurice has ever compared.

@temari-i-i

I’m kind of envious because the only (possible) front I ever spotted in my home town was a small shop with a smattering of sun faded, decades out of date, branded foodstuffs in the window that was never open.

A couple months back I was having drinks at my favourite front and the owner was sitting at the big table with a bunch of men I was pointedly ignoring– until they whipped out a violin and invited us to join them.
And that’s the story of how I got invited to a Kurdish gang’s valentine’s day party.
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2G6W3r3

buzzfeed:

19 Times Women Had The Perfect Response To People’s Bullshit
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2pFIRz9

wirehead-wannabe:

lily-peet:

You can tell a lot about a person based on the wear on their keyboard.

If the spacebar has a smooth circle in the center, they’re a writer.

If the WASD keys are worn out, they’re a PC gamer.

If the Z key has been burrowed through the keyboard to form a hole through the desk, they’re an artist.

If the keyboard is on the floor in a million tiny pieces, the user is a programmer
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2IS34Kp

otahkoapisiakii:

deadcatwithaflamethrower:

thebibliosphere:

thebibliosphere:

thebibliosphere:

It’s 7:50 in the morning and I just had to read the words “he climaxed like a hurricane, wet and wild” with my own two eyeballs, and now so do you. Happy Friday 😂

The thing is she knows, she knows her descriptions make me lose my shit laughing and she’s okay with this. She just asks me to help her fix it because she doesnt know how to get over the embrasssment of being vulgar. Which frankly, my time to shine lmao

“Sharron we’ve talked about this.”

“I know, I know, it just seems so crude.”

“…you can type the words “his proud manspire flowed freely like a Grecian fountain” but “cock” is beyond you?“

“You’re putting this on your blog, aren’t you?”

“Consider it recompense for making me read the word “manspire” without warning before 9am in the year of our Lord 2k18.“

MANSPIRE.

MAN. SPIRE.

THIS IS THE BESTEST TERRIBLE EUPHEMISM EVER.

@waveringbriar
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2I2gNg8

quackmom:

Making friends on tumblr is weird. It’s like “Hi, I don’t know where you’re from but I know your kinks and exactly how depressed you were last Tuesday.”
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2pGePLY

techtonicactivity:

olliesbian:

olliesbian:

PSA:

everyone, especially trans lesbians and gay trans men, should be sure to block & report a blog that’s shown up here recently called “youre-not-passing” which reblogs mostly trans lesbian and gay trans men’s selfies with nothing but insults and deliberate misgendering. quite a few members of our community have already been targeted by the terf running the blog, along with their followers. please be on the lookout and be safe. if enough people report them, hopefully their blog will be removed, but in the meantime i advise you all to block the blog so that you’re not targeted, i also encourage everyone to reach out to those who have been targeted and make sure they’re okay and give them some love and validation. be safe y'all

also PLEASE reblog this and share with other people so they’re aware !!!! i just wanna make sure everyone’s safe

Hey trans day of visibility is coming up soon (March 31st) and there’s going to be a lot of selfies posted so please signal boost this post
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2pIMJyL

theultravioletcatastrophe:

thebibliosphere:

I just saw a post go over my dash stating that fanfic writers should stop using the word “chuckle” cause “no one actually laughs like that”, and like children, please. Everyone chuckles, especially you. It’s that quiet little suppressed laugh you make when something is amusing but doesn’t warrant a louder sound than a quiet exhale. It’s the sound we all make when we type “LMAO” on this gods forsaken site cause we’re all sleep deprived and dead inside.

And like, guys, you’re doing the same thing high school teachers do when they say “said is dead”, and are contributing to why my poor authors send me emails crying at 3am cause they don’t know how to convey amusement in a simple utterance without having to resort to paragraphs of redundant descriptors, when what they are in fact describing, is the sound of a chuckle. 

Chuckle:

verb: to laugh quietly or inwardly

noun: a quiet or suppressed laugh

Of course it can be over used and written badly, but that’s true of any word in the hands of an unpracticed writer. It’s still a valid descriptor. Just let my authors live, they’re trying their hardest.

Overusing words: bad

Using words inappropriately: bad

Using words: good

Seriously, there’s no reason to limit what words you use when writing just because so-and-so told you that X word is TABOO and FORBIDDEN and SHOULD NEVER BE USED BECAUSE IT MAKES YOUR WRITING BAD. Don’t listen to those people.
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2pJ7jja

patricknageltittygirl:

while you were studying the blade I wasn’t studying the blade. I was reading the cliffnotes on blades. I’m barely scraping by in blade class
(Your picture was not posted)

Photo

Mar. 26th, 2018 07:38 pm
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2I7xNSl
(Your picture was not posted)

Photo

Mar. 26th, 2018 09:03 pm
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2pINacb
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2Gb0rFT

ironinkpen:

ironinkpen:

“that’s just the way the world works” it literally doesn’t have to be but okay

if anyone ever tells you “humans are just selfish / life is cruel / that’s just how the world is, get over it” be critical of them bc there’s a 75% chance they’re just using that as an excuse for their own shitty behavior so that they don’t have to put an effort into being better, kinder people
(Your picture was not posted)

Profile

gravityeyelids: (Default)
Rachel

April 2019

S M T W T F S
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 04:38 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios