gravityeyelids: (Default)
[personal profile] gravityeyelids
via https://ift.tt/2PHb4UK

biscuit-tornado:

6stronghands:

6stronghands:

Are you kidding me tumblr

Just saw a post where someone said it’s OK if you don’t vote!! One of those “if you can’t do it, it’s ok, you’re still valid” type posts. Which is great for so many things BUT NOT FOR VOTING.

CRYSTAL MASON IS IN PRISON RIGHT THIS MINUTE FOR VOTING AFTER SHE SERVED A PRISON SENTENCE. A white ex-felon did the same thing, and got a slap on the wrist. Crystal is black, and instead of her poll workers educating her about how she was still disenfranchised, they turned her in. The judge could have also educated her, but the motherfucker chose to lock her away.

If you’re not in prison? Voting isn’t too inconvenient.

Go vote as Crystal’s proxy, if you can’t bring yourself to do it on your own behalf. Jesusfuckingchrist, THIS is why tumblr has a bad reputation. You’re not ‘valid’ if you don’t vote, you’re enabling and excusing self pity. Vulnerable, disenfranchised people have been silenced, why aren’t you speaking for them?

I mean do you think canvassing and posting and calling and emailing is easy for me? You think I like any of this?? Like politics? Like this process? You think I’m not sick to freaking death of all of it, too??? You think I wouldn’t rather talk about Captain America or science or lipstick or anyfuckingthingelse?????

You think I don’t have anxiety and depression and pain and exhaustion and a complicated schedule??? I have fucking lupus, heart problems, thyroid problems and a bad back! I fell asleep in my car because I was so tired after canvassing the other night. I’m in pain 24/7! IT IS VERY HARD TO KNOCK ON STRANGE DOORS, I have to do breathing stuff before every single one!!!!

Grow the fuck up. Do the (not very) hard thing. It’s a fucking errand, not a triathlon, and if the line is too long you can order free pizza. My transgender child’s safety and rights are more important than your bullshit excuses. My 5 miles of preexisting medical conditions are more important. Gun laws, reproductive rights, wage rights, and FUCKING CHILD IMMIGRANTS IN CAGES are more important than your conflicted political feelings or anxiety.

Don’t you DARE spread any “non voters are valid” shit. Don’t you DARE comfort yourself in your inaction. If you think a simple errand is too hard, or abstaining from voting Dem is the high road because politicians aren’t as pure as you?? You’re a huge part of the problem.

Also keep in mind that the trollfarms are (still!) very active in social media, and anything using terms typically used by progressive folks on tumblr that hints that it’s okay not to vote… is likely coming straight from the shitbags that helped put us in this situation. It’s literally a passive form of voter suppression. Don’t be fooled.
(Your picture was not posted)

Profile

gravityeyelids: (Default)
Rachel

April 2019

S M T W T F S
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 07:08 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios