gravityeyelids: (Default)
[personal profile] gravityeyelids
via https://ift.tt/2q5iD9n

petermaximoff:

petermaximoff:

I get the concept of embracing ugliness but I think in practice it’s a terrible idea

like it doesn’t subvert the beauty standards that already tell you, you are. it still forces a label on you. you’re either pretty or you’re ugly. like I don’t wanna be either of those things. I just want to be allowed to exist.

and like telling 15 year olds to accept and embrace that theyre ugly instead of educating them that the reason they think that is not because they are, But because of the artificial standards created subliminally and explicitly by movies, makeup companies, and magazines

and especially for young woc, like so many young girls think they’re ugly because they don’t have pale skin, they’re not skinny, they have big brows, big noses, strong features, etc

To tell them “yeah you Are ugly, embrace that” is 😬 like instead of undermining those standards and just letting them Live without feeling like they need to change, it reinforces them
(Your picture was not posted)

Profile

gravityeyelids: (Default)
Rachel

April 2019

S M T W T F S
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 29th, 2026 02:20 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios