Mar. 7th, 2019

gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2IXlFZA

gorps:

bloodsorrel:

Are the “take 5 min showers to save the planet or else” people ok

No they’ve all been impaled by shower spikes
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2TxBUAx

ryuutchi:

apersnicketylemon:

cardentist:

afronerdism:

vivid-escapist:

thadeeliv:

starkillerrx:

armoredsoftie:

i love to headcanon steve as this aggressively progressive dude but like, he begged to be part of the us army,,,,,, we can’t just Forget That

He joined to literally fight Nazis the fuck you on about?

Minecraft lore is deeper than i remember

he was also like 20 and the Internet didn’t exist so besides the fact that fighting the Nazis was one of the few good things the military has ever done, just mayhaps Steve wasn’t fully briefed on the sins of US militarism and imperialism

I love that y’all think tha white people in the army in WWII joined to fight the evils of the Nazi party and not because of nationalism. The US sent minorities back to Germany to be gassed and only got involved after Germany threatened us.

captain america was created by joe simon and jack kirby, two jewish second generation immigrants. you can argue about what the character has come to represent culturally today but it’s absolutely insensitive to erase what the character was supposed to represent for the creators at the time.

hell this is the image on jack kirby’s wikipedia page next to the “entry into comics” section

it was absolutely a political statement, and one that positioned america against fascism, against antisemitism, which is more than we can say for some modern media or even the orange stain running our country

I would also like to add, he was introduced, like this, while the USA was not in the war, and was selling weapons to Germany -among other things. It was a very dangerous, very unpopular statement to make at the time. People love to do the ‘punch Hitler’ thing now, but when Captain America was first released with this cover, this was an extremely controversial statement. 

Captain America was created in direct response to how the USA was reacting to the war at the time as a direct call to action against injustice specifically. Created by two Jewish men who were very much affected by all of this. They specifically designed him to look like he did because that was the ““Aryan Ideal”“ as part of that statement. That is why they made him blond, blue-eyed, white, tall, and muscular. They also called him ‘Captain America’ to implicitly tie the United States to this statement. This was a metaphor of ‘The USA has to stop letting others be hurt, it’s time to step up and do something’.

It’s not only insensitive to erase that, it’s Antisemitic to call a Jewish-made character that was a political statement against antisemitism in the 1940′s by people who were fed up with watching their loved ones die while people said they ‘shouldn’t get involved’ in a massive, global genocide attempt a ‘symbol of military industrial complex imperialism and nationalism’ when he was made as a symbol of resistance and a call to fight fascism and antisemitism.

Has anyone mentioned yet that American fascists were so pissed about Captain America that some American Nazis showed up at the Marvel offices to “show what Real Americans would do to Captain America”. Jack Kirby literally rolled up his sleeves and would have beaten the shit out of them if they hadn’t run off by the time he got to the lobby.

Like, fuck you if you refuse to accept that JEWISH AMERICANS created a character that is intended to protect Jews and other marginalized groups.
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2UjziDs

cincosechzehn:

what if you had twins but it was right when daylight savings time ended so your first baby is born like, 1:58 AM, and then time passes and it’s 2 AM but DST is over so your second baby is born at 1:04 AM so in terms of birth order they’re second but in terms of time they’re technically the firstborn
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2C2u9bV

delilahbe:

fortidogi:

atomicwrongs:

atomicwrongs:

A room called ‘The Doll Room’ that’s full of dolls is… mundane.

But a room called ‘The Doll Room’ that only has one doll in it? That’s fresh

If a person shows you their Doll Room and it’s full of dolls, they probably just like dolls, y’know? It’s normal, it’s a hobby

But if they show you their Doll Room and it only has one doll… something’s going on with that one doll!

room called the doll room and theres a mirror and nothing else. the door closes

hey

what the fuck
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2TjCiU7

thestrippershateyou:

sydneybriarisalive:

deery:

weirddyke:

i don’t wanna reblog that gifset of kate winslet freezing her ass off in titanic but she actually got double pneumonia from filming those scenes without a wetsuit. and all bc james cameron wanted the fabric to be see through when wet. when’s the final straw when do we snap and kill every man

Didn’t they film this ish on a set though..? Couldn’t they have just… heated the water?

But then her nipples wouldn’t have been hard. Please be considerate of male heterosexuality and entitlement whenever you’re trying to rationally prevent a woman from getting an avoidable illness in her workplace. Thanks.

Uhh, not defending James Cameron here because he’s an absolute jackass and a monster of a director but….

He’s an absolute jackass and a monster of a director. 

He didn’t do it to see her nipples. He did it because he wants everyone he works with to be a fucking method actor rather they want to or not because he’s obsessed with detail. You recall Leo Dicaprio was in that water too, right? You recall that a whole great bunch of men, women, and children who were extras were in that water too, right? Not to mention the water wasn’t just cold enough to make her sick but to cover her in bruises so extensive the make up team took pictures to document them. You realise he’s done shit like this to actors on several other films. Ed Harris punched James Cameron in the face on the set of The Abyss after he ran out of oxygen, gave the signal for it, Camera kept filming, and Harris nearly drowned. Cameron’s reason for it was that he wanted Harris’s panic to be “real”.

From wikipedia: “ Sam Worthington, who worked with Cameron on Avatar, stated on The Jay Leno Show that Cameron had very high expectations from everyone: he would use a nail gun to nail the film crew’s cell phones to a wall above an exit door in retaliation for unwanted ringing during production”

People who have worked with him have shown up on set wearing shirts saying “You can’t scare me; I work for James Cameron.”

Painting him as no more than an average heterosexual man just wanting to get a peek at some titties MASSIVELY UNDERSTATES what a horrid person he is to work with and how abusive he is. Don’t do that. Don’t portray this as average. Don’t normalise this. 
(Your picture was not posted)

miserlyape:

Mar. 7th, 2019 02:53 am
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2EEJIqJ

miserlyape:
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2NLN1AB

captainekmanlarsson:

shinethewaythrough:

angryblackman:

hokuto-ju-no-ken:

unicornlordart:

the-entire-furry-fandom:

No, wait you don’t understand. 

That cat became an icon THIS MONTH AND IS STILL ONE.

that’s Jo-Pawveski, a stray who wandered onto the ice and past the nashville predators bench during round 2 of playoffs. They eventually picked her up and sent her to the humane society.

Here she is.

The SAN JOSE SHARKS won that game and attributed it to her, naming her after the Sharks captain: Joe Pavelski. When they found out she was a girl, they changed her name to Jo instead of Joe.

She became an instant good luck charm after that as the Sharks won every game at home that series and moved onto round three.

Since then, every game, they stack pucks and stick a idol to Jo for luck.

This little cat has had merchendise made out of her. She’s literally almost replaced SJ sharkie as maschot of the team.

I mean. I’m not making this up. I HAVE A RALLY TOWEL OF HER THEY GAVE OUT FOR GAME 1 OF THE 3RD ROUND. I OWN THIS FUCKING THING:

FURRIES HAVE BEEN SHOWING UP DRESS AS HER. 

She had her own livestream to check in on her.

SHE’S IN THE PREGAME OPENING ANIMATION

And so I know what you’re gonna say here.

Well… what happened to Jo, though.

Good news, This week, as Sharks made their first Stanley Cup, Jo and another Kitty were adopted. 

And that kids, is the story of JO PAWVELSKI.

The stray black cat of the San Jose Sharks. 

I’m beaming with shark pride and I ain’t even that big into hockey

@svartsvensk

Didn’t a member of the team adopt her?

Yes! Patrick Marleau’s family adopted her so now she’s Jo Marleau :)
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2HpKECv

oldhollywood:

Audrey Hepburn on the set of Funny Face (1956, photo by David Seymour) (via)

“Why, she was pressed, does she think she provoked such strong feelings of empathy from her audiences? After all, she was not a sex symbol (‘I sure wasn’t’), so what was it - her beauty, her vulnerability, her sense of humor, her sensitivity? - that gave her that special aura?

‘It’s impossible for me to know,’ [Audrey Hepburn] said with hesitation, ‘but if you asked me what I would like it to be, though it may sound presumptuous to say so, it’s an experience I’ve had with other performers who somehow make you open up to them. For me, it always has to do with some kind of affection, love, a warmth.’

'I myself was born with an enormous need for affection and a terrible need to give it,’ she went on. 'That’s what I’d like to think maybe has been the appeal. People have recognized something in me they have themselves – the need to receive affection and the need to give it. Does that sound soppy?’”

-excerpted from New York Times interview, April 1991
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2ETz8gR

assassinationtipsforladies:

bipolar-bubbeleh:

monkeychusetts:

Joyce Byers (Winona Ryder) is one of the best written characters and is a saint.  She is a wonderful mother.  You see that her son has a password for his fort.  She remembered the password and respected his rules, and he trusts her with the password.

You see the pride she has in providing things her kids love despite her low income.  “what kind of a mother can’t afford markers?”  You can tell it’s a struggle and that she wants the best for her kids.  Will is missing a red crayon and not only is she is taking an interest in his art, she cant stand to see him limited.

I love she knew where Jonathan wanted to go to college since he was 6.  My mom cant tell you things like that.

She’s over worked and underpaid but she takes the time to pay attention to her kids.

These scenes just break my heart and anchor her and us as the audience in her search for her missing son.

this shit is so real

Like, showing a working-class single mother loving and supporting the shit out of her kids is so powerful
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2H4LBRa

cutegirloftheday:

Cute girl of the day is Gal Gadot!
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2VOB9Rh

cutegirloftheday:

Cute girl of the day is Danai Gurira! 

(gif)
(Your picture was not posted)

Profile

gravityeyelids: (Default)
Rachel

April 2019

S M T W T F S
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 09:45 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios