Jul. 8th, 2018

gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2NCpQZ4

ap-world-history-memes:

Neko Atsume x Poets and philosophers through history
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2J58hgv

interstelleri:

queer-taako:

mangastream:

we’ve come full circle

Fun fact apparently there is serious debate in Japan as to whether the King of the Hill sub or dub is better.

this is something i never knew i was waiting my whole life to read
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2m3oPg7

servicedoodle:

lumpatronics:

SERVICE DOG PSA

So today I tripped. Fell flat on my face, it was awful but ultimately harmless. My service dog, however, is trained to go get an adult if I have a seizure, and he assumed this was a seizure (were training him to do more to care for me, but we didn’t learn I had epilepsy until a year after we got him)

I went after him after I had dusten off my jeans and my ego, and I found him trying to get the attention of a very annoyed woman. She was swatting him away and telling him to go away. So I feel like I need to make this heads up

If a service dog without a person approaches you, it means the person is down and in need of help

Don’t get scared, don’t get annoyed, follow the dog! If it had been an emergency situation, I could have vomited and choked, I could have hit my head, I could have had so many things happen to me. We’re going to update his training so if the first person doesn’t cooperate, he moves on, but seriously guys. If what’s-his-face could understand that lassie wanted him to go to the well, you can figure out that a dog in a vest proclaiming it a service dog wants you to follow him

I know of one person who has a card attached to the vest the dog can reach around and grab. He then takes the card that says follow me, they need help etc. to someone so they know the situation.

Maybe something like that could be possible?

Or even a patch that says If I’m alone, follow me. Something like that.

Sadly not everyone knows or understands how service dogs work, so maybe something to help the general public get it would be helpful
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2KYmttG

gaymilesedgeworth:

gaymilesedgeworth:

after i move i really wanna get a used roomba
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2NuIRfX

theultravioletcatastrophe:

showerthoughtsofficial:

Scooby Doo taught us that the real monsters are humans.

The other important lesson is that they would’ve gotten away with it, too, if it weren’t for those meddling kids.

So go. Meddle. Fuck up their plans. The gang is on your side.
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2J4rpeG

friendsrequest:
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2lZRXol

whitepeopletwitter:

Congrat- Wait what?
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2MXXU0p

an-aesthetic-messs:

crazyintheeast:

rowdyravens:

Piece of media: here’s a female assassin

Me: nice

Piece of media: she kills her marks by seducing them and-

Me: *already asleep*

Piece of media: she kills her marks by seducing their wives and convincing them to murder their husbands

Me: *wakes up* Go on
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2KIMwJh

brown-lesbian:

Last year, my grandma asked me if I had a boyfriend. And I realized, in that moment, that I’d quite forgotten to come out to Grandma. 
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2Nx8RXU

apersnicketylemon:

Stop screaming about how ‘queer is a slur’ every time someone says ‘I like being queer’ or ‘I id as queer’ or ‘let people id as queer’.

We fucking know. All our words are slurs. Lesbian started as a slur. Gay started as a slur. Bisexual started as a psychological disorder, same with transgender. All our words have bad starts, the point in us using them was to reforge their sword into our armour.

Let us id as queer in peace. Stop harassing people over their identities.
(Your picture was not posted)

Photo

Jul. 8th, 2018 07:32 pm
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2znb2KO
(Your picture was not posted)

Photo

Jul. 8th, 2018 07:32 pm
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2u1f5Ya
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2ucIe1N

madqueensarah:

If you’re an adult, do the stuff you couldn’t as a kid.

Like, me and my sister went to a museum, and they had an extra exhibit of butterflies. But it cost £3. So we sighed, walked past, then stopped. We each had £3. We could see the butterflies. And we did it was great. We followed it up with an ice-cream as well because Mum and Dad weren’t there to say no.

I was driving back from a work trip with 2 other people in their early 20s, and we drove past a MacDonalds. One of the others went “Aww man, I’d love a McFlurry.” And the guy driving pulled in to the drive through. It was wild. But it was great.

I went to a park over the weekend and I was thinking “Man, I’d love to hire one of those bikes and cycle round the park.” It took me a few minutes to go “Wait, I can hire one of those bikes!”

I guess what I’m saying is, those impulsive things you wanted to do as a kid - see the dinosaur exhibit, play in the fountains with the other kids, lie in the shade for 2 hours - you can do when you’re an adult. You have to deal with a whole lot of other bull, but at least you can indulge your inner 8 year-old.
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2u6ZXs0

prudencepaccard:

sighinastorm:

marzipanandminutiae:

it’s hilarious to me when people call historical fashions that men hated oppressive

like in BuzzFeed’s Women Wear Hoop Skirts For A Day While Being Exaggeratedly Bad At Doing Everything In Them video, one woman comments that she’s being “oppressed by the patriarchy.” if you’ve read anything Victorian man ever said about hoop skirts, you know that’s pretty much the exact opposite of the truth

thing is, hoop skirts evolved as liberating garment for women. before them, to achieve roughly conical skirt fullness, they had to wear many layers of petticoats (some stiffened with horsehair braid or other kinds of cord). the cage crinoline made their outfits instantly lighter and easier to move in

it also enabled skirts to get waaaaay bigger. and, as you see in the late 1860s, 1870s, and mid-late 1880s, to take on even less natural shapes. we jokingly call bustles fake butts, but trust me- nobody saw them that way. it was just skirts doing weird, exciting Skirt Things that women had tons of fun with

men, obviously, loathed the whole affair

(1864)

(1850s. gods, if only crinolines were huge enough to keep men from getting too close)

(no date given, but also, this is 100% impossible)

(also undated, but the ruffles make me think 1850s)

it was also something that women of all social classes- maids and society ladies, enslaved women and free women of color -all wore at one point or another. interesting bit of unexpected equalization there

and when bustles came in, guess what? men hated those, too

(1880s)

(probably also 1880s? the ladies are being compared to beetles and snails. in case that was unclear)

(1870s, I think? the bustle itself looks early 1870s but the tight fit of the actual gown looks later)

hoops and bustles weren’t tools of the patriarchy. they were items 1 and 2 on the 19th century’s “Fashion Trends Women Love That Men Hate” lists, with bonus built-in personal space enforcement

@prudencepaccard Real or malarkey, I’m sure you know people who will want to see this post.

@funereal-disease got rec’d by the New York Times for her Racked article on just this!
(Your picture was not posted)

Profile

gravityeyelids: (Default)
Rachel

April 2019

S M T W T F S
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 01:38 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios