Jan. 18th, 2018

gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2mGnICM:

When the Portland police chief said it was ok to go through suspects' trash because "they have no right to privacy," journalists went through the police chief's garbage and published what they found:

jumpingjacktrash:

orestian:

houstonwehaveadog:

thevoluntaryist:

This article is full of gold.

After much debate, we resolved to turn the tables on three of our esteemed public officials. We embarked on an unauthorized sightseeing tour of their garbage, to make a point about how invasive a “garbage pull” really is–and to highlight the government’s ongoing erosion of people’s privacy.

We chose District Attorney Mike Schrunk because his office is the most vocal defender of the proposition that your garbage is up for grabs. We chose Police Chief Mark Kroeker because he runs the bureau. And we chose Mayor Vera Katz because, as police commissioner, she gives the chief his marching orders.

Each, in his or her own way, has endorsed the notion that you abandon your privacy when you set your trash out on the curb. So we figured they wouldn’t mind too much if we took a peek at theirs.

Boy, were we wrong.

Perched in his office on the 15th floor of the Justice Center, Chief Kroeker seemed perfectly comfortable with the idea of trash as public property.

“Things inside your house are to be guarded,” he told WW. “Those that are in the trash are open for trash men and pickers and–and police. And so it’s not a matter of privacy anymore.”

Then we spread some highlights from our haul on the table in front of him.

“This is very cheap,” he blurted out, frowning as we pointed out a receipt with his credit-card number, a summary of his wife’s investments, an email prepping the mayor about his job application to be police chief of Los Angeles, a well-chewed cigar stub, and a handwritten note scribbled in pencil on a napkin, so personal it made us cringe. We also drew his attention to a newsletter from the conservative political advocacy group Focus on the Family, addressed to “Mr. & Mrs. Mark Kroeker.”

“Are you a member of Focus on the Family?” we asked.

“No,” the chief replied.

“Is your wife?”

“You know,” he said, with a Clint Eastwood gaze, “it’s none of your business.”

As we explained our thinking, the chief, who is usually polite to a fault, cut us off in mid sentence. “OK,” he said, suddenly standing up, “we’re done.”

Hours later, the chief issued a press release complaining that WW had gone through “my personal garbage at my home.” KATU promptly took to the airwaves declaring, “Kroeker wants Willamette Week to stay out of his garbage.”

Someone in Portland did something that’s actually cool

shit are journalists doing journalism now? 2018 already wild

looks like the journalism profession finally remembered that kissing ass won’t save you from politicians, and decided to take some names.
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2mGILFj:

andhumanslovedstories:

Actual truck drivers watching Griffin and Justin try to play a video game about truck driving is a beautiful and worthy thing that has improved my life 
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2Bcs6i4:

snartmo:

princesschillona:

goodness-gracious-great-balls-of:

If your argument against gun control goes like this “what if a bad guy has a gun I need one to defend myself” then you’re already stating that a gun is a threat to the safety of those nearby. You’re tickling your ego by thinking you with your gun will be faster and smarter than the bad guy and frankly my life is not worth testing out your bullshit attitude. You already know guns are bad, you just think you with a gun is better. If they shoot you or you shoot them that’s the same number of people killed. You still believe guns are dangerous you just wanna feel cool idk what to tell you champ just stop sniffing the glue.

You put this into words way better than I could have

The amount of people willing to base their ideals on pretending they’re the lead character of an action movie is ridiculous.
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2Bbweiq:

elodieunderglass:

magic-and-moonlit-wings:

In the heart of the fairy mound, there were two identical cradles, each with an identical infant inside.

“One of these babies is the one you bore,” said a fairy. “The other is the changeling we left. You may leave our hall with whichever child you claim as your own. Choose wisely.”

“But they are both my children,” the human mother protested indignantly.

The fairies whispered amongst themselves in surprise and confusion. At last, one asked, “How do you mean?”

“I came to get back the child you stole from me, the one who is mine by blood. I never agreed to give my adopted child back to you.”

Perhaps her words touched the fairies’ hearts; or perhaps her stubbornness impressed them; or perhaps they simply found the argument amusing, novel enough to merit a reward.

She left the fairy mound, an infant in each arm, and brought them home.

I don’t know why, but I think about this all the time. 
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2mKrzyN:

discoursegrips:

rednegsnarts:

real question who tf has ever seen a cishet ace person bc i haven’t. the only people you guys talk about that i know of are aro ace people, and liking no one definitely doesn’t equal het, so…

i think there’s only one person on here that identified as heteromantic asexual, but i think they were nonbinary?? i can hardly remember.

and further more i can understand being wary of a heteromantic cis person but why would aro ace people bother you?? and why do you guys talk nonstop about hating aces and aros, but then say it’s because some of them are straight??

most actual cishet people don’t care about the people in this community enough to want to “force themselves into it”.

most of them are trans/enby or otherwise already indisputably lgbtq. and the ones who aren’t, and some who are, also usually don’t like any gender at all.

in short, idc about het aces/aros bc there aren’t any who care enough to use the term. but don’t shit all over aro aces and otherwise don’t shit on lgbtq aces/aros, whatever that means to you.

sorry if im hijacking your post but exclusionists absolutely assume that kinda stuff. i joind a discord server that was exclusionist but I didnt know that at the time and i thought it was just cool and nice people (they werent) but yeah anyway yknow how discord servers have ‘roles’ and sometimes its for ur identity well i didnt like, see my gender up there so i left it blank and i put asexual and ‘they/them’ so those were the only 2 roles i had

and then some fuck is like “ARE YOU CIS ??? ARE YOU A CISHET ACE????” like damn calm down how many cis people you know who use they them pronouns… but this just goes to show these cowards will assume all aces are cishet before anything else. 
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2Dm6MwA:

ryan-of-the-dead:

“When someone leaves your life, those exits are not made equal. Some are beautiful and poetic and satisfying. Others are abrupt and unfair. But most are just unremarkable, unintentional, clumsy.”

“WHERE’S ALL THE PIPIS?!… UWHOUGHH”
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2Do8HAH:

gloomypunks:

lapidotislifeanddeath:

sorryaboutyourmom:

lapidotislifeanddeath:

luxtempestas:

what women are ridiculed for when drawing men: ‘tumblr nose’, tall and wearing a bowtie, flower crowns

male artists drawing women:

I’m male, but I usually draw female characters petite and with very small breasts. I also draw them in a variety of body types, from skinny to fat to curvaceous to slim.

C…congrats

I was trying to prove a point that not all men draw women in the same way. So stop being such a cynical bitch.

it’s almost incredible the lack of self-awareness that allows someone to say with complete certainty “not all men, you cynical bitch”
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2mLgM7m:

driflloon:

driflloon:

what does an everything bagel even have

it just seems like a bold claim
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2DoSvPX:

theglasschild:

enough about sex positions has anyone discovered a reading position which doesn’t get uncomfortable after 5 minutes
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2Dot5BV:

host-grin:

Remember, Chihiro… ( spirited away )

PRINT AND OTHER GOODIES AVAILABLE HERE :  http://ift.tt/2mMDJHl
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2BcSR65:

satou-minatsuki-art:

ruinedchildhood:

Caption this

10 minutes into Kung Fu and chill when he gives you this look….
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2Dogn6f:

captainevans:

I think he’s become—and I’ve said this to him—for as amazing as all of our actors are at embodying these characters, every single one of them, he’s one that reminds me, alongside Christopher Reeve, as just like ‘these are the characters.’ I think he’s a great actor, and I think he can do whatever he wants to do, but even when you look at his Twitter account and taking a stand on things, it’s like, ‘Is he becoming Captain America? - Kevin Feige
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2mSiNja

lifted-nevermore:

elsaclack:

rulesdontstop-me:

phil-the-stone:

jalceperalta:

ok ok listen i know a lot of people have been bringing up the fact that they dont like brooklyn nine nine because they feel like it’s a “pro-cop show” and it’s “idolizing a gross system” but like?? please try to understand that that is not the point of this show at all?? they have explicitly stated the problem with the police system in one of the episodes, where amy lists real concerns and holt puts up a poster that says “tell us how we can be better.” this is one of the very few shows who i see actually addressing real problems like gun control issues, homophobia, racism, and transphobia (it was just a mention, but still way more than any other show), while still being lighthearted and hilarious. just because this show is set in a cop setting does not mean they are praising anything?? please don’t diss an genuinely funny, good show so quickly because of that. it’s not perfect but it’s trying so much more than anything else on tv right now.

It should also be noted that outside of the squad itself, there are many, many policy officers that are depicted as corrupt, racist, and otherwise not at all praised or glorified. Both narratively and explicitly through character dialogue, the world of the police force that the characters exist in is criticized and challenged – not romanticized. And the point of the show, at the end of the day, is not the great acts of heroism these cops do. It’s about the deeper bonds between the characters and their completely zany quirks; cop stuff is just like, On The Side. So idk just … i completely understand aversion to any cop rhetoric in media that isn’t obviously negative, but maybe before you write off b99 as inherently disgusting or condescend any of its viewers who dare to praise it, maybe actually become familiar with the show itself?

this is important and also just to add on, this is one very small squad (one captain, one sergeant, and like 6 detectives) in one precinct, in one city in the us. it’s known by the characters that, by and large, cops are not like them, and they kind of acknowledge that while they can’t change that, they can themselves be “good cops”. notice how they hate the vulture and wuntch who are portrayed as bad people but also seen as being the kind of cops/captains that the 99 squad wants nothing to do with. notice how in coral palms the cop they run into is all the negative stereotypes of a cop and it truly bothers jake and holt. they know they are not the standard and the show, i think, makes that very clear.

#not that I have anyone to convince because everyone that follows me watches this show#but it’s like how parks and rec handles government operations#hyperaware of how corrupt the system actually is–just trying to be different (via @feministperalta)

that’s it that’s the show in a nutshell

It’s a pretty good visualization of ‘not all cops are bad, but the police system is corrupt’
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2mNL75f

cryptid-sighting:

portentsofwoe:

actually no i did not know that

huh..
(Your picture was not posted)

Photo

Jan. 18th, 2018 07:25 pm
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2BdwSvP
(Your picture was not posted)

Photo

Jan. 18th, 2018 07:26 pm
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2mU0Noq
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2mVGJlF

brittajj26:

finnglas:

otakusapien:

moonlitwatersunnyriver:

nltm:

One thing I always bring up that straight writers obviously don’t understand but every gay person ever can attest to is that queer people stick together. Like, every queer person knows like 15 other ones and those 15 know even more. 

Like, having only One in your story completely misses the point of how we organize and stay safe, in addition to completely missing the point on being progressive (ie, having A Single Gay in your story isn’t special anymore and hasn’t been for decades now)

It is a fundamental misunderstanding of how marginalized people act bc straight people are allowed to be solitary and they don’t understand any other way of Being

Hijacking this post to talk about something interesting! There’s a lot of criticism in fanfiction circles of yaoi or yuri fanfiction where ‘everybody is gay’, and it’s almost always by folks who haven’t been involved in queer communities. If you’re queer, you really do surround yourself with queer people - so ‘everybody is gay’ in a character’s social circle actually makes perfect sense! 

this exhibits itself in other ways too, for example, when there’s one queer sibling there’s usually more - often because one sibling will bring the definitions home and the other will use that to explore their own identity! 

Another weird phenomenon I noticed is this happens a lot even before people realize they’re Not Straight ™. Out of my close friends in high school, most of us turned out some form of LGBTQA, and I’ve heard other people say the same is true for them.
So people saying it’s “unrealistic” that everyone in the same social circle would gradually discover they’re Not Straight ™- yeah, it is totally reasonable and even likely.

#we know our own #sometimes before we know ourselves (tags via @anneapocalypse )

I have to wonder if maybe THIS is where straight people got the term “catching the gay”… You know?

My mother was so concerned when I moved to CA for college that I would “catch the gay”, and I was just like “???????? pretty sure it’s not something you catch like a cold, mom.” And ignored her.

It wasn’t until I started making friends in the LGBT community and spending time with them and loving them as people that I slowly became aware of the fact that I might not be straight. And after years of talking to LGBT youth and living in a city that embraces that culture, I found myself realizing that I was ALWAYS like this, but never realized it.

It’s like… you could go your ENTIRE life having the choice of eating raisin bran, bran flakes, or plain cheerios for breakfast. And that’s pretty much the only choices you’re offered. But then. THEN! You walk into a supermarket and see an ENTIRE AISLE of a billion cereal choices, and you realize “wait, I…are…are you telling me that I could have had LUCKY CHARMS for breakfast?!”

And OOOOHHHHHH BOI lemme tell you a thing, when you see your buddies eating captain crunch and lucky charms, and you realize you can ALSO have that?

Well, then - if “the gay” is contagious, then you’d better lock me in quarantine.
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2FTgUdE

hobbitsaarebas:

summitice:

chiesatonakas:

this is over a year overdue but here you will find MBMBaM’s completely PG advertisement for extreme restraints, an extremely non-PG online sex shop. its the funniest six and a half minutes that podcasting has ever produced

“hey, you know how sometimes when you turn into a werewolf, people chain you up in the basement? well, what if only your privates turned into a werewolf? have you thought about that undereserved portion of the population?”

what gets me is that Extreme Restraints decided to advertise with MBMBAM. what was the thought process on that? “Let’s just buy this and see what they do”? well they got their money’s worth I’d say
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2Dqr3QZ

fandomsandfeminism:

1. The Best Defense is a Good Offense: Be proactive with children’s behavior. 

Don’t wait until a child is in the middle of a meltdown in the toiletries aisle of Target. Try to be aware of how different situations and stimuli might affect kids of different ages. A few tips: 

Kids, especially toddler age kids, struggle with transitions. Give them a clear time table and stick to it. Give them updates as deadlines approach. “We are leaving the library in 5 minutes.” “We need to go see Grandma in 10 minutes.” “Target will only take 20 minutes.” 

Getting toted around by adults can be exhausting and frustrating. Give kids tasks to do. Put them in charge of something. It can be something actually helpful (you get to hold the calculator and keep track of how much money we are spending in the store) or something fun to keep their mind busy (count all the blue things in this aisle.) Talk to your kids. Help them feel involved, instead of just a tote bag. 

Model self care and emotional awareness. Kids are often dealing with SUPER new emotions, and may not know how to recognize them, contextualize them, or act on them. Talk through your own emotions, or emotions you think they may be having, and show them how to deal with them. “Yeah, I know, mommy is really sad that we can’t go to the park because of the rain. It makes me feel really bad inside. I think if we color with crayons for a while, I’ll feel better.” 

Give kids choices. Obviously, age plays a big part here, but a reasonable, curated set of appropriate choices gives kids a growing feeling of agency and teaches making good choices. “Would you like peas or green beans?” “Penguin Shirt or Turtle Shirt?” “Water or apple juice?” This requires YOU to also speak with and listen to the kids. Always important. 

Be aware of how the children in YOUR care react to things, and find ways to mitigate “bad” behavior before it happens. 

2. “Punishment” is not the goal. Discipline means teaching. 

Your goal, as a parent, as a teacher, as a baby sitter, is not to punish kids. Your goal is to help teach kids how to become thoughtful, responsible, and kind people. The entire idea of kids “deserving” bad things because they’ve “been bad” is flawed. If a kid does something “bad”, then we should aim to help them not make that bad choice again. 

How? 

Identify any immediate stimuli or situation causing the bad behavior and remove/alter it so the behavior stops. This might mean leaving an errand unfinished, a time out, taking away a toy, etc, in order to STOP the behavior that is happening RIGHT NOW. 

Talk to the child about why their behavior was “bad.” What bad affects could it have? How does it affect others? What caused it? Kids, even very young kids, can understand complicated things if explained in terms on their level. 

Come up with a plan for what to do next time the original stimuli or situation happens. If Timmy tries to take your truck again, what can we do differently? The next time we are in line at the bank, what can we do to make it more fun? 

If the child is older, and the offense is more severe, you may feel the need for a tangible consequence. Remember that these should be age appropriate, reasonable, and negotiable. Give kids the ability to reduce their consequence with good behavior, and be willing to modify the consequence if they have a compelling and reasonable request. Listening to kids and being empathetic is not a weakness. It is a sign of respect. 

3. Don’t forget that kids are people. Kids are also kids. 

Kids will not be perfect angels. You will not be a perfect adult. Sometimes they will be cranky, angry, tired, hungry, selfish, or mean. You can be these things to. One bad day doesn’t mean you are a failure, and it doesn’t mean the kids are a failure. You have to let kids have bad days sometimes. You have to love them anyway and be willing to give it a fresh go tomorrow. 

Working with kids is not easy. No one said it would be. But part of working with kids is the obligation to always be thoughtful about our interactions with them- we teach them with everything we do. So we should treat them with all the respect, kindness, thoughtfulness, and patience we want them to learn. 
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2mO5Rd6

milevns:

It’s been really emotional getting all these amazing comments and DMs from fans who are coming out to their parents by showing my music video, or like, you know, coming out to themselves watching the music videos. It’s amazing because, you know, I just released the video because it was true to myself. I really didn’t think it was gonna affect people.
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2mTG301

32trbl:

ironman._
(Your picture was not posted)

Profile

gravityeyelids: (Default)
Rachel

April 2019

S M T W T F S
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 01:38 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios