via
http://ift.tt/2zaPm2f:
glumshoe:
oddlyleftoverskeletonhats:
glumshoe:
glumshoe:
A reminder that turning in assignments for partial credit is better than not turning them in at all. It is. Even if you think you’ve done a bad job and are ashamed of your work, or it’s way overdue, you take whatever you can get. Partial credit dramatically improves your grade over a zero, and I’m always astounded by how often even the smartest kids don’t really comprehend that. 60% is worlds better than 0%. Even 10% is going to help you. Letter grades are misleading and are not created equal. “F"s are mathematically valuable. Turn that late assignment in.
Also, honestly?
“Some teachers don’t accept late work at all!”
That’s true. But it’s still worth it to turn it in anyway. Teachers don’t make this rule because they want to see you fail, they do it to motivate you - a policy that often backfires, obviously. Every teacher I’ve ever had who “didn’t accept late work” would also quietly make exceptions for students who demonstrated an earnest desire and effort. Be respectful about it, but pester your teachers/professors and there is a very good chance that they’ll be sympathetic and bend their own rules, especially if you’ve got other shit going on in your life or a disorder you don’t have accommodations for. Even if they don’t budge, they may find other ways to help you. It’s worth trying.
This is insanely misleading. You need to talk to the teacher first, because I had several teachers who didn’t take late work, even if you were out on excused absences. I left school half a day because of a fever, and by law, was forced to go home, and so I missed my last two period classes. This means I missed an assignment in AP Geo.
I got the work off of her website and text a friend for the class notes, and did all the work and went to her the next day (we had AB scheduling, so I wouldn’t have her class that day, I went before homeroom). I explained I left because I was ill, I did the work last night, and here it was.
She looked at me in disgust, said “I don’t take late work” insanely loud, and ripped up my work in front of me.
That is the sort of situation you take directly to administration. That is massively inappropriate on her part and I am 99% certain that your school has official rules regarding work missed during excused absences. If you have a parent or guardian who will advocate for you, that’s when you raise hell. If she ripped it up in front of other students, you can also bring up the point of public humiliation with the school principal.
(Your picture was not posted)