Dec. 2nd, 2017

Photo

Dec. 2nd, 2017 11:17 am
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2ABj6a5:
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2zXokNS:

owls-parliament:

katedrawscomics:

oh yeah i love anime my favourite is uhhhh

I dunno I prefer
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2no9utV:

theclassicsreader:

things college needs more of:

learning based on student experiences

music

laughter/joy/excitement 

art

having class outside

things college needs less of:

the professor as the center of knowledge

unrealistic expectations

intimidation 

ignoring the physical body’s needs

lecture style teaching
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2iAUpDH:

animals-lovers:

(Source)
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2j9TkzH:

luminis-infinite:

ladyoftheteaandblood:

quoting-shakespeare-to-ducks:

mizkit:

hawxkeye:

mcu meme  - 4/10 scenes.

It’s the unspoken truth of humanity that you crave subjugation.

I see this scene reblogged a lot off the one Hiddleston blog I follow, but it almost always ends with Loki’s “There are no men like me” line, which is completely missing the fucking point of the scene. And I get that it’s about the Hiddleslove, which is great, but it’s completely missing the fucking point of the scene. And it is a very important point.

This is one of my favourite moments in the whole MCU because of its incredible power and strength. This is not Captain America with his super soldier serum juice standing up to a god. This isn’t even a young man who might think he’s somehow got a chance against the prick with the horns. This is an old, old man who knows, who knows, that he’s probably going to die because of what he’s doing, but he is not going to kneel to another man like Hitler.

Maybe he did, seventy years ago. Maybe that’s why he would rather die now than remain on his knees. Maybe he *didn’t*. Maybe he fought against his own countrymen, because he wouldn’t kneel to a man like this. Maybe he’s always been one to stand up. Maybe he lost everything once because of it. Everything except his integrity, and maybe he’s ready to die instead of risking losing that now, at the end of his life. Maybe his integrity cost him so fucking much seventy years ago that he hopes he’s going to die for it now because he almost wishes he’d have died for it then, but if he’s going to die for it, he’s goddamn well going to die with it.

Maybe he’s a Holocaust survivor. Maybe he’s Jewish. Maybe he’s gay. Maybe he’s Romani. We don’t know.

We don’t know anything about this man, except he’s the bravest goddamn person in the Marvel Cinematic Universe.

And that’s why it bothers me every time I see this scene go by with his response cut from it. Because it’s missing. the. point.

“the bravest goddamn person in the Marvel Cinematic Universe“

Auto reblog

Always. Always. Always. This is a scene that will always hit me. 
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2ADpwFO:

landscape-photo-graphy:

Haunting Landscape Photography Inspired by the Brothers Grimm Fairytales by Kilian Schönberger

German photographer Kilian Schönberger is deeply inspired by the exquisite and gruesome Brothers Grimm’s fairytales. Stunning and haunting, the images are brooding, atmospheric, which instantly transport you to a fantasy world, where the woods seem spookier, darker and far more enchanting than on Earth. Although Schönberger is colorblind, he understands that the composition and geometry of an image convey its mood and beauty. 
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2iEHZuC:

vinegod:

White People Questions (pt.12) by Jus Reign
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2iaqtuj:

maddiesharafian:

Be careful with your honey, my friends! <3
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2Akt9Qq:

stutterhug:

The Kennel Lad and The Scaly Puppy

(A story that probably needs a sequel, but for now please enjoy this tale of wierd looking dog rescue)

((Patreon))
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2AqBgZD:

operationfailure:

operationfailure:

My friend Maggie, at the young age of 34, just found out she has a twin, and now it’s up to all of us to help her find them!

I love a mystery!

Please share this photo!

UPDATE

Hey everyone invested in this, it has finally reached a conclusion. Thanks for all your help and support, you all did an amazing thing. Here’s Maggie, in her own words:

Well. Here it is: Parsons found the family of my biological sister. Unfortunately, she went to eternal rest in 2009, after suffering from liver cancer. 

Her adoption records stated that she had a twin that had died at infancy…of cancer, ironically. The next step for me is to try to connect with her family. 

Even in finding this all out, they still need permissions from both parties to disclose any information. 

Yes, I am disappointed. However, I truly believe everything happens for a reason and maybe God knew that I wouldn’t be able to bear losing a twin sister. (?) 

I thank everyone who has liked, shared and reached out to me and asked about updates. The support was so amazing and I wish my KAD friends all of the best on their continued journeys as well!
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2AqBrUN:

wilwheaton:

mostlysignssomeportents:

America is in the midst of a “retail apocalypse”: 6,800 chain stores are closing this year. It’s true that online retailers and winner-take-alls like Walmart have delivered the coup de grace that finished off these stores, but the conditions that made them weak enough to kill are driven by Wall Street, not Walmart.

The common factor shared by the disparate struggling and bankrupt retailers – Toys R Us, Claire’s, Nordstrom’s, Macy’s, Sears, Penney’s, Circuit City, Sports Authority, Payless, Radio Shack, etc – is that they are saddled with crushing, inescapable debt that they took on when they were acquired by hedge funds that loaded the debt on as a way of stripmining the companies; also, they increasingly rely on predatory store-cards that can be used as cover for more financialization, debt-loading, and extraction by investors who profit even (especially) when their investments go bust.

Indeed, many of these companies are profitable, and some even experienced sales growth, even as they are circling the drain, because any dollar that comes in goes straight to debt service.

What’s more, the structure of this debt is such that the payments these companies “owe” are about to balloon, guaranteeing the end of the line for them.

Amazon and Walmart may push these companies over the brink, but America’s financial engineers brought them to that brink.

http://ift.tt/2Bi2fqu

Hedge funds and the vulture capitalists who run them are destroying America.
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2zY0Wjs:

jenroses:

novaya-model:

confide–nemini:

kisshugger:

i dont understand why asexuals still get mocked on this site just for publically identifying. like is it cus people assume youre attempting to derail lgbt discussions or do they think that not being sexually active is a bad way to live? i do not understand you can send mean anons if you want just help me out ?

Oh boy, I don’t even know how to begin. 

Tumblr has a very toxic culture of mercilessly bullying “acceptable targets.” Asexuality has become an “acceptable target” because “cishets” are and asexuals are “basically cishets” right?!? Except, in a bigot’s mind, they are worse because they are “invading” LGBT spaces. 

I think part of the the problem is that many LGBT (mostly the LG…) people on here finally have a sense of power over someone for their sexuality and they just go wild with power once they are hiding behind a computer screen. 

Asexuality is viewed by many people on here as a sort-of foreign, unimportant and “fake” sexuality. This gives them an opportunity to mock innocent people (many of them young teens…) for their identity.

Asexuality is not new by any means, by the lack of asexual visibility in our culture as helps bigots argue that’s it’s new, fake, not-LGBT or whatever.

(I’m sorry if this isn’t exactly coherent, it’s very upsetting for me to discuss.)

Rundown:

A thing happened a few years ago where some national college LGBT+ group made some changes to its organization, one of which was lowering the number of seats for gay male representatives (as they had a disproportionately high number of seats, if I recall correctly) and another, separate change was adding a seat or two for asexual reps (as they had few, if none).

Some people on Tumblr took this as “cishets stealing LGBT+ resources” and it got out of hand from there.

But as the previous commenter touched on, this is nothing new. Before asexuals, it was non-binary people. Before them, it was bi and trans people (I forget which came first, as the LG vs. BT thing is a pretty long withstanding aspect of LGBT+ history).

What I’ve seen pretty commonly in these recent hate-trends is established biphobes and transphobes rebranding the rhetoric from the old fights and using the new trend to attract young, less-involved LGBT+ people to their side, which not only has an obvious impact on how those young, impressionable people see the current discourse, but also makes them more susceptible to transphobia and biphobia in the long run. So that’s something we all have to be on the lookout for.

The really frustrating thing is that the vast majority of resources for queer people are demand dependent to some degree. It is rare that we have a quota (x number of seats on a board.)

For example, at a convention I go to, their likelihood to have repeats of a given panel depend in part on how many people show up.

The LGBTQ+ mixer was really well attended this year. Of the 21 people there, ballpark 80% were nonbinary and/or bi and/or ace. We’ll probably get a bigger space next year and higher scheduling priority because there were so many butts in the seats. If the only people allowed in had been binary lesbians and gays I think there might have been two people and no panelists or moderators. If only binary, non-ace LGBT folk? Maybe 5. 

There was one actual straight guy in the room. He was polite. It didn’t really affect things badly. I think he came with a partner? I’m not sure. It didn’t matter. 

What I do know is that every single time someone said, “I’m nonbinary” or “I’m aromantic” or “I’m grey ace” or whatever…. someone else in the room lit up because someone like them was there and voicing their identity and being accepted. A few people who were less familiar with these things asked questions, got their questions answered, and suddenly realized that oh, yeah, that fit them too. 

The space wasn’t ideal. But because we had so many butts in seats, our next space will be better. 

I saw people in their sixties and seventies waking up to the idea that what they thought was them being broken was actually something that there is community for now, despite having spent years “in the queer community”. People who walked away years ago because there wasn’t really a place for them heard us talking and turned around and came back. 

There is no downside to being inclusive of ace and nonbinary folk. And where policy is being made, ace and nonbinary people deserve representation.

The chances of ace, nonbinary and bisexual people trying to write gay, lesbian and transgender people out of the community is pretty much zero. I’ve seen it go the other way way too many times, however, to trust policies which weight more strongly the voices of more “acceptable” gays. 

Queer is a big umbrella. There’s plenty of room.
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2jG990n:

bearer-of-bad-decisions:

family feud is a national treasure 
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2AlU3XZ:

sketchlab:

Some Necromancer
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2BuGQtp:

theultravioletcatastrophe:

niqabisinparis:

- apply Vaseline to your eyes, lashes, brows, and lips before bed

- never brush curly hair while it’s dry

- on that note, applying products/oil to curly hair while dry is useless

- use a t shirt to dry hair to avoid frizz

- sleep without pants. trust me.

- avoid watery body lotions like Vaseline’s lotion. only dries you out

- avoid crystalline, jagged scrubs (sugar, coffee. St. Ives, etc.). Use round/gentle ones like oatmeal

- avoid coconut oil on face. if you apply it to your hair wash your face afterwards

- don’t put lemon on your face. it might seem like it’s helping but it weakens its protective layer in the long run. if you do use it, dilute it and avoid sun for a while.

- no toothpaste on pimples either it’s a myth

- why do u have a bra on at home. take that shit off and live a little.

- apply deodorant before getting dressed so it doesn’t rub off on your clothes defeating the purpose

- reapply sunscreen every 3-4 hours

- don’t text the fuckboy he don’t care about you

- wake up 30 minutes earlier to have a more relaxed morning and avoid rushing

- wash panties by themselves so you don’t get the gross dirt and germs from your other clothes mixed in. dry them in the sun to kill bacteria if possible.

- hand wash all hijabs they’ll last longer

- don’t use rose water with added fragrance. always check label

- eat at least one fruit or vegetable a day

- leave menial tasks for the end of the day. don’t drain yourself before getting to the important stuff

- before saying something mean or a nasty joke, take 5 seconds to think about it.

- apologizing first doesn’t make you weak

- being vulnerable doesn’t make you weak

- exfoliate after using foundation or powder

- clean phone screen with rubbing alcohol/sanitizer

might add more later or y'all can reblog with your own tips

Please eat more than one fruit or vegetable a day. You should probably eat like 10 of them. But don’t feel too bad if you don’t.
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2jFxx2l:

nabrisax:

🌴 alohaseax 🌴
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2jaqcIO:

andantegrazioso:

Blowing Roses | Chloé
(Your picture was not posted)

Profile

gravityeyelids: (Default)
Rachel

April 2019

S M T W T F S
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 02:38 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios