Oct. 11th, 2017

gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2yeX2Ar:
cloacina:

ltsuitsyou:

Diana Prince sweeping people including me off their feet

Ugh. This exact shot comparison had Margaret Atwoods “MALE GAZE! MALE GAZE!” alarm going off in my head when watching the Justice League trailer.

Slow mo panty shots are not the best way to use your female characters.

The framing of this is so lazy. Its such bad directing that it really highlights how blessed we were in Wonder Woman. It could have been the hot mess that is Justice League.

Dianas whole body vs Dianas butt centre frame.
Seeing the hit vs Did she get him? Can’t see, because BUTT is taking up whole screen.

Patty Jenkins used her slowed moments to do 4 things at once

1. To give the viewer an easier time following fast action sequences in the dull dc colour pallette.

This negated the ‘transformers effect’ of blurred blah hitting something that was batman vs superman. Marvels colour pallet allows for bright red guy, bright blue guy, big green guy to move through chaotic screens easier because the colour draws they eye and makes it easier to follow.

2. To emphasise Diana’s super strength.

By slowing down before the impact we feel the HIT harder when time speeds up again. In the Justice League trailer we don’t even really see the hit. Is that a guys leg? Did she get him? The slow mo in Justice League is used to have more time to focus on the panty shot, to make sure you didn’t miss your chance to sexualise her. It doesn’t even speed up as she hits. Its more like a cat knocking something off the shelf. Not that you are looking at the hit, it is barely in frame because we need more room for the Butt.

3. To show the difference between real time and relative time.

For characters like the Flash, Supes and Wondy they all perceive time differently from regular mortals. This allows for bullet dodging and other shennanigans. Slowing time down, gives us a glimpse into how they percieve time. You can focus on a body part but it has to be the part of them that is using that slowed time. Thier face - Are they strategising in extra time? Thier hands - reflecting bullets or moving something. Thier Butt - yeah, I got nothing.

4. To show what characters are feeling during fast paced combat scenes.

Antiope’s slow mo jump gives us time to see the satisfaction in her face before she shoots the soliders. Multiple times in Wondy we see Dianas joy, fear or determination in a fight thanks to slow mo. This happens because when you frame her whole body as much as possible we get to see her face and body language. The slowed time gives us a chance to interpret them without constantly having to insert closeups of her face, breaking up the action. It gives Dianas fight scenes a presence lacking in other Superhero films.

When I saw this the Justice League trailer the first time my disappointment lingered for days. My main take aways were “The Flash seems charming but his outfit is soooo bad” and “Ooooh boy, they don’t know how to do Wondy.” It didn’t help any that I watched the Justice League trailer and the Thor : Ragnarok trailer back to back. If we really wanna look at disappointing comparisons, look no further.
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2xw6xMC:
felicitysghost:

Mark of the Vampire, 1935. dir Tod Browning
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2kGpS7R:
m86:

turing-tested:

self care is putting yourself to bed on a regular schedule because it’s the base treatment for mood disorders

there’s no twist or anything it’s just really really good for u to sleep at consistent times

me reading this at 5am:
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2kGqavt:
northern-seidmadr:

petterwass:

Best-dressed protestor att the anti-nazi/nazi rally in Gothenburg today.
“Vikings against incorrect use of runic script”

THIS GIVES ME THE HAPPY
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2kGqp9R:
markv5:

Собака и кот
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2fZuVen:
ruinedchildhood:

Anderson Cooper Responds to Finding Out His Ancestor Was Killed By His Slave
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2fZVQXj:
gothiccharmschool:

Today is World Mental Health Day.

Peeps, there’s a reason I talk about my bad days. There’s a reason I talk about my struggles with the Brain Raccoons. Because when I was younger, people didn’t talk about mental health. If they did, it was in pitying or scared whispers. And if your brain didn’t work like “normal people’s”, you didn’t talk about it for fear of … a lot of things. Discrimination was the mildest of those things to fear.

You know what? Fuck all that. No one’s brains work like anyone else’s. If yours isn’t working the way you think it should be, if you’re dealing with emotions or thoughts that make you feel like you’re struggling, there’s help out there. You don’t have to be stuck in that horrible, dark place.

Please, please don’t feel like you’re alone, and don’t give up hope.
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2g0xixo:


If nothing else [Johnny Depp’s casting as Grindelwald will] willhelp me sympathise with Dumbledore when he shows up in later films.

I too know the experience of having a wild crush on Depp as a teenager only to later feel horribly guilty about it once it came out what an arse he was.


- Seen on an anon comm (via baratheon)
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2kGs2Ev:
yayfeminism:

Terry Crews shares story of being sexually assaulted by Hollywood executive.
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2hB4Oec:
dorkbait:

Inktober day 9. Day 8. Day 7.  Day 6. Day 5. Day 4. Day 3. Day 2. Day 1.
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2yEGfIf:
shamwowxl:

wine-dark-sea:

ilyasaurus:

randomfandomteacher:

indigopersei:

broitsablog:

wildeisms:

@indigopersei is the french language just always on the verge of getting someone accused of assault or..?

my friend,if only you knew

It’s a very dangerous language to learn

Here’s an interesting thing about French! Everything needs to have an article in front of it. That’s why it’s “la chat” as opposed to just “chat”. So, for instance, you could say la fille for the girl, or jeune fille for young girl, but you can’t just say fille, because that means you are calling her a sex worker in a derogatory way.

The moral of the story is, if you want to make something rude in French, just take out the article in front of it. Yes, this works for nearly. every. word.

#now I’m wondering how often my high school french teacher was silently screaming because of this little fact

Every year. Every year there’s that kid who forgets that you can’t translate “I am excited” to “Je suis excitée”. And every year Monsieur Jordan has to slam the brakes before that kid can finish his sentence and then tactfully ask him not to announce to the class that he is horny.

“is the french language always on the verge” oh buddy, oh pal, i am so happy to break this news to you: 
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2hAsGyB:
vickisigh:

Week 1 of Inktober! My theme this year is plant witches~ ^o^

Twitter | Instagram | Patreon | Store
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2gbcneU:
redundantdandelion:

astrologynshit:

rage-quitter:

shower. not a bath, a shower. use water as hot or cold as u like. u dont even need to wash. just get in under the water and let it run over you for a while. sit on the floor if you gotta.

moisturize everything. use whatever lotion u like. unscented? dollar store lotion? fancy ass 48 hour lotion that makes u smell like a field of wildflowers? use whatever you want, and use it all over. 

put on clean, comfortable clothes. 

put on ur favorite underwear. cute black lacy panties? those ridiculous boxers u bought last christmas with candy cane hearts on the butt? put em on.

drink cold water. use ice. if u want, add some mint or lemon for an extra boost.

clean something. doesn’t have to be anything big. organize one drawer of ur desk. wash five dirty dishes. do a load of laundry. scrub the bathroom sink. 

blast music. listen to something upbeat and dancey and loud, something that’s got lots of energy. sing to it, dance to it, even if you suck at both.

make food. don’t just grab a granola bar to munch. take the time and make food. even if it’s ramen. add something special to it, like a hard boiled egg or some veggies. prepare food, it tastes way better, and you’ll feel like you accomplished something. 

make something. write a short story or a poem, draw a picture, color a picture, fold origami, crochet or knit, sculpt something out of clay, anything artistic. even if you don’t think you’re good at it.

go outside. take a walk. sit in the grass. look at the clouds. smell flowers. put your hands in the dirt and feel the soil against your skin.

call someone. call a loved one, a friend, a family member, call a chat service if you have no one else to call. talk to a stranger on the street. have a conversation and listen to someone’s voice. if you can’t, text or email or whatever, just have some social interaction with another person. even if you don’t say much, listen to them.

cuddle your pets if you have them/can cuddle them. take pictures of them. talk to them. tell them how u feel, about your favorite movie, a new game coming out.

Reblog as much as you can

All of this really helps
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2gciMGy:
broadstreets:

dukewolber:

damianmcgintleman:

why the fuck do people always remind you that taco bell isn’t real mexican food like do you not think that i know that like do you think i go to taco bell because i think the 16 year old white guy behind the window just made me authentic mexican cuisine two minutes before i pulled to the second window no do you know why i go to taco bell it’s because it’s 1:30am and my life is terrible so i order a coke and five dorito loco tacos and shove them down my face in the parking lot

Should be commissioned as an ad for Taco Bell
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2yFSTXa:
dancinbutterfly:

kc749:

littlereddove:

han-j1:

evilqueenofgallifrey:

so a racist got utterly demolished in less than 30 seconds on the New Zealand morning news on Monday and it’s one of the most beautiful things I’ve ever seen

who knew a white guy could be capable of such an iconic response, he knows what’s up and is having none of that shit, every other white guy take notes tbh

I love that he said Pakeha

Can someone write what its being said in this?

Male co-host: We have had a whole heap of feedback regarding
Te Tai Tokerau MP Kelvin Davis’s proposal to institute a prison run on Māori
values into New Zealand. He’s looking at potentially establishing this prison
up north. It isn’t Labour policy just yet, it’s just an idea of Kelvin Davis’s.
And this has been really really divisive on our Facebook page this morning. (sarcastically)
Here I think we have the single greatest email, the single greatest message we
have ever had on breakfast.

(clears throat deliberately) “’Janice’ says: Good morning. I’m
sick of hearing that Māori need different treatment. If they don’t want to live
in our society, then maybe we should put them all on an island and leave them
to it.”

Male co-host: “Janice. That is LITERALLY what happened! That
is the history of our country. Last I checked, Māori WERE on an island, they
were left to it, and then Pākehā (Māori term for white New Zealanders) turned
up and look how that worked out. But thank you very much for that brilliant
insight. Goodness me. Unbelievable. Unbelievable, they actually-“

Female co-host: “Actually, you can’t even get angry, you
just actually need to laugh and then screw it up and put it under the desk.
Just when you thought-“

Male co-host: (mimicking letter) “’Put them all on an
island, leave them to it.’ Yeah. What a great idea that is Janice.

I really need “What a great idea that is, Janice.” to be a meme filled with those stupid complete cognitive dissonance bigoted statements.
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2hAKKIP:
tovakiin:

im kinkshaming
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2i45KLU:
kalamazoocockgoddess:

yesmissmori:

THINX Underwear:

Thoughtful underwear with hidden powers. For every pair purchased you fund 7 pads to a girl in need.

OH SHIT YOU GUYS THIS COMPANY IS MAKING UNDERWEAR THAT IS STAIN RESISTANT, ANTIMICROBIAL, AND WILL ABSORB UP TO 6 TEASPOONS OF LIQUID BUT STILL LOOKS FUCKING SEXY

AND DID I MENTION THIS PART:

For every pair of THINX you buy, you help one girl in the developing world stay in school by providing her with seven washable, reusable cloth pads.

AND WHY IS THAT SUCH A BIG DEAL? HERE’S WHY:

After doing some research, Agrawal says she found that more than 100 million girls in the developing world were missing a week of school because of their periods, and using things such as leaves, old rags, or plastic bags in the place of sanitary pads.

THE SIZES RUN FROM XS TO XXL AND THE PRICES ARE NOT INSANE, THEY’RE OBVIOUSLY HIGHER THAN THOSE 5 FOR $10 SALES AT TARGET BUT YOU WON’T HAVE TO THROW THEM OUT BECAUSE YOU MISCALCULATED YOUR FLOW AND BLED ALL OVER THEM BEFORE YOU COULD GET TO A BATHROOM

I’M SORRY FOR SHOUTING I’M JUST REALLY EXCITED ABOUT THIS

LIKE HOLY FUCKBASKET IT’S ABOUT DAMN TIME

Always reblog. Once i have money again, I’m buying a pair.
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2ygrolG:
gamerdogg:

gamerdogg:

amydentata:

cynixy:

snarksonomy:

mquester:

aliceinpunderland:

odditycollector:

trashy-prince:

sweetguts:

suddenlycomics:

nursemchurt:

dmh3000:

Every damn year. 

I need to learn how to draw a decent Batman pic.

So what you’re trying to say is that women people prefer well-drawn pictures of their favorite superheroes over really shitty indie comics about boobs?

Sounds right.

Are we supposed to feel sorry for the person whose humor comic featuring a disembodied pair of breasts on the cover is getting passed over?
Incredible.

this feels like it should be a parody but it isnt and that’s hilarious

maybe try not being sexist unfunny douchelords next time

HEY, WE DO A HUMOR COMIC ABOUT [SOMETHING THAT LOOKS EXTREMELY SEXIST] HEY WHERE ARE YOU GOING

No, no way is this a serious complaint (I said to myself). No one’s that un-self aware. This has got to be a parody about gross “indie” comics skeeving up the con atmosphere, and the schadenfreude we’re totally intended to feel at their failure.

So I went to the OP’s tumblr to check context and.

This was just supposed to be a comic about how hard it can be for the unknowns to find their audience. Anything else you see is your own interpretation of the page.

They are serious.

That is more hilarious than any punchline actually in the comic. I’m honestly crying with laughter right now.

wow cry me a THOUSAND tears about how hard it is for white men to get into the comics industry by drawing tits

I can think of very few female comic readers who wouldn’t choose the Green Lantern image over a comic with nothing but boobs on the cover :P If the OP wants female fans as their target audience, they need to make some changes or expect not to get any of their money.

Oh god… he edited the original post to “Apologies to anyone offended by the cover.”  … Not “Apologies, I made a really gross and alienating statement.”  He does this in another post, as well trying to justify it all.   /facedesk

Wow, this is a perfect example of the creative blind spots I’ve been talking about. This comic was not intended to be satire. The OP completely missed the significance of having just a pair of boobs on a magazine cover and its effect on a female audience. In the OP’s own words:
“In the original script I said there was a comic being held up without specifying what was on it, so Paul just drew a pair of breasts and I put the page up because at the time I saw nothing wrong with it, and when I put it on tumblr, the unfortunate implications never crossed my mind until they were pointed out to me.”

There was no sexist intent behind this comic (or clever expose of sexism), but this clearly illustrates how so much offensive content gets released in comics, games, and other media. It looks okay to the people making it.This is why we need women, PoC, and LGBT people in industries that are dominated by one POV. We need to start viewing content through more than one lens.
I talk about it at length HERE.

(emphasis mine)

Complete and uncensored, the reason many people take issue with the comics world (and other media dominated by homogenous culture). Straight from the horse’s mouth, unintentionally.

I had to read that comic three times to believe it.

This deserves a second reblog.
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2i53WlD:
trilllizard420:

dutchster:

aggressive beans

YOU FOOL

YOU HAVE ACTIVATED

MY

TRAP BEANS
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2wO9Vhw:
thebibliosphere:

lierdumoa:

Saw this post about straight dudes feeling emasculated at the thought of taking their wife’s last name, and it gave me a sudden craving for fantasy media where some dude is called Leopold THE DESTROYER or some shit and there are all these rumors going around about how he got his moniker, all these made up stories about how he must have razed a village to the ground or slayed 12 dragons or some shit and it turns out he just took his wife’s last name.

“What was your name before?”

“Meadowalker.”

“…”

“I miss it sometimes y’know, but eh,” he smiles wistfully as he looks over to where his wife is sharpening her sword. “What can you do when you marry for love.”
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2yhBvXN:
nuevayor:

x
(Your picture was not posted)

Profile

gravityeyelids: (Default)
Rachel

April 2019

S M T W T F S
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 05:05 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios