Nov. 20th, 2018

gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2Fv6QLZ

altruisticartistry:

For those unaware because staff isn’t saying it

Tumblr was deemed too full of inappropriate content to be allowed to be downloaded from the app store.

It has this “inappropriate” problem because of rampant porn ad bot accounts. The old solutions were bots to detect image sets with nsfw content, the automatically enabled safe mode, tag filtering for mobile, and wide takedowns of nsfw bots based on words used (that’s why their messages are full of numbers and symbols, to evade this)

Tumblr released their own bot supposedly capable of wiping the ad bots, but it’s taking down many popular blogs, possibly due to sheer amounts of posting or sheer amounts of ad bots in their notes. This bot was likely rushed to be put out.

You are more likely to be accidentally flagged if you post external links, as well. If your acct is taken down you CAN get it back, but it’s a pain. E-mail tumblr support for help with this. It takes down side blogs with the main ones.

I’ll be halting posts for about a week or until this problem is fixed.
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2qULqxJ

kawacy:

She waited and listened.
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2FxkmPe

iwritevictuuri:

Here’s the thing about the air nomads.

I introduced a friend to ATLA a few nights ago, and they had only
known two things about the entire show: the cabbage meme, and that Aang
apparently wants to ride every large and dangerous animal he can
possibly find. We got through the first five or so episodes, and my
friend noted that Aang is exactly what a 12-year-old would be like if
given godlike powers, and that this is literally just what he
could do with airbending. He can’t even wield any of the other elements,
and he’s one of the most powerful people on the planet, because he’s an
airbender.

And that got me thinking.

This snippet from Bitter Work is one of the few pieces of concrete information we get about the airbenders, at least in ATLA. Iroh is explaining to Zuko how all four of the elements connect to the world and to each other.

Fire is the element of power, of desire and will, of ambition and the ability to see it through. Power is crucial to the world; without it, there’s no drive, no momentum, no push. But fire can easily grow out of control and become dangerous; it can become unpredictable, unless it is nurtured and watched and structured.

Earth is the element of substance, persistence, and enduring. Earth is strong, consistent, and blunt. It can construct things with a sense of permanence; a house, a town, a walled city. But earth is also stubborn; it’s liable to get stuck, dig in, and stay put even when it’s best to move on.

Water is the element of change, of adaptation, of movement. Water is incredibly powerful both as a liquid and a solid; it will flow and redirect. But it also will change, even when you don’t want it to; ice will melt, liquid will evaporate. A life dedicated to change necessarily involves constant movement, never putting down roots, never letting yourself become too comfortable.

We see only a few flashbacks to Aang’s life in the temples, and we get a sense of who he was and what kind of upbringing he had.

This is a preteen with the power to fucking fly. He’s got no fear of falling, and a much reduced fear of death. There’s a reason why the sages avoid telling the new avatar their status until they turn sixteen; could you imagine a firebender, at twelve years old, learning that they were going to be the most powerful person in the whole world? Depending on that child, that could go so badly.

But the thing about Aang, and the thing about the Air Nomads, is that they were part of the world too. They contributed to the balance, and then they were all but wiped out by Sozin. What was lost, there? Was it freedom? Yes, but I think there’s something else too, and it’s just yet another piece of the utter brilliance of the worldbuilding of ATLA.

To recap: we have power to push us forward; we have stability to keep us strong; we have change to keep us moving.

And then we have this guy.

The air nomads brought fun to the world. They brought a very literal sense of lightheartedness.

Sozin saw this as a weakness. I think a lot of the world did, in ATLA. Why do the Air Nomads bother, right? They’re just up there in their temples, playing games, baking pies in order to throw them as a gag. As Iroh said above, they had pretty great senses of humour, and they didn’t take themselves too seriously.

But that’s a huge part of having a world of balance and peace.

It’s not just about power, or might, or the ability to adapt. You can have all of those, but you also need fun. You need the ability to be vulnerable, to have no ambitions beyond just having a good day. You need to be able to embrace silliness, to nurture play, to have that space where a very specific kind of emotional growth can occur. Fun makes a hard life a little easier. Fun makes your own mortality a little less frightening to grasp. Fun is the spaces in between, that can’t be measured by money or military might. Fun is what nurtures imagination, allows you to see a situation in a whole new light, to find new solutions to problems previously considered impossible.

Fun is what makes a stranger into a friend, rather than an enemy.

Fun helps you see past your differences.

Fun is what fuels curiosity and openmindedness.

Fun is the first thing to die in a war.
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2DO3Fxh

snakegay:

2015: glitch that basically let people fuck with post formatting and everything looked like this

2018: staff ignored the spambot problem for like years at this point and the app was removed from the app store as a result of the site being utterly laden with spambots, which finally motivated them to do something about it, resulting in a hastily made protocol to detect bots failing and deleting half of the sites userbase
(Your picture was not posted)

JESUS TEA

Nov. 20th, 2018 12:40 am
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2qWR4Q0

deadcatwithaflamethrower:

misty-anne:

gallusrostromegalus:

notbrianna:

gallusrostromegalus:

snowfox102:

gallusrostromegalus:

So it’s Flu Season again, and this recipe for Tea To Fix What Ails You was given to me by a Christian friend, and I’ve taken to calling it JESUS TEA due to it’s miraculous properties.  Even though it, technically, contains no tea.  This tea is as caffinie-free as anything processed in a US plant can get, but be sure to check the provenance and all ingredients in case of allergies.

You will Need:

A Bigass Pot, becuase this is something you make in large quantities

working stovetop

those lil cloth sachets you use for wassail/empty teabags/those lil reuseable loose-leaf tea steepers.

Recipe:

about a quart of water

1 cup apple cider

about half a lemon’s worth of juice

a shitwhack of honey- try to get as local as possible and generally the less-processed the better if you want to build a resistance to local allergens. If you have allergy concerns or don’t like the taste of honey, go ahead and use more processed stuff/another sweetener instead.

three tablespoons/three bags chamomile tea

three tablespoons/three bags rooibos tea

teaspoon crushed cloves

1 cinnamon stick (more if you like it spicier)

¼ tsp nutmeg

1/8 tsp cayenne or white pepper

Bring water to a simmer in the pot.  Add the chamomile, rooibos and spices to steep about 4-5 minutes or longer if you like tea-flavored tar which given you have the flu you probably do.  Add Cider, Lemon Juice and Honey until dissolved.  Drink all of this in the course of an hour to stay hydrated, make more pots as needed or until you pass out. 

FOR MAXIMUM EFFECTIVENESS: gargle warm salt water first for as long as you can, it’ll break up the mucus in your throat and soothe the soreness.

This stuff is hecking delicious, and my dad claims it cured his cold. I’ve taken to drinking it just because it tastes good! Thank you for sharing! :D I also found that you can freeze this stuff in convenient single serving sizes, ready to be heated in the microwave when you don’t have enough spoons to make it fresh. Granted fresh is usually best for most food and drinks, but it’s still good.

I also calculated a single serving version, which I’m putting here in case anyone wants to make it that way:

1 cup hot water

¼ cup apple cider (or more, I prefer 1/3 cup)

1 tbsp honey (or more, to taste)

a dash of lemon juice

½ tsp spice mixture

1 ½ tbsp tea mixture

Mix the spices together in one container, and mix the two kinds of tea together in another. Measure out of these the above amounts. (Don’t try to store the two things together, the spices will sink to the bottom and you won’t get the right measurements.)

Use a tea infuser/tea bag/cheesecloth/whatever to keep the herb bits from floating off into your drink. Steep for the usual 4-5 minutes, then add the cider, honey, and lemon.

Side note: ground cloves is cheaper for me so I use ½ tsp of that instead of 1 of whole. I also like cinnamon a lot so I use ¼ tsp ground cinnamon instead of a stick (also sticks are really expensive here). If you use a stick, break it into little pieces. The downside of ground cinnamon is that it kind of congeals if you don’t stir it periodically, so keep a spoon handy as you drink.

Since people have been asking for this (I guess the flu/common cold is going around agian), have it again, NOW WITH SINGLE SERVING SIZE, THANK YOU @snowfox102  for doing the math for me!

Is it possible to substitute the chamomile for something else?

Pretty much any herbal tea but mint will work?  Rose hip’s good, or you can just double the rooibos. You can even put in black or green tea.  I don’t becuase those both have caffiene and I want to be awake as little as possible when I’m sick.  

@deadcatwithaflamethrower for the sick-pile.

Tis the season.
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2Fv7Csn

unjmportant:

snake……… on………… meeeee………… (snake on me)

snake…… meeeee…….. OOOOOOON (SNAKE ON ME)
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2OQ7x1X

chasekip:

Honestly love how much thought was put into each and every pokemons walking animation

From slower pokemon like Slowpoke getting left behind to Porygon glitching out as it hovers along they all look exactly how I imagined them as a kid.

Say what you want about the game as a whole but I think we can all agree that following pokemon is great and deserves to be in every game
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2AaVM0u

cutegirloftheday:

The Cute Girl of the Day is D’arcy Carden!
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2BiWISc

turnipfritters:
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2zkcqeD

catsbeaversandducks:

Via JellyBean Cosplay
(Your picture was not posted)

Photo

Nov. 20th, 2018 12:45 pm
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2FH0itY
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2FuU7Zx

chelonianmobile:

curlicuecal:

pengychan:

nevaehtyler:

His name is Steven Udotong.

Imagine taking courses to write effective headlines and then see people who don’t know shit trying to be snarky online.

Guys. For the billionth time. Headlines need to give as much relevant details as possible while still being short enough to be read at a glance or almost, and get people to read the rest. Unless the article is about someone well-known enough that we can safely assume the reader will recognize them, first names do not go in headlines. 

It is not about refusing to write the names of minorities in headlines. It is literally the first thing you’re taught when it comes to writing them.

On the other hand, just look how much funnier headlines could be if we adopted this policy

Seriously, do people think the headline is literally all that exists? There’s a whole article underneath it, you know!
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2FyLGN2

deadmomjokes:

katiethecumberbabe:

muldertorture:

sarahsupastar:

asuna-tan:

deadhpool:

the curse of the black pearl vs at world’s end

I love this because you have Elizabeth who couldn’t even defend herself in the first one to becoming this master sword fighter and leader of ALL pirates. You watch Will who was just this angsty little brat head over heels for Elizabeth become this grown man who faced all his demons.

and then there’s Jack

“Elizabeth who couldn’t even defend herself”

Do you mean…

Elizabeth who improvised a weapon when pirates invaded her bedroom

Elizabeth who could have run for the exits but instead went straight for the swords

Elizabeth who demanded to speak with a pirate captain and then used the leverage she had to get him to agree to her demands

Elizabeth who CAME AT BARBOSSA WITH A GODDAMN KNIFE and then fucking STABBED HIM when she couldn’t get away

Elizabeth who was trapped on a tiny island with nothing but crates of rum and a man she couldn’t stand and who used those supplies to summon a rescue party for herself

Elizabeth who made a rope out of sheets and climbed down the back of a ship to save the day herself when no one would listen to her about how dangerous the pirates were

Elizabeth who snuck onto the Black Pearl, knocked two cursed pirates straight off their ship, and rescued Jack’s entire crew

Elizabeth who rowed straight back into danger without any backup instead of running away with everyone else

Elizabeth who came to Will’s rescue with a blunt object and a one-liner

Elizabeth who proceeded to team up with Will to take down all the remaining pirates in the cave

Elizabeth who – without being asked or told what was going on – faked unconsciousness to create a distraction for Will’s rescue of Jack

Elizabeth who stepped in front of a ring of muskets, successfully protecting Jack and Will from being shot or captured

Elizabeth may have learned some impressive sword tricks in the later movies, but she was a Badass from day one.

preach

Elizabeth Swann is a queen.
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2DLMz2Y

hp-headcanons-and-more:

- Let’s start with the most obvious point : their age.

All actors who play characters from the Marauders’ era are way too old. Lily and James died at the age of 21 but in Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone, Geraldine Somerville and Adrian Rawlins were respectively 34 and 41 years old.

Having older actors play Harry’s parents totally negates the fact that they were just kids when they died (and also that they were just kids when they had Harry, and considering that they were in the middle of a war, Harry was most certainly an accident, but let’s not get into that right now). It makes their death less tragic, plus it’s just not accurate ok.

These guys are also way too old

Anyone who attended Hogwarts at the same time as James and Lily would have been in their 30s during Harry’s years. That’s just not the case of Alan Rickman, Gary Oldman, David Thewlis and Timothy Spall. Again, the whole tragedy of their lives revolves around the fact that they never got to grow old (or even to grow up in Sirius’ case, but again, that’s another issue/theory). Snape was only 38 when he died, but Alan Rickman was 65 in Deathly Hallows part 2. Now, I love Alan Rickman’s portrayal of Snape as much as the next person, but this age thing still bothers me a lot.

- Another very obvious point : Lily’s eyes

I mean, how do you even screw up so badly? How many times is it mentioned that Lily had green eyes, just like Harry’s? First of all, neither Harry nor the various actresses who played Lily had green eyes, but they hired an actress to play young Lily whose eyes didn’t even match Daniel Radcliffe’s?

I know the fandom has been talking about this for ages, and we should all have moved on by now, but it’s such an important part of the story, I don’t think I can ever get over it.

- On to point number 3 : THIS

James Potter was indeed on the Gryffindor Quidditch team, but certainly not in 1970, as he attended Hogwarts from 1971 to 1979, and as a Chaser, NOT a Seeker.

- Should we even talk about this?

First of all, those two actors look nothing alike, and second of all, there is no way in hell that this is what James Potter looked like. Everything, from his hair (James is supposed to have dark, messy hair) to his face is off. I don’t know who that is but it’s not James Potter.

- Now, onto a less obvious point : the Marauder’s Map.

I’m sure we all have wondered, at some point or another, why the hell Fred and George never noticed Peter Pettigrew on the map. After all, the name would have been following Percy, and then Ron around all the time.

Well, I do have a theory as to why Peter’s name would not have appeared on the map, but the movies ruined that.

Let me explain. In the movie, Harry sees Peter Pettigrew’s name on the map, but in the book, the only person who sees Peter’s name is Remus.

My theory is that the Marauders, when they made the map, made it so that no one could see their names on it, other than the Marauders themselves. That way, if it fell into the wrong hands (say, a professor’s, or Snape’s), that person couldn’t use it to know their whereabouts. But the other Marauders could see their friends’ names so they always knew where to find each other.

That would explain why Remus was able to see Peter on the map, but Fred and George never noticed the man who literally slept in the same bed as their brother.

Again, since Harry sees Peter on the map in the movie, that theory can no longer be applied, and the plot hole remains.

- Finally, my last, and most important point :

The Marauders’ story is literally NEVER talked about in the movies?? Nowhere does it say that Moony, Wormtail, Padfoot and Prongs were in fact Remus, Peter, Sirius and James. Nowhere does it say that THEY were the Marauders. Nowhere does it say how or why they became animagi. They don’t talk about the Prank, or why the Whomping Willow was planted, or where the Shrieking Shack got its reputation as a haunted house. Why is Harry’s Patronus a stag? Who tf knows. Someone who never read the books would probably be very confused about the whole Marauders thing, because there. is. literally. nothing. about. them. in. the. movies.

(I’m mad.)
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2RYTads

thechurchillreview:

Today is Transgender Day of Remembrance when we honor the memory of those whose lives were lost in acts of anti-transgender violence.
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2A7GLwC

poetrylesbian:

poetrylesbian:

moodboard for when you’re stuck in a conversation with a man and are half-heartedly pretending to be interested while desperately figuring out how to escape and trying not to say anything that might encourage him

ladies…. im so sorry
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2DyjGXc

greymantledlady:

holmesianscholar:

jukeboxemcsa:

optimysticals:

timemachineyeah:

saywhatjessie:

tattooedsiren:

gvorgeblagden:

batcii:

how did jk manage to write ootp and not come to the conclusion that the only career w any true meaning for harry james potter was as a goddamn professor at hogwarts like how do u write the da scenes and say “nah he’d want to be a wizard cop”

#just let him dress in warm sweaters and have tea with neville in the staff room and help first years #harry james potter as hogwarts longest serving defense against the dark arts teacher fucking fight me (@batcii)

#but it would be so perfect??? #bc it would help normalize his life so much #like there would just be this generation of kids who are like #‘ugh who cares that he killed the dark lord he gAVE US HOMEWORK OVER BREAK’ #like the beginning of every year there would be the new first years who would freak out a little #but then it would calm down #and most of the students would literally forget #until like clockwork the fifth years would have their history of magic class on the second war #and they’d all show up to DADA looking a little awestruck and everyone would be extra quiet #and harry would give this kind of annoyed sigh—except it’s fake bc he TOTALLY knew this was coming #bc binns is a bro and he totally gives him a heads up every year #and harry wouldn’t have any lesson plans for the day and instead he would just sit at the front of the room and answer everyone’s questions #but otherwise everyone would just be like ‘professor potter!! i can’t get my patronus to work! help me!’ #and like they’d go home at the end of the year or for break and their parents—who ARE still starstruck by harry james potter #would pester their kids with questions#and the kids would just be like ‘merlin i don’t know?? potter’s such a huge dork you should hear him talk about proper wand movements’ #but they would all love him #and he would feel safe and normal and utterly accepted #AND I NEED THIS IN MY LIFE (via @cinematicnomad)

Not to mention it would be an ultimate Fuck You to Voldemort, who put a curse on the teaching position in the first place.

Like, Jo, I don’t want to tell you how to do your job, but COME ON

I already queued this but also, you do this, but still have Ginny become a famous Quidditch player. Imagine the first time Harry gets called “Ginny’s husband” before “the boy who lived” or “the chosen one.” Imagine how fucking pleased he’d be.

Imagine the first time a student comes up to him looking starry-eyed and Harry’s thinking “Oh no” because he doesn’t want to talk about Voldemort or the war but instead this little eleven year old is like “ARE YOU REALLY MARRIED TO WEASLEY FROM THE HOLLYHEAD HARPIES???!?? WHAT’S SHE LIKE?” and he’s like “oh thank god” because he could talk about Ginny all day. 

Yes. Good.

Actually, all three of them should have become professors. Hermione would have become Headmistress, of course–youngest Headmistress of Hogwarts ever, and the only one willing to turn the portraits of her predecessors to the wall if they gave her too much lip about her efforts to modernize the curriculum. (She probably started as Transfiguration professor after McGonagall became Headmistress, but it wouldn’t surprise me if McGonagall was grooming her for the Headmistress job all along.)

And Ron took over as flying instructor for Professor Hooch; everyone thinks he’s an easy A because he’s so mellow and silly and hands out candy for good performances and his brother and sister sometimes visit the class to show off some of their old Quidditch moves and give away Wizard Wheezes to the best fliers, and it’s not until they talk to someone else from a different school or era that they realize that flying is actually really difficult to learn and Ron just found ways to slip all the teaching in under the fun so that they didn’t even notice. Things that seemed like silly tricks or goofy jokes turned out to be mnemonics for complex maneuvers, and of course nobody ever wanted to skip a class under his tutelage.

thisTHIS

Okay all other canon epilogues can go home, this is the best.
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2QaY6yL

shialablunt:

me, in september when the leaves started changing and the weather was a little cooler: seasonal depression WHOM??????? i am healthy and HAPPY and i LOVE fall! pumpkin spice lattes yas! what was i THINKING? i’m remembering it as worse than it was in years past!!

me, 8 days into november when its freezing and getting dark at 5pm: ohhhhhhhhhhhhhh. oh oh oh OH. oh ya………
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2S3L1EF

elierlick:

I would rather see 1000 trans people easily access healthcare and 1 person regret transitioning than 1000 trans people having to endure gatekeeping processes with nobody regretting it.
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2DMD4AP

xxfangirlanonymousxx:

saxifraga-x-urbium:

baneismydragon:

celticpyro:

Now I want to get married just so I can do this.

If I were a billionaire I would absolutely tell my secretary to send wedding gifts to anyone who sent me an invite regardless of if I knew them, because- A. I know how expensive that nonsense is. B. I would be a billionaire and when else am I gonna do with that much money? Honestly… and C. I would totally make showing up at random weddings with crazy awesome gifts my new stress relief hobby. “Congratulations random strangers! I admire your daring and stratigic planning. Here’s that 700$ tea set you wanted but assumed no one would ever buy.”

Do you even have to be getting married

Are they gonna check

Damn it sure is
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2QcHExS

yesterdaysprint:

From Vanity Fair’s Dictionary for the Motion Pictures, March 1922
(Your picture was not posted)

Photo

Nov. 20th, 2018 08:31 pm
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2KnfhaM
(Your picture was not posted)

Profile

gravityeyelids: (Default)
Rachel

April 2019

S M T W T F S
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 05:57 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios