Nov. 18th, 2018

gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2qTxfJ2

hundondestiny:

japanesebonustrack:

queereyegifs:

x

“i can’t do simple hygiene bc im depressed” that’s easy babe! just do simple hygiene

Y’all always have to wallow in your misery instead of considering maybe, just maybe, the encouragement people like this give is just telling people to do one, easy thing instead of worrying about a whole routine. Can’t make yourself shower? That’s fine, just brush your teeth. Don’t have the energy to do your hair? Okay, just brush your teeth.

Making 1 small change that can start improving your mood leads to other small changes. When I couldn’t make myself shower I would make sure I changed underwear every day. And then I started using baby wipes to keep myself fresh. And then I worked my way back to trying to take showers every day. My record might not be perfect but I’m getting better.

It’s really unhealthy to keep the mindset that anyone who isn’t miserable and suffering under their mental illness or emotional problems doesn’t know what they’re talking about. Maybe they’ve just grown to learn how to love and care for themselves in spite of what they’re going through.
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2QRzJmR

bisexualr2d2:

These three photos give off distinct but powerful gay vibes
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2PAErJ1

roachpatrol:

rainbowbarnacle:

xploren:

My cousin, ashamed after building a chair from IKEA.

Oh god I feel terrible for cackling at this.

Help every time I stop laughing I just look at that fucked up chair again. 
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2QRGogO

corvidsgrace:

bibarrybluejeans:

roachpatrol:

what continuously amazes me about the mcelroys is that justin looks like a gay elf, and travis looks like a portland barista who takes regular business trips to narnia. they both look like weird, cool, funny guys. but then griffin looks like if you hit ‘random’ on a character generator for a game exclusively about tax accountants. he looks like he was born with a polo shirt on. he looks like both his first and last names are jeff. he looks like he organizes socks for fun, and then he opens his mouth and says something funny enough that you rupture all your internal organs laughing about it. it’s incredible.  

i just want to say that the first time i saw griffin in the wwe monster factory video (i think), i was floored. i couldn’t believe my eyes. he was exactly like op says and i was not prepared for that at all and i was unable to process anything for days
(Your picture was not posted)

Photo

Nov. 18th, 2018 05:19 am
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2PC7s6Y
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2A0MTH2

gayreinhardt:

someone cover me w a glass and push a piece of paper under me in order to safely take me outside
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2TlhlEt

gasp-theenemy:

I’ve been thinking about this for the last half-hour and am glad to have it out of my system.
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2A16czH

ginnyvos:

sky-blue-phoenix:

taptaptapping-on-the-glass:

deluxetrashqueen:

Daily reminder that “Missing Person” posts are a common and often effective method that abusers use to find their victims that have run away from them. Also used to find people in the witness protection program.  

If you see a “missing person” post with a number that is not just 911 on it, be very wary. And if you do see someone who is supposedly missing, call the police, NOT the number provided on the post. I trust the police as little as anyone but they’ll at least be able to tell you if that person is actually missing and it has less of a chance of giving information to a possible abuser. 

A couple of red flags I’ve noticed:

Abusers claiming their victims are mentally ill or schizophrenic, to explain why they might not want to come back

Abusers giving any excuse to explain why their victims may not come back really

Abusers telling you not to approach their victims if you see them, or limit your communication with them

Abusers telling you not to mention them to their victims at all

Abusers claiming that their victims aren’t safe with their family or friends

Abusers claiming their victims are being threatened away from them

(Feel free to add on)

Add-ons to the list of red flags from my mother, a psychologist who has worked with victims of domestic abuse:

Abusers claiming their victim has a history of self-harm that leaves bruises is always a red flag (except in the case of autistic children, but even then, call 911, not the abuser)

Abusers claiming their (POC) victim doesn’t understand English and so you shouldn’t try to communicate with them/trust anything they say is not uncommon for human traffickers

Abusers claiming their victim has a history of making things up for attention or to get their way, tacitly implying you shouldn’t listen to them when they express fear or disclose their abusive situation to you

Posters lacking a last name are inherently not to be trusted. The lack of a surname is there to keep you from looking the person up in other databases and finding out they’ve been listed as missing by their family/the police.

Posters that put any character smears - mental illness, drug use, etc. - out about the victim are trying to make you predisposed to not communicating with or trusting the victim so you won’t believe anything they say. Treat this as a flashing neon red flag and call the police.

My mother would also like to note that taking a picture of the poster or tearing it down and turning it in to police can be very useful to them when they’re trying to build cases against abusers so if that’s at all possible for you, by all means do it.

As someone who’s always had foster brothers and sisters, this is not only true for adults, but absolutely true for children as well. Sometimes kids are put into ‘secret placement’ in foster care to protect the child and the foster family they’re placed with. We’ve legit had parents find out where we live and turn up on our doorstep with guns. We’ve also had parents simply turn up at school, pick up their kids and flee the country.

If you work in the education system, or some other system that deals with information, be very aware of who you give information to. Are you on the phone? Don’t give out any information unless you can prove with 100% certainty that this person is who they say they are. Even if they are the parent, make sure they’re also the legal guardian. Even if they have a sad story about how they’re never allowed to see the kids through no fault of their own, even if it’s true, don’t give out information. Those rules are there for a reason and that reason is to protect kids from their abusers. This seems ridiculous and tedious and bureaucratic and in most cases it is, but for the sake of that 1 in 10.000th case that it’s true, please be careful.

Red flags:

- Parents who don’t know their child’s address or phone number

- Parents who make degrading remarks about their child’s primary care giver

- Parents who make degrading remarks about their child

- Parents who are looking for more than one of their kids

- Parents who are demanding access to their kid’s email account

- The child is in foster care or lives in a halfway house or similar institution

- The parent paints themselves as a victim.

Yes, not all foster care placement is handled correctly and sometimes mistakes are made, but that decision is not up to you. You don’t know all the facts. Many abusers, parents or otherwise, are clever, charismatic, manipulative assholes that get off on power trips but can come off as completely normal and trustworthy. Far more so than their victims.

Please help protect those victims.
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2S2SjIV

quinn-silversmith:

lyssalovescookies:

flailmorpho:

wastelandbabe:

lowbutt:

MY SCIENCE TEACHER CAUGHT THE TABLE ON FIRE AND HES JUST STARING AT IT

I LOVE SCIENCE TEACHERS

I’M SORRY BUT HOW BADLY DID HE FUCK UP READING HIS CALIPER?

#my environmental science teacher was demonstrating how pumice can float#so she just went around the room dropping them into people’s water bottles#but one of them didn’t float#so then she lit a match and dropped it into the bottle#and it blew up#that’s how we found out that the kid was drinking alcohol at school x

Teacher: … “So to demonstrate how pumice floats, I’m gonna drop it into some of your bottles - don’t worry, it’s non toxic.” 

Goes around, dropping pumice into bottles: Splish, Splish, Splish, clink.

Teacher:….
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2DJLVmF

rocks-fall-everyone-dies:

modern horror story: a single 200 chapter fic on ao3 summarized as a “collection of drabbles.” it is tagged for 200 different fandoms and every single character who so much as breathes in any of the chapters. it takes you an hour to scroll past. it is always at the top of your search results because it updates three times a week.
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2TorHmV

dangerously-human:

spillybun:

Boy ain’t that the truth

The biggest of moods
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2A0VCc4

lazzchan:

satyinepu:

rae-napier:

petermorwood:

unbossed:

boonbucks-city-beach:

crows-cats-and-cackles:

grossrabbit:

grossrabbit:

fucked up how cooking and baking from scratch is viewed as a luxury…..like baking a loaf of bread or whatever is seen as something that only people with money/time can do. I’m not sure why capitalism decided to sell us the idea that we can’t make our own damn food bc it’s a special expensive thing that’s exclusive to wealthy retirees but it’s stupid as hell and it makes me angry

bread takes like max 4 ingredients counting water and sure it takes a couple hours but 80% of that is just waiting around while it does the thing and you can do other things while it’s rising/baking

plus im not gonna say baking cured my depression bc it didn’t but man is it hard to feel down when you’re eating slices of fresh bread you just made yourself. feels like everything’s gonna be a little more ok than you thought. it’s good.

bread is amazing and it’s also been sold to us as something really hard to make? Every time I tell someone I made a loaf of bread I get reactions like “you made it yourself???” and “do you have a bread machine then?”I haven’t touched a bread machine in probably 10 years. You CAN make your own bread, folks, and it’s actually pretty cheap to do so. I believe the most expensive thing I needed for it was the jar of yeast. It was about $6 at the grocery store and lasted me MONTHS (just keep it in the fridge.) The packets are even cheaper.destroy capitalism. bake your own bread.

You can also make your own yeast by making a sourdough starter, so that cuts cost even more.

But you have to feed the starter daily/weekly and that means it grows quickly, but there are tons of recipes online for what to do with your excess starter. Cookies, pretzels, crackers, pancakes, waffles, you name it!!

Here’s a link to The Home Baking Association’s site. It has recipes and tips.

Make it even easier - “No-Knead Bread”. All YOU do is mix the ingredients together and wait until it’s time to heat the oven. The yeast does all the rest.

Here’s @dduane​’s first take on it and the finished product. We’ve made even more photogenic batches since.

Kneading is easy as well; either let your machine do it, or if you don’t want to or don’t have one, get hands-on. It’s like mixing two colours of Plasticine to make a third. Flatten, stretch, fold, half-turn, repeat - it takes about 10 minutes - until the gloopy conglomeration of flour, yeast, salt and water that clings to your hands at the beginning, becomes a compact ball that doesn’t stick to things and feels silky-smooth.

Here’s what before and after look like.

My Mum used to say that if you were feeling out of sorts with someone, it was good to
make bread because you could transfer your annoyance into kneading the
dough REALLY WELL, and both you and the bread would be better for it.

Then you put it into a bowl, cover it with cling-film and let it rise until it doubles in size, turn it out and “knock it back” (more kneading, until it’s getting back to the size it started, this means there won’t be huge “is something living in here?” holes in the bread), put it into your loaf-tin or whatever - we’ve used a regular oblong tin, a rectangular Pullman tin with a lid, a small glass casserole, an earthenware chicken roaster…

You can even use a clean terracotta flowerpot.

Let the dough rise again until it’s high enough to look like an unbaked but otherwise real loaf, then pop it in the preheated oven. On average we give ours 180°C / 355°F for 45-50 minutes. YM (and oven) MV.

Here’s some of our bread…

Here’s our default bread recipe - it takes about 3-4 hours from flour jar to cutting board depending on climate (warmer is faster) most of which is rise time and baking; hands-on mixing, kneading and knocking-back is about 20 minutes, tops, and less if using a mixer.

Here ( or indeed any of the other pics) is the finished product. This one was given an egg-wash to make it look glossy and keep the poppy-seeds in place; mostly we don’t bother with that or the slash down the middle, but all the extras were intentional as a “ready for my close-up” glamour shot.

I think any shop would be happy to have something this good-looking on their shelf.

We’re happy to have it on our table.

Even if your first attempts don’t work out quite as well as you hope, you can always make something like this…

can we have more posts like this in future please? this is really useful and could help those who are struggling

…it’s not hard?………shit….I always thought it was
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2TnKlve

beetledrink:

are you REALLY a tumblr user if you don’t see a post on your dash filled with misinformation presented in a hostile manner like youre the idiot for not knowing these 100% bullshit lies at least once a day and have to physically restrain yourself from starting shit with the OP
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2DrpaTE

andysambergstan:

ANGELS
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2QajWSO

quart-z:

You could literally tell me you like me and I would still not understand
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2Q4pvSN

reytatouille:

Portrait of Beauregard from Critical Role !
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2DKF906

class-tomorrow:

the sawbones intro: nothing the hosts say should be taken as medical advice or opinion

sawbones: wear SUNSCREEN!!! get your fucking VACCINES!!! homeopathy is FAKE go talk to your DOCTOR!!
(Your picture was not posted)

Photo

Nov. 18th, 2018 04:10 pm
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2Kgx2sA
(Your picture was not posted)

Photo

Nov. 18th, 2018 04:10 pm
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2Bdsctc
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2KbQ2Zb

slimetony:

action-faust:

slimetony:

the-indomitable-joeman:

slimetony:

gokucum69:

slimetony:

glowdeer:

slimetony:

in the future everying is going to look all green and fuzzy like youre wearing night vision goggles

is it because everyone’s wearing night vision goggles

In the future everyone has night vision goggles

wouldn’t that suck during the day time? the future sounds awful

we’re going to have much bigger problems

What problems randy?

The sun went out

Where’d it go?

The night vision goggle companies extinguished it to increase profit margins
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2BfMrGD

havanapitbull:

me when i get off a rollercoaster
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2TojrDp

couldneverbeme:

mostlysignssomeportents:

Yoshitaka Sakurada might not be Japan’s best pick for the cybersecurity portfolio: confused by a USB drive, he was  forced to admit he’d never even used a computer.

https://boingboing.net/2018/11/15/japans-new-cybersecurity-min.html

cunts never gunna get hacked is he then 
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2OQJDTK

thefingerfuckingfemalefury:

ex0skeletal:

Serpent and Toad + Swamp Thing (combined) for Drawlloween by Iren Horrors

GOTH WIFE GOALS
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2QR5JHJ

lezcatnoir:

luckyartisanllama:

georgiansuggestion:

take your carriage very slowly by your rival’s home, that she might see your latest hat

Eat your heart Catherine, you toad-eating hag.

Elizabeth, you must surely be aware that I am unable to view the roads from my apartments due to the vastness of my estate…
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2TmrsZH

optimysticals:

charlesdances:

Charles Dance fanboying about Dame Judi Dench and Dame Maggie Smith

Queens of Awesome
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2A2NvMh

vanilla-birdbrain:

abyssalthaumaturge:

critical-perspective:

cointelpro-plant:

Man found the stoplight cameras were activated during yellow lights and decided to cut the wires of it.

Florida Man: Chaotic evil.
New York Man: Chaotic good.

Holy shit. Nah dude look up the entire story, it’s INSANE.

The dude got arrested once before this for using a painter’s extension rod to point the stoplight cameras into the sky instead of cutting the wires. He didn’t cut the wires until AFTER he got out after being arrested the first time–which he did after posting facebook videos that prove that the stoplights are intentionally rigged to trick drivers into citations–the yellow lights at intersections with cameras only last THREE SECONDS, as opposed to the five seconds they last at other stoplights without cameras in the same county.

When he cut the camera cords, he reported his deeds to the news -himself,- and then politicians pressured the local police force into arresting him. The local police and sheriff deputies actually SUPPORT him for his actions because the lights have been killing innocent people! During his most recent arrest, one of the Sheriff’s Deputies actually -offered to bail him out-.

When he got home again after these incidents, there was a surveillance camera planted at his house BY THE GOVERNMENT to watch him! His reaction to being surveilled? He painted over the camera in America’s flat out fucking ballsiest “fuck you” to the gubmint I’ve ever heard of.

And it gets EVEN CRAZIER. After painting over the camera, suddenly this guy–his name is Stephen Ruth by the way–started GETTING ATTEMPTS ON HIS LIFE. He reports that a car intentionally tried to hit him in a head-on collision, and after talking about the car to his neighbors, they confirmed that the car in question (Or at least, one that was visibly identical, its occupants included) had been staking out his house! Somebody was legitimately trying to MURDER HIM over his discovery and his actions!

As a final insult to injury, Ruth pointed out that the VAST majority of the cameras were found SPECIFICALLY in lower-to-middle-class neighborhoods. As well, the victims of these rigged stoplights tried to go to the local news station to talk about the deaths of their family members that occurred from the rigging. Aaaand… The local station, “News12″, never aired their interviews.

Remember how I said that, after cutting the cables and calling the local news station, Ruth was arrested because of pressure from politicians? Get this: News12 is actually owned by CableVision, who PROVIDES INTERNET SERVICE TO THE CAMERAS. 

Whereas mister Ruth was only trying to help people and save lives, he’s been caught up in a full-blown fucking government conspiracy that’s out for his blood. This guy isn’t Robin Hood, he makes Robin Hood look like a -CHUMP-.

HOLY SHIT I HAVE A NEW FUCKING ROLE MODEL
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2TlZRaW

tiggymalvern:

nobodybetterhavethisoneoriswear:

durnesque-esque:

kropotkhristian:

Jeff Sessions was interrupted by a priest who just directly quoted Jesus at him. Jeff Sessions was speaking about not allowing refugees and immigrants into this country.

The priest was removed. Another religious leader stood up and defended the priest, and they were also removed.

Powerful video. Jesus loves that priest, and that priest knows Jesus.

The other minister is a Baptist pastor, Rev. Darrell Hamilton, who I went to school with at Wake Forest Divinity.

Jeff Sessions speech interrupted by Methodist, Baptist clergy - Religion News Service

Read more here

These two? This is true Christianity. This is how you practice your faith.

Poor Jeff Sessions. It really sucks to have people express their religious freedom by using religion to tell you what a horrible hypocrite you are, doesn’t it?
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2S0jMuF

wandaventham:

me doing math in high school:

me doing math now:
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2PDhk0y

corsolanite:

OMG YOUR BUDDY EEVEE OR PIKACHU CAN RIDE ON KANGASKHAN’S POUCH RIGHT NEXT TO ITS BABY!!!!!
(Your picture was not posted)

Profile

gravityeyelids: (Default)
Rachel

April 2019

S M T W T F S
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930    

Most Popular Tags

Page Summary

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 03:33 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios