Aug. 28th, 2018

gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2oeFxdt

aimmyarrowshigh:

stupidlullabies:

ladybubblegum:

nubianamy:

pilgrimkitty:

lil-miss-choc:

pilgrimkitty:

notalwaysweak:

carapace-cowl:

jujubiest:

I weirdly love that there are crotchety fandom elders around who say shit like “in my day, (insert fandom term) meant this specifically, but now you kids just use it to mean any old thing.”

It seriously gives fandom such a sense of heritage and family, like yes grandma, tell me more about how you had to write fic uphill both ways in the snow when you were my age.

I’m approaching crotchety old grandma.

No but this is me.

DRABBLES ARE EXACTLY 100 WORDS NO MORE NO LESS AND DON’T FUCKING TRY TO TELL ME OTHERWISE.

This is me also. A crackship is NOT the same as a rarepair and the two terms canNOT be used interchangeably.

YOU CAN ONLY HAVE ONE OTP.

It’s literally right there in the name. It is your ONE true pairing.

I get around this one by have one OTP for each fandom. It’s my OTP for that fandom.

I am a crotchety old fandom grandmother and I approve this message

the drabble thing irks me SO MUCH it makes me feel like an old lady yelling at kids on her lawn

#oh fandom #THE DRABBLE THING #DRABBLES ARE 100 WORDS #ONE GODDAMN HUNDRED WORDS EXACTLY #jfc that’s what made them such a fun and interesting challenge #was getting it to exactly 100 words #and the rush of FINALLY getting there after picking and poking #or the sheer dumb joy of nailing it within a word or two on the first shot #so you only had to do the most minor editing #do not give me a fucking 8000 word fic and call it a drabble #ThAT IS NOT A DRABBLE (via @wasoncedelight)

IF IT IS MORE THAN 100 WORDS IT IS A FICLET NOT A DRABBLE OMG WHY DON’T YOU JUST CALL IT A HAIKU WHILE YOU’RE AT IT???

‘Scuse you, I am the SPINSTER AUNT, not the crotchety grandma!
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2BTHh5w

yesterdaysprint:

yesterdaysprint:

The Baltimore Sun, Maryland, February 21, 1943

The Baltimore Sun, Maryland, February 21, 1943
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2MQXgWl

grammarmancer:

overherewiththequeers:

The worst tech support call I’ve ever had to deal with wasn’t even while working tech support. I was working at a video store, and someone couldn’t hook up a VCR.

To be fair– VCRs were a pain in the ass.  It wasn’t so much that it was difficult, per se, but it was awkward, and there were two different methods to do it, depending on your TV.  And most people could not tell you what kind of hookup their TVs had, because it was something you dealt with when you first got your TV and never looked at again.

So this guy rents a VCR, and I explain to him how it works.  This was the spiel:

“Okay, look on the back of your television, you’re either going to see a plug like this (points to coaxial port on VCR) or a set of screws.  Either way, it will be labeled ‘In from Antenna’ or ‘In from ant’ or just ‘ant.’  Anyway, if it’s a plug, you just attach this cable (point to cable).  If it’s two screws, you’ll need to loosen them and attach this adapter (point), and then you attach the cable to the adapter.  The other end of the cable connects to the VCR where it says ‘Out to TV’ (point to coax port).  Then you set your TV to channel three.  If it’s not clear, change it to four and flip this switch on the back of the VCR (point).”

See?  Not really COMPLICATED, but involved.  So the guy gets home, and he’s forgotten it all.  So I give him the spiel again, this time without pointing.

Forty-five minutes later, he calls back.  Still no luck.  I go through it again.

An hour later, he calls back again.  This time, I decide to go in the opposite direction.

“Okay, where is the cable connected?”

“On the back of the VCR, where it says out to TV, just like you said.”

“Good.  And the other end?”

“I taped it to the side of the television.”

AMAZING.
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2Npxq8R

hollowgen:

keelayjams:

A bowl of salad in the seat of a wheelchair rolling down the street unassisted

life is fragile and beautiful

MY CABBAGES!
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2PGMb8N

oh-little-owl:

whos-she-gonna-call:

Cards Against Humanity is hiring new writers and folks…………….. I’ve waited my entire life for this

Hire this person
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2BQrLaD

otherwindow:

toloveviceforitself:

otherwindow:

otherwindow:

i don’t know what’s cooler tbh: 

Demon horns being broken halos from when they were angels. 

Demons willingly grow their own halos, but never complete the circle to symbolize their rebellion against heaven’s strict order. 

In addition to the second one, angels are GIVEN their halos rather than earning them. Demons like Lucifer rebelled for freedom and individuality, thus demon horns all look different compared to an angel’s boring halo.

Horns are useful tools, but if you join them into a circle they become useless badges of authority.

And the thing about wearing a badge is that you become a symbol of someone else. You’re not you, you’re an extension of the entity whose authority you’re borrowing. You can’t be yourself until you ditch it

Here’s a visual representation of angels and demons.

I figure that as angels, their “horns” would glow when connected to become traditional halos. However, this blinds the angel with heavenly light, making the angel rely on God’s guidance.

Angels who break their halos become demons, and willingly grow their horns in obscure shapes so it won’t connect back into a halo. Because the halo no longer blinds them, demons can finally see but can no longer communicate with God for guidance – the light they once gave to heaven now belongs to them, hence demons being proficient with fire allowing them to see in the dark.

Extra notes on horns & halos:

Circular horns (Halos) are smooth and easy for God to “grab” like a chain.

Jagged horns are sharp to the touch and can pierce God.
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2My6JlO

tartecosplay:

prepare for trouble ✪ and make it double

Lydia: chelthulu
Edward: tartecosplay

Photo by @thesistersmischief on IG
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2PLkQSJ

morticious-delicious:

spell-bound-life:

Any of em if you throw em hard enough

This here’s my banishin’ rock. 
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2wk5ZXy

auberginesdonthavelimbs:

peppapigvevo:

roboboners:

ndiecity:

pizzaback:

“this is my custom fursuit, I had 30 neon-green wolves killed for it”

WHAT KIND OF FUCKING MILLIONAIRE IS MAKING FURSUITS OUT OF REAL FUR

“Cruella De Vil is a furry” is not the hot take I expected to see on my dash today, but I think it’s the one I deserve
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2LxtXmM

probablybadrpgideas:

A wolf werewolf. Every full moon it turns into another, different wolf and confuses the rest of its pack.
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2BVaEnN

jeinu:

Slide on into Kepler, they said.
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2oftVH0

theloa:

lucentgallivanter:

benfoldsone:

this is some horror movie shit

#Jesus is a reverse-Dracula #vis a vis appearing in photos

Examining the other evidence, we find:

Feeds other people his own blood

An affinity for crucifixes

Not only able to cross water but can also walk on it

Shows up uninvited in people’s houses
Can’t turn into a bat
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2olf5i5

bidonica:

kaijuno:

pitbullmabari:

cisphobiccommunistopinions:

congruentepitheton:

Small town culture is knowing that there are Old Folks with strange nicknames but never knowing the stories behind them.

Of course, I made the mistake of asking why everyone calls this one guy Brickaday and it turns out that he worked at a brickyard for 40 years, stealing exactly one brick every day and making no particular efforts to conceal the theft. Nobody thought anything of it until years later he was discovered to have built three houses.

His boss is said to have shrugged and made some remarks about the importance of coming up with a plan and sticking to it.

I‘m trying to arrange my face into an appropriate approximation of silent bafflement and failing miserably.

i appreciate brickaday

chaotic good

My grandpa once told me he worked with a guy called Scrappy at General Motors back in the 50s. Every few days he would wheelbarrow out metal shavings and the foreman was convinced he was stealing things and hiding them in the scrap metal to get it out of the factory. But every time they’d go through the scrap they’d find nothing. He was stealing the wheelbarrows.

One of my late grandfather’s friends was called Salami because he used to steal salami and cured meats so I’m seeing a pattern here
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2NrEdid

bob-belcher:

If Congress was your co-worker, starring Chris Pine.
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2PLGqGY

abandonedandurbex:

Vines creeping in through an old skylight in the Verrière de chateau. [1600 x 1067] [OS].
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2NxW4E4

caragh:

sashayed:

spacenoot:

beldaran:

jumpingjacktrash:

you go, you beautiful person. you fuckin go.

YES FUCK YES

No ok but I actually met him. Several of my colleagues and students were hired to do some assessments for several manmade and natural ponds on his property. He wanted to maintain them with several different fish populations so that kids nearby could fish and have a good time.

While we were working he rode up in his four wheeler with a terrified look on his face. I never thought I would see a former football player on the verge of tears, but boy howdy he nearly was. Several of us stop what we were doing and go over to see what was up.

“I was running the tractor through the field and almost hit a fawn.” He says.

Now, for reference, it’s pretty common to have farmers run over and kill fawns. The defense mechanism of fawns when they are young is to lay down low and not move…which obviously isn’t great for when there’s a tractor. It happens all the time, but it can be pretty bloody. It’s not a pretty sight.

So, thinking that maybe such a gory scene unnerved him and that we may have to dispose of the body, I say “Mr. Brown, is the fawn still alive?”

He says “Yes, I took it to the barn…but I’m afraid the mom won’t take it back because it has human scent on it.”

The myth about “human scent” is a common one, but it’s just that…a myth. But still, this guy was absolutely terrified that this little deer was going to live the first few weeks of its life without a parent. He was distraught.

Luckily my professor/boss was like “Don’t worry Mr. Brown, if you return the fawn relatively close to the spot that you found it, the mother will come back. The human scent thing is just a myth. The fawn will be alright, just be sure to keep the barn quiet so that the fawn doesn’t panic.”

Mr. Brown’s face lit up and he let out a sigh of relief. “Thank God” he said “I was so worried.”

And that’s the story of how I met the sweetest man ever: Mr. Jason Brown.

fyi Jason Brown is still the cutest

I can’t believe this is a real story, but it’s a real story. 
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2MZhYDj

ohmygil:

There’s a timeline where Miyazaki skewered Harvey Weinstein with that sword
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2Nt58dy

inosanteria:

St.Petersburg, Russia
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2MENMyd

thunderboltsortofapenny:

mypissedoffsandwich:

tastefullyoffensive:

(via meanboysclub)

The last one

Also good on these people for taking the aggressively petty route instead of falsely registering their pets as service animals
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2LB7ipA

househunting:

$279,000/4 br/3100 sq ft

Joplin, MO
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2BW5gB7

bvffythevampireslayer:

3.16 | 6.08
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2MVYCit

enoughtohold:

Many popular posts on Tumblr claim that AIDS activists in the 1980s and 1990s regularly deliberately died in the streets as part of “die-in” protests. But this just isn’t true.

Here’s the definition of “die-in” from ACT UP (AIDS Coalition To Unleash Power) New York’s direct action manual, “Time to Become an AIDS Activist,” c. 1991:

A die-in is when protesters lie down on the ground to represent the thousands who have died or are being killed by the policies and neglect of the government or your target. Often people chant (“How many more have to die,” “We die, they do nothing,” etc.). Sometimes protesters carry cardboard tombstones with names or slogans, creating an instant AIDS cemetery, and others times the “dead” bodies are outlined in chalk with massages written in.

I’ve read several books and countless articles and interviews about AIDS activism, talked to ACT UP alumni, and participated in ACT UP die-ins. ACT UP is known for its boldness in bringing death from AIDS into the public sphere — from David Wojnarowicz’s jacket proclaiming “IF I DIE OF AIDS – FORGET BURIAL – JUST DROP MY BODY ON THE STEPS OF THE FDA” to the political funerals in which members marched their friends’ bodies through the streets. But I’ve never heard of anyone dying at a die-in.

Die-ins didn’t originate with AIDS activism — they were used at least as far back as the 1970s and are still used today, by activists fighting anti-black police brutality, gun violence, and more. But the concept is the same. Protesters lie down to represent dead bodies. But they don’t die.

It should be obvious after just a moment’s thought that people with AIDS did not (and do not) know exactly when they were going to die and therefore could not (and cannot) synchronize their deaths en masse. These posts never use the word “suicide,” but that is what it would have to be — not a mass death from disease, but a mass suicide. This just doesn’t make sense in a movement marked by fierce struggle for life.

So many of us don’t give it that moment’s thought because even after all these years, we lack the empathy to truly think of people with AIDS not as romantic political symbols, but as full complex human beings. Human beings fighting for life, being cared for by loved ones until the end, human beings whose deaths were (and are) personal as well as political.

Imagining their deaths as a planned political statement allows us to pass the buck on some level, to act as though it was OK. And it encourages us to relegate AIDS and AIDS activism to the past, like a flashback in a movie that doesn’t have to conform to the rules of reality.

But AIDS is not history. There is still no cure, no vaccine, and treatment is inaccessible for millions of people with HIV. A million people died from AIDS globally in 2016. Major HIV news goes unpublicized, and crucial prevention methods are price-gouged for pharmaceutical profit. Rampant HIV stigma adds fuel to the epidemic.

AIDS activism isn’t history either. ACT UP NY still meets every Monday. You can fight AIDS just by getting informed and starting a conversation about HIV in your community.

Let this be an opportunity to rethink your assumptions about HIV and AIDS and seek out real information. The more people do that, the closer we can get to ending AIDS for good.
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2wumznN

bidyourcaresgoodbye:

prideprejudce:

leesh:

a very good article

‘It makes me so sad for the world, because the questions I keep getting asked are “Are these guys really that nice? Are they really that awesome?” 

My response is always “No. They’re even better than what you get to see on TV.”‘

If you had any weird feelings about Skyler’s episode at all, please read this article!

But tl;dr, Skyler felt the whole experience was very positive, and purposefully wanted to use it as a chance to educate America’s middleclass housewives on how to be better parents to their trans kids.

But seriously, give it a read.
(Your picture was not posted)

Profile

gravityeyelids: (Default)
Rachel

April 2019

S M T W T F S
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 04:58 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios