Aug. 2nd, 2018

gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2LTGK7w

smarmyanarchist:

toast-potent:

What Jesus Wants: for humans to be considered better than dogs?? better than RATS?? better than snails?!!??

What Satan Wants: all life forms are good, wonderful; perfect

My favorite part of the Bible is when it says that whales are God’s second favorite creation after humans
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2LVvgQU

evgenyhontor:

Anubis family.

“Velvet Clay Studio”, Karhu, 2015.

In my Etsy shop: https://www.etsy.com/ru/shop/DemiurgusDreams/search?search_query=anubis 
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2vc4PwF

totalspiffage:

histskins:

life is a lot like shaking trees in animal crossing. sometimes there’s bees
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2va9zTu

kltzart:

kltzart:

3/7/18

this is a call out post for my little trash man who wont let me go anywhere

just in case anyone wanted to see him in action
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2O6qvRF

drdanielfaraday:

LOST? love that show. the way they just [clenches fist] get so frickin lost
(Your picture was not posted)

Photo

Aug. 2nd, 2018 06:12 pm
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2Ax09qo
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2n4zveH

violent-darts:

sephboy:

heres a cool idea: what if in 2017 tumblr commie kids gave up the creepy romanticization of the soviet union thing in favor of the aesthetics of american labor history–the haymarket riot, the pullman strike, the great railroad strike, emma goldman & yiddish socialism, woody guthrie, pete seeger, paul robeson, the iww and the 1912 textile workers’ strike, the ladies’ garment workers’ union, wpa murals, the american communist party, bread and roses, the union maid. that’s the Good Shit if yr looking for historical leftist culture imo

Seriously tho, kids. 

The USSR was a blood-soaked mess. A racist, anti-semitic, sexist blood-soaked mess at that. Do not repeat the sins of the Left of the 60s/etc by ignoring that. (Same goes for Maoist China, etc.) To ignore that is to literally piss on a truly appalling number of graves As an allegory, Animal Farm’s inaccuracies were that it’s not grim and horrific enough. The most conservative and hesitant and “well we don’t want to be hysterical about this” count of Stalin’s death toll, not including famine-victims, is 4 million; the one which, after various amounts of research, I find most convincing is about 20 million. Mao’s Great Leap Forward killed anywhere from 18 to 50 million, and we have literal footage of Tienamen, guys. 

This is not the good example you are looking for. Do not romanticise them. 

100% go back, as OP says, to the things that actually had good results (like a 40 hour work-week and basic human worker’s rights and shite) and did not do them over mountains of corpses. We have lots! They even included (gosh!) women! and queers! and people of colour/different ethnicities! They do all the things you want. 

These are your models. Not those bloody handed bastards over there. 
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2AypaRM

apersnicketylemon:

linmirandas:

apersnicketylemon:

Stop screaming about how ‘queer is a slur’ every time someone says ‘I like being queer’ or ‘I id as queer’ or ‘let people id as queer’.

We fucking know. All our words are slurs. Lesbian started as a slur. Gay started as a slur. Bisexual started as a psychological disorder, same with transgender. All our words have bad starts, the point in us using them was to reforge their sword into our armour.

Let us id as queer in peace. Stop harassing people over their identities.

nobody cares if u say you’re queer! we just don’t want it as an umbrella term because it is a slur with bad connotations for most people!

If no one cares that I’m using it for myself or that queer people using it for themselves talking about their community, then y’all wouldn’t feel the need to tack on to EVERY POST that says the word Queer with ‘UM. THAT’S A SLUR’.

Hell, I’ve had people say ‘WELL JUST REMEMBER IT’S A SLUR’ (Which is what you did. On a post asking people to stop reminding us on every post. Like a thousand other people before you. You’re not original.) and then turn around and call me ‘Kweer’ to insult me.

And for the record Queer actually isn’t a slur. It was our word before it was used as a derogatory term (If you want to know more read Gay New York by Chauncey, Coming Out Under Fire: The History of Gay Men and Women in World War II by Allan Berube or  My Queer War by James Lord .

Anyways, Gay has bad connotations for me since everything ‘bad’ was labeled as ‘gay’ for my growing up, but you don’t see me reminding every gay person that ‘gay’ is a slur and started as a slur and to not use it as an umbrella term so, maybe shut the fuck up about queer already? Just a thought? Especially on posts saying ‘hey, this happens a lot, even on positivity shit and we’re sick to fucking death of being told our identity is a slur by a bunch of kids who know absolutely no history on the community who yell at us older queers to read a book when they can’t be bothered to?’
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2n7AsmI

lordhellebore:

soldatka:

Some of y'all don’t want fandom to be fun at all you want it to be like some kind of gd AP Lit class where all we do is have pointed debates over the most Correct interpretation of media like NO get fucked I will project onto my favorite character and write whatever shitty nonsense fic for whatever illogical pairing I want die mad about it

This. I’m doing the literary science spiel for work and in my PhD already. In fandom, I just want to have fun. Miss me with this ‘My meta/hedcanon/ship/fic is more correct (and/or woke) than yours!’ nonsense. I don’t care. I’m here to play.
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2n4DyaT

freckledmccree:

izzyovercoffee:

the thing about those writing “rules” or “advice” for what “not to do” or whatever is that they really impede a lot of new writers’ ability to … finish a fucking draft

there really should be a caveat on All Those Posts right at the top for people to see:

you can do all these things in the editing stages of a finished draft

just …finish your draft first. then worry about the adjectives or the too many “was”s or whatever it is you’re trying to follow here

One of the most common sentiments said in my MFA Screenwriting program is: That’s a second draft problem. Save that for the next draft. This is what rewriting is for.

The first draft is to throw it onto the page, the next eleven(ty million) passes is for refining—especially for getting all those pesky issues that writing advice always harps on.
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2MhsBOt

springcottage:

karleeskupcakes on ig
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2n3FGzA

passionpeachy:

badpostop-bot:

passionpeachy:

bot-dad:

passionpeachy:

I’m so fucking sad please invent a pill that will turn me into a salamander that only thinks of nutrients

Hello so fucking sad please invent a pill that will turn me into a salamander that only thinks of nutrients, I’m Dad!

Dad^bot^1.

Your Human® Body® is mediocre | PayPal | Patreon Beep-boop!

you mock my plight for the last time, Dad Bot

Bad post OP.

Bad^Post^OP^bot

why are all the bots so mean to me I just wanted to be a salamander
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2KjyXL7

birdrhetorics:

cooltoy101:

pr1nceshawn:

This billboard is made of 2,000 cheeseburgers that anyone can take for free.

This bag of chips has two perforations so you can open it more the further down you eat.

This pill bottle lid tells you when you last opened it.

This is a phone charging station where you can pedal to get power.

Trash bins in Copenhagen are angled so cyclists can toss their trash while biking.

This dressing room has labeled hooks to help you separate your clothes.

Choose a cup and let everyone know about your current status.

Doghouses near a supermarket in Copenhagen.

There’s a special place for your pet in this supermarket cart.

A cafe in Poland provides its guests with water for their pets. 

 These bananas are sorted by how ripe they are at the moment.

This pharmacy has a magnifying glass so people can read medicine labels more easily.

This pizza place has a display with all their pizza sizes and how large they are compared to each other.

Big Dave

reblog to have Big Dave bless your dash with user centered design
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2vc0mKf

theshortchickwiththefro:

whyyoustabbedme:

I. Love. LeBron. ❤️❤️❤️

Say👏🏾that👏🏾LeBron👏🏾
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2n7KKDm

there were seven eggs left
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2vfAQUs

webbo0:

novaya-model:

queerunsolved:

hey-there-ghouls:

horrorbisexual:

like obviously i hate buzzfeed and would never work at a place that has such a large hand in destroying serious journalism but i cannot deny that it would be literally the sweetest gig of all time. work in an office with a bunch of other hungover 29 year olds, screenshot posts made by 16 year olds on tumblr who are funnier and smarter than i am and call it an article complete with my own byline, and finish off my day by getting drunk on camera and being paid to do it. that’s the fucking life babey

Right. 

I’ve been seeing this post on my dash all day and normally I’d let this nonsense pass but I’m sick so my ability to tolerate bullshit is at an all time low. 

This is absolute crap - OP is equating BuzzFeed’s lifestyle section with its news section. Lifestyle focuses on listicles, quizzes and light entertainment. News focuses on exactly that. News. 

How good are they at news you might ask? 

I have a masters in digital journalism - I’ve worked for major news organisations across broadcast, print and digital. I was a producer for a major news show by the age of 24; I’ve been mentored by some of the best journalists in Australia - and do you know who everyone told me I should be paying attention to?

BuzzFeed. 

“If you’re lucky, you’ll land a position at BuzzFeed,” my lecturer who holds MULTIPLE doctorates in media and journalism told my class after she took us to a tour of the BuzzFeed Australia office. 

My expertise is in Australia media so you’ll have to excuse the focus on what I’m about to say. 

BuzzFeed Australia was one of the first digital news organisations to become part of the Parliamentary press gallery.  They were instrumental in shaking up the Australian Parliament, leading to dozens of by-elections and threatening to trigger a Federal election after they discovered a number of politicians were holding office whilst dual citizens - which is illegal in Australia. They have spent months pursuing Minister Michaelia Cash for her role in the death of an 18 year old boy in the controversial Work For The Dole scheme, and for her office tipping off the media ahead of police raids on a union office. Oh, and they were the first news organisation in the country to break the news that a major bank had lost the personal financial details of 12 million clients - every other news outlet lifted the coverage directly from BuzzFeed.

And that was in the last 12 months.  

Oh and that Trump piss tape story that everyone here on Tumblr loves to crap on about? That was a BuzzFeed exclusive. 

There’s a really stupid trend on tumblr to seem ‘edgy’ by mocking things that are popular or successful. Don’t shit on the hard work of dozens of journalists who report on incredibly important news and write it with our generation in mind, and then have nerve to turn around and complain that the mainstream media only focuses on older people. 

You just look sad. 

BuzzFeed has been bettering the media landscape for years, and they’ve been doing it while everyone is mocking them. 

Rebooting for this great commentary.

Am a journalist, can confirm

The old way of journalism is dying, and through my work in the industry I’ve come to learn that it’s the industry’s own fault.

Old masters we praise refused to adapt to an evolving culture and changing landscape, and it’s biting them in the ass right now. Some are trying to make up for lost ground, but a lot of others are digging in their heels and falling victim to the confirmation bias they hate.

Buzzfeed was created in the new age. It has nothing to change because it was never intended to do things the old way. It’s spearheading digital journalism (i.e. the literal future of journalism).

Old masters are being bought out by digital media entertainment companies right now, and they’re freaking out. They’re going from writing investigative pieces about government waste to compiling lists of the 20 cutest ugly dogs. They’re watching their friends and coworkers get laid off as the big companies “trim the fat” to make the “paper” more profitable. They’re living a forced change at the hands of a big, scary “unknown” and they hate it.

Buzzfeed isn’t at risk of that, because Buzzfeed has been doing this shit all along.

They’re not facing the fire. They were born in it.

They’ve laid the groundwork for how journalism needs to adapt. They’ve figured out how to get ad revenue in the online world, which is what everyone else has failed to do.

You have someone write 3 bullshit lifestyle pieces a day.

“Ariana Grande’s ponytail evolution”

“30 times OS updates screwed over users”

“These birds had babies and we are LIVING for it”

You make sure you deliver on the headlines. Clickbait won’t work. People won’t trust you when you deliver harder news if you can’t even deliver bullshit.

Get those clicks. Get those views. Get that following. Get that ad revenue. Get those sponsorships. Get that funding.

Use the funding to support harder pieces.

“Report: Justice Kennedy refused to retire unless Kavanaugh replaced him”

“President Trump spent over $1 million of tax payer money on trips to his own resorts”

“Refugee women abused, miscarrying in Trump Camps”

This is how we have to do it now. This is what the digital era demands. Anyone with a ounce of knowledge in the area and a lick of sense could tell you that. The problem is: journalism is run by old masters, and old masters will never admit that they’re way is wrong until it’s too late.

Don’t turn your nose up at adaptation and evolution. It’s how survival works.

^^^ thank god someone finally said it…
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2LPsNrN

contra-entries:

Some recent doodles of the girls!
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2KjT8bP

ggdgart:

yusuke
(Your picture was not posted)

Profile

gravityeyelids: (Default)
Rachel

April 2019

S M T W T F S
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 03:03 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios