Jun. 8th, 2018

gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2JpxEut

darkersolstice:

kintatsujo:

shiisiln:

watsons-solarpunk:

xenozerrez:

solarpunknetwork:

thewritingsquid:

solarpunknetwork:

txwatson:

I keep seeing people asking ‘is solarpunk really punk?’ because it’s too happy and optimistic and stuff

and I’m picturing a perfect moment in a solarpunk community — the neighbourhood mayor standing with a shit-eating grin on her face when the cops come and cut them off from city power, and nothing turns off

This is my absolute favorite example of how solarpunk is punk. Also, Detroit (and a lot of other places) could probably use something similar for water. Especially in places where it’s illegal to harvest rainwater. I dunno, maybe water tanks cleverly designed as yard art?

Like… yeah it’s happy and optimistic, but my view of solarpunk at least is in complete defiance of many capitalist ideals so if that’s not punk … ‘Punk’ isn’t edgy, dark and gritty. Not to me. Building a society completely based on renewable resources, accessibility for all, and constant sharing is a big fuck you to the current system if you ask me.

Exactly. Near future solarpunk especially requires rebelling against the current system. Punk is about defiance (at least that’s what it’s come to mean colloquially). Defiance doesn’t have to be destruction and violence and grit, it can look like stubborn creation and community building and rejecting many of the dominant system’s values. 

Wait. Why would harvesting rainwater be illegal?

There’s an interpretation of the concept of property that says if something has value, then someone should be getting paid for it. Despite being flatly absurd and riddled with obvious logical flaws, this has been one of the major philosophies of property in the US, in some contexts (including water) for over a hundred years. This Washington Post article gets into it in detail. 

According to this logic, if there are water suppliers in a region, then they’re entitled to money when people get water. Collecting rainwater for yourself gets around that, so, in this concept of property, it’s a form of theft.

There have also been legal battles over people growing food in their lawns, generating their own electricity, etc. If you’re looking to extricate yourself from the systems wherein you have to serve the interests of specific wealthy people to survive, many parts of the western world are ready to use the force of government intervention to stop you.

I feel like a big chunk of the ‘dark, gritty’ aesthetic punk is associated with came as a reaction to the bright, glamorous ‘American Dream’ imagery and patronizing ad campaigns of the 50s.

But now that we’re being sold “The future is bleak and dirty and there’s nothing you can do about it,” being optimistic and cheerful is the most punk and rebellious thing you can do

This is an extremely well put point.

@wearepaladin
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2M9q7lB

positive-memes:

Student finds annoying foreigner is a friend he didn’t know he had.
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2M6Jhbs

phindsy:

Like ships passing in the night, we were going in different directions on different winds, yet there was a moment in which we sailed together.
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2Jmhlmv

pregnantseinfeld:

If you all go 2 weeks without discourse the whole class gets an ice cream social and a pizza party
(Your picture was not posted)

Photo

Jun. 8th, 2018 04:15 pm
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2MbYA2z
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2McuzQj

catchymemes:

just a dude & his skateboard
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2JEe9Sf

theultravioletcatastrophe:

then why the fuck did you pay for it to be advertised on fucking tumblr dot com
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2LyG57q

selfcareafterrape:

selfcareafterrape:

I survived an abusive relationship. At this point I have talked to and worked with hundreds of people in abusive relationships.

Guess what? telling us to leave never works.

ever.

I could write a post about ways to help people leave.

I’ll probably do that one day.

but don’t be that person in the mean time.

This is real quick off the cuff but:

AN ABBREVIATED GUIDE TO ‘holy shit my friend is in an abusive relationshit what do I do’

1. Don’t start shit with the abuser. Your friend? Will pay for it.

I once had a friend slap my abuser.

I am not going to tell you the price I paid b/c I’ve already puked once today and I would like to not do it again.

I once threatened a friend’s abuser.

I almost lost that friend over it.

Don’t do the thing.

2.  Understand that the abuser is going to be isolating them.

They may be telling your friend how terrible you are. Any slight- no matter how small will be played up into a big thing. and even if the friend doesn’t hold it against you- it will probably effect how much they reach out to you.

Abusers like to tell their marks things like ‘Oh? A missed your call. Its because they hate you and think you complain too much’

The best way I can tell you to combat that- is just… don’t hold it against them. If they withdraw, don’t be that person like ‘well if you really cared about me you’d have fought for me’ 

The people who helped the most were those that I felt like.. I could go weeks without talking to and then they’d still listen if I got the courage to come back around. 

If you can- work with them to try and schedule things so that they can have support without their abuser getting suspicious. School projects, open places. shit like that.

3. Don’t argue with them that shit is abusive.

Don’t be that person. It will make them feel unsafe with you.

The friends who argued were friends I lost. They were the ones it was easiest for him to make go. Cause here’s the thing… people view isolating as an abuser saying ‘you can’t talk to them!’ and a lot of times its not that.. its an abuser sitting down and saying in a real quiet voice ‘you two argue a lot, and they aren’t respecting you. But I’ll always be here for you okay?’  

The most you can do is say “hey.. you know you deserve better than that right?” and if they argue go “I’m not going to argue with you. I don’t want to upset you. 

4. If they ask for resources, help them get them.

Don’t offer them unless asked or it will turn into a fight and see above.

5. If they say they’re out of options- help them brain storm ones.

here’s an easy opening to ask if it’s okay to help them find resources.

don’t shove.

6. Be nice to them. consistently.

Too many people were too busy trying to convince me that he was a bad guy- that spending time with them just hurt…

and at least when I was with him it only hurt some of the time.

I got out because I had 4-5 good friends who I had good times with and I finally…. there was the light of ‘oh god this is what healthy relationships feel like. ‘

7. Don’t shove. Don’t pressure.

You can say “I’ll be here for you when you’re ready to leave”

You can remind them of this occasionally.

But don’t be a coercive dick.

Don’t be gross.

Don’t hurt people being abused.

That should not be that hard of a lesson.

Don’t say victim blaming shit to convince them to leave.,

Don’t threaten to leave them if they don’t leave.

Don’t be gross.
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2JCAcsG

sodomymcscurvylegs:

This is the future liberals want.
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2JqflcZ

Ugh, it’s… complicated, and I’m not really the expert.

I think one other issue is that hiring cis actors to play trans people can reinforce the idea that being trans is just a role.  Like, if Jared Leto can put on makeup and play a trans woman, that suggests that trans women are just men in makeup.  Even if the character supposedly isn’t, Jared Leto the actor is still really a man underneath, and the message there is not exactly subliminal.

Casting cis people as trans also contributes to a public impression that trans people are so exotic or so damaged that you can’t find a real trans actor, that it would be like asking Star Trek to cast real Vulcans.

And casting trans actors isn’t just a matter of giving jobs to those individual actors–it’s also an important form of representation.  People see actors like Laverne Cox on screen, watch interviews with her, see that she’s not a disaster or a monster, and it helps shape their view of trans people for the better.  A cis actor in a trans role can’t do that.  At best they can give some kind of lukewarm shoutout to the vague and invisible “trans community.”

And a lot of cis actors have given bad performances as trans people, even when they were trying to do it in a sympathetic way.  There’s been a lot of trying-too-hard and of poorly concealed discomfort with being cross-dressed.

Finally, if we must, how about we cast some cis actors to play trans characters of the same gender for once?  It’s really not inconceivable, especially for characters who are supposed to be medically transitioning or who live in fantasy/sci-fi worlds.  “Oh, but then how will the audience even know that they’re trans?”  Well, unless it’s a plot point, maybe they won’t know.  That’s true to real life, where not every trans person has a flashing sign over their head.

Despite all this, I still feel weirdly reluctant to say “so you must never hire a cis person to play a trans person.”  I feel like in a better world it ought to be possible, just like hiring an English person to play an American isn’t a huge deal.  But while we’re not in that better world, you really have to consider the message and impact of casting decisions.
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2JC5v6P

alycs:

alycs:

So today as a prank I made a sheet music print out of Miley Cyrus’ Wrecking Ball but replaced the name with “Christmas Time Meditation” and deleted the words and I’m going to put it in the with church music and see if the pianist notices.

He noticed and I can now add “Yelled at by two priests at once” to my list of accomplishments
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2xW5xSz

nasfera2:

One of the many reasons I respected Anthony Bourdain was because that man never went to the 5 star restaurants and all that bougie shit. Wherever he went, he made a beeline straight for the hood, sat down with them folks and never judged or thought of himself as better. He had a genuine love and admiration for everyday people and I respected the ever living fuck outta that. R.I.P.
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2MchruL

thunderboltsortofapenny:

Take care of yourself

Look y'all, the contagion effect of suicide is real and we’re in the middle of one right now so if Facebook or Instagram or Reddit or Tumblr is not helping you cope, get away from that shit. Delete the app. Blacklist the tags. Take a break. Don’t go looking for more information, it won’t help you. If you think it does, ask yourself what you’re getting out of it. This isn’t a sign that everything is over. They don’t want you to follow them. Their success had nothing to do with their mental illness, or their death.

If you’re feeling elevated, talk to someone. Anyone. Do some busy work for five minutes and check back in with yourself. Ask someone you trust to take whatever you think you’d use away. Lock it up. Call your friend, your sponsor, you’re therapist, a hotline. If you think you need more help seek that out, if it’s clergy or a therapist or a hospital, whatever you need to get through.

Take care of yourself

National Suicide Prevention Lifeline toll-free at 800-273-8255
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2xVdiYW

latinextra:

a man: men now have to think before they speak, they are afraid to be criticized or accused of something, can we believe that we have to live like this now?? uwu

all the women that had to grown up being super self-aware of what they wear, what they think, what they say, how they act, where they are, with whom, etc in every aspect of their life, all the time, in this sexist society (especially women of color, non-straight women and trans women): good. finally you all have to learn how to behave.  
(Your picture was not posted)

Profile

gravityeyelids: (Default)
Rachel

April 2019

S M T W T F S
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 01:38 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios