Jun. 5th, 2018

gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2svGAbd

synthetic-sleuth:

[Character has little to no concrete backstory]

Fanfic writers:
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2sH4a4a

thedoorisstuck:

geekandmisandry:

darlingzenyatta:

hi as pride month draws near for june reminder that cishet aces/aros are not LGBT and don’t belong in our spaces

And like, just a reminder that people like op are the people I don’t want to share my spaces with.

Every time I see an exclusionist on here and I click their profile they’re like 17 or 19 or maybe 21 at best. 

And that’s fair- it’s not like people that age can’t have opinions or be right, they’re people.

But when I think about how long it took me to work out my own damn sexuality, gender, and all that crap, and how gently I stepped once I realised I was queer, and how much listening to people I did to see who the hell was out there…how much I am STILL learning about people who have different experiences…

…it feels really odd to see people this young being so secure in their belief of who should be excluded from the community. 

Not how to support and include, to help and support, but how to exclude.

Like…being confident in your own sexuality at 19? Fuck yeah, good for you, I’m happy you had a better chance and an earlier start than I did.

But… telling other people they’re not queer enough to be in ‘your’ space?

Your space? Not mine anymore? Huh.

I’m over here at 35 still listening and learning and trying to understand everyone’s perspectives, discovering that sexuality is even more complex and nuanced than I know…and all these people barely out of their teens are talking like they know everything there is to know about being LGBT, ever. Like it’s all been written down, stamped, sealed, confirmed by some Authority.

Mmmm. No. Just… have an ounce of humility. Try gaining some perspective, please.

You haven’t lived long enough to even really listen to real life aces, to really think about what LGBT means. I don’t mean this as an ageist insult, I just really think that this kind of shit deserves TIME- hell I know it deserves time and thought because I am STILL unlearning bad assumptions and behaviours, and STILL meeting people who define themselves outside of the frame that I was once taught meant ‘LGBT’.

And you, a teen raised in a world that’s still pretty fucking homophobic and doesn’t recognise half of what the LGBT community itself has taken years to acknowledge, you think you know it all?

Because you’re online?

While you’re here, read some posts where ace people talk about how they’re treated. Forget semantics for a while: read the experiences.

I’m online too, I have been for some time. Doesn’t make me right, but experience is of some value. Experience in listening to queer people who aren’t quite like me, that is, in trying to understand how I am similar, instead of trying to figure out how they do not belong. In how people rework things, figure out how they can be less harmful, more inclusive, more representative of all those who are marginalised.

See, Q is queer but also often Questioning. It’s still important to let people be Questioning, there is an astounding amount of queerphobia in the world and we are NOT done working out the labels. We may never be.

Not so long ago, the T in lgbt was under question. Bisexuals are still being excluded. 

So I’m being told I don’t matter by people who weren’t even born yet when I realised I wasn’t straight. They’re skipping right over all the reflection and going straight to self-affirmation by exclusion. 

Which, again- if you are born into a world where you never have to question your identity, oh good grief I hope that’s real for everyone some day.

But we’re not there yet, yanno? And I resent being told that after all these years of soul-searching and careful, very careful questioning of whether I belong and how I can be a good member of the community, people arrive so 100% certain of their claim to being LGBT that the first thing they do is try to kick others out.

tl;dr I was here first and I’m not amused.
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2JrFzei

arudetrans:

Im screaming
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2JiILFI

yesterdaysprint:

The Tribune, Seymour, Indiana, June 12, 1912
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2LlAUYy

fuckyeahfelines:

Heaven
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2HnejIv

anotherlesbianandwhat:

insertcleverusernamehere:

auslanddd:

kevinidentity:

This is stunning.

Ill always be a sap and reblog this

Beautiful.

yep always reblog this
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2JdD7Zy

coolcatgroup:

brinigi:

potarafusions:

dogs and cats are…….. both good……

This is bullshit. Dogs and cats are both GREAT

Yes… yes they are…..
(Your picture was not posted)

Photo

Jun. 5th, 2018 07:32 pm
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2xKnXpn
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2sA1yG3

misaki-kurenai:

Current mood
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2JmaOnw

kagetsukai:

yournewapartment:

thesnadger:

Since once in a blue moon I actually discover a decent rule for adulting, and since I know I have followers a few years younger than me who are just entering the workforce, I want to tell you about a very important phrase. 

“I won’t be available.”

Imagine you’re at work and your boss asks you to come in on Saturday. Saturday is usually your day off–coming in Saturdays is not an obligation to keep your job. Maybe you were going to watch a movie with a friend, or maybe you were just going to lie in bed and eat ice cream for eight hours, but either way you really, really don’t want to give up your day off.

If you consider yourself a millennial you’ve probably been raised to believe you need to justify not being constantly at work. And if you’re a gen-Z kid you’re likely getting the same toxic messages that we did. So in a situation like that, you might be inclined to do one of three things:

Tell your boss you’d rather not give up your day off. Cave when they pressure you to come in anyway, since you’re not doing anything important.

Tell your boss you’d rather not give up your day off. Over-apologize and worry that you looked bad/unprofessional.

Lie and say you’ve got a doctor’s appointment or some other activity that feels like an adequate justification for not working.

The fact is, it doesn’t matter to your boss whether you’re having open heart surgery or watching anime in your underwear on Saturday. The only thing that affects them is the fact that you won’t be at work. So telling them why you won’t be at work only gives them reason to try and pressure you to come in anyway.

If you say “I won’t be available,” giving no further information, you’d be surprised how often that’s enough. Be polite and sympathetic in your tone, maybe even say “sorry, but I won’t be available.” But don’t make an excuse. If your boss is a professional individual, they’ll accept that as a ‘no’ and try to find someone else. 

But bosses aren’t always professional. Sometimes they’re whiny little tyrants. So, what if they pressure you further? The answer is–politely and sympathetically give them no further information.

“Are you sure you’re not available?” “Sorry, but yes.”

“Why won’t you be available?” “I have a prior commitment.” (Which you do, even if it’s only to yourself.)

“What’s your prior commitment?” “Sorry, but that’s kind of personal.”

“Can you reschedule it?” “I’m afraid not. Maybe someone else can come in?”

If you don’t give them anything to work with, they can’t pressure you into going beyond your obligations as an employee. And when they realize that, they’ll also realize they have to find someone else to come in and move on.

IMPORTANT!! PLEASE READ!!

Just like with many other parts of life, learn to say ‘no’ to people. You are important. Don’t kill yourself for another person, esp. if they are your boss.
(Your picture was not posted)

Photo

Jun. 5th, 2018 09:31 pm
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2M18eVR
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2xIqcJO

thebootydiaries:

notdeadbabies:

My cousin is a preschool teacher and asked her students to suggest names for the baby she is expecting. It went well.

grandma
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2JeiE6U

bannerkhov:

bannerkhov:

Pushy vegan: How would YOU feel to be EATEN by something BIGGER than you? That how chickens feel!

Vore enthusiast who stopped listening after “bigger than you”:

This post is cancelled a vore fetish blog just said how kinky it is to eat a chicken sandwich in public I’m so done
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via https://ift.tt/2HouXri

My GYN says she wants to take an ultrasound of my uterus because there might be a cyst or something there, and then change out my IUD because I AM SO DONE WITH MY MENSTRUAL CYCLE of two weeks of awesome sex, then a mishmash of “oh, I’m spotting. Oh now I’m bleeding for three days straight, then nothing, then bleeding for six days. And cramps.”

Buuut I have to wait at least another month because I don’t want to take time off my fancy new job until I’m through the 90 day probation period. So I’ve been putting this off since she recommended it to me two months ago. Arrrrghhh.
(Your picture was not posted)

Profile

gravityeyelids: (Default)
Rachel

April 2019

S M T W T F S
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 01:38 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios