Mar. 22nd, 2018

gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2px5ntc

cameoamalthea:

beeslybee:

cafern:

@ people who were not born in Ireland and particularly Americans

- It is not Patty’s Day, it is Paddy’s Day. Patty is short for Patricia, Paddy is short for Pádraig which has been anglicised to Patrick.
- It is not Gaelic, it is Irish. In Irish, the language is called Gaelige but that’s pronounced Gwayl-geh.
- Literally no one in Ireland has ever eaten corned beef and cabbage
- We have also never said top of the morning
- If you pinch an Irish person for not wearing green on Paddy’s Day they’re likely to slap you.
- Why do you dye your drinks green?
- It is not “North Ireland” it is “Northern Ireland”. It is not “South Ireland” it is “The Republic of Ireland” or just “Ireland”.
- No, I do not know the Dohertys of Mayo.
- Please, if you must, do things for the craic and not the crack. Cocaine is not a great habit lads.
- Drinks like the “Irish car bomb” and the “black & tan” are incredibly offensive (you wouldn’t drink a “9/11”)

However

- Wearing green is grand
- Having a few drinks is also grand, they don’t even need to be Irish (I drink a Swedish cider most of the time)
- Aye sure queue up some Irish music on youtube it’s great.
- If you want one Irish word to use throughout the day a good one is Sláinte (pronounced slawn-sha) - it’s the equivalent of saying “cheers” before you drink!

Please be respectful on Holidays like this! It’s great to join in and show your respect & appreciation for other cultures celebrations, but remember to actually do that! Have fun, but stay respectful to the culture and religion. 😊

Fun history of corned beef and cabbage.

Beef is cheap in America (lots of land, lots of cows, so there’s such a thing as cheap cuts). So a lot of immigrants who could never afford beef in their home country now had access to beef.

(Example spaghetti and meatballs is an Italian-American invention).

Now Americans hated immigrants (plenty stilldo sadly) and hated anyone who wasn’t Protestant so you had segregation. So in New York the Irish Catholic area was next to the Jewish area. There was solidarity between American Irish and American Jewish immigrants. So Irish-Immigrants bought corned-beef from Jewish butchers.

(In Ireland, you may eat bacon or lamb for St Patrick’s Day, but lamb was (and is) expensive in America, and Irish Immigrants got their meat from Kosher butchers - no bacon).

Brisket is a cut of meat from the front of the cow. It’s a very tough cut of meat. The salting process (it’s like soaked in salt for over a week) and cooking for hours and hours (it’s an all day stew) makes it tender.

So corned beef and cabbage is a dish that evolved out of affordable ingredients (tough cut of beef, cabbage and carrots and potatoes are dirt cheap) and proximity to Jewish immigrants.

St. Patrick’s Day Celebrations as we know them now (parades and the like) were started in America by Irish-American immigrants. Because WASP Americans (white, Anglo Saxon, Protestants) hated Catholics and hated the Irish.

And for all immigrants there was a big push to assimilate (give kids English sounding names, forget your language, become Protestant). But people don’t give up religion easily, names and language maybe, but not God.

So still today you have Irish Catholics, Italian Catholics, Mexican Catholics, etc and even Americans who aren’t practicing Catholic or aren’t religious may view being raised Catholic as part of a cultural identity linked to their heretage (the same way someone who doesn’t practice Judaism is still Jewish, some difference since Judaism is a hereditary religion, but for immigrants in a country that hates Catholics, being Catholic, having that tradition was and is part of being an outsider to American, part of an identity those in power hated and tried to erase).

So holding giant Irish pride parade celebrating the Catholic patron Saint of Ireland was sort of a “fuck you” to anti-Catholic anti-Irish sentiment. A “fuck you” to the idea that being an American meant erasing your traditions and history and pretending to be a White Anglo Saxon Protestant.

Look at us being proudly Irish and still Catholic. Obnoxiously, visibly Catholic and acting ways that the puritanical Protestants hate.

So what was a family religious Holiday became a big, visible celebration of heretage and homeland (a shared identity). And since it’s a celebration immigrants splurged by buying a big cut of beef (beef is cheaper in America, but immigrants did not have a lot of money and meat is still more than vegetables, so any cut of beef was still a special occasion thing) and supported their Jewish neighbors who ran the butcher’s shop.

(also, since it’s a St’s Feast, Lent restrictions on meat and drinking alcohol didn’t count, so eat a lot of meat and drink).

St Patrick’s Day in the US has its own history, heretage and ties to religion (and persecution for that religion). Traditions are tied to that history. So Corned Beef and Cabbage may not be a thing in Ireland but it’s a part of Irish-American tradition, history and culture.

https://www.smithsonianmag.com/arts-culture/is-corned-beef-really-irish-2839144/
(Your picture was not posted)

Photo

Mar. 22nd, 2018 01:56 am
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2GauLzl
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2FXMGGd

words-on-pages:

It’s been said before, but honestly one of the best feelings in the world is when you unexpectedly read a marvelously written fic and you click on the author’s name in AO3 and discover…more works.
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2Gav5y3

bone-and-brawn:

Fellas, listen.

You don’t have to do anything sexual that you’re not interested in. Moreover, you don’t have to explain why. “No” is a complete sentence.

Not interested in getting pegged? You don’t have to.
Monogamous and not into the idea of another partner? Okay.
Not sure about period sex? Cool.

And if your partner decides to question or mock your maturity or your masculinity or your sexuality because you say no? It’s time to re-evaluate the relationship. See if you don’t deserve better than that.
(Your picture was not posted)

Photo

Mar. 22nd, 2018 10:56 am
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2FUlEnd
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2FU12eD

anarchetypal:

i saw this post earlier about therapists and it reminded me of my old therapist paul, who in my opinion is one of the greatest men alive and who did not put up with my bullshit for even one second

anyway i go in to see paul one week in the summer of 2016, and i’m doing my usual bullshit which consists of me talking shit about myself, and paul is staring at me, and then he cuts me off and says that he’s got a new tool for helping people recognize when they’re using negative language, and gets up and goes over to his desk

and i’m like alright hit me with that sweet sweet self-help article my man, because i’m a linguistic learner and whenever paul’s like here i have a tool for you to use it’s pretty much always an article or a book or something

paul opens a drawer, takes something out, and turns back around. i stare.

i say, paul.

is that a nerf gun.

yeah, says paul.

i say, are you gonna shoot me with a nerf gun in this professional setting.

he happily informs me that that’s really up to me, isn’t it. and sits back down. and gestures, like, go ahead, what were you saying?

and i squint suspiciously and start back up about how i’m having too much anxiety to leave the house to run errands, like it was a miracle to even get here, like i’ve forgone getting groceries for the past week and that’s so stupid, what a stupid issue, i’m an idiot, how could i–

a foam dart hits me in the leg.

i go, hey! because my therapist just shot me in the leg. paul blinks at me placidly and raises an eyebrow. i squint again.

i say, slowly, it’s– not a stupid issue, i’m not stupid, but it’s frustrating me and i don’t want it to be a problem i’m having.

no dart this time. okay. sweet.

so the rest of the hour passes with me intermittently getting nailed with tiny foam darts and then swearing and then fixing my language and, wouldn’t you know it, i start liking myself a little more by the end of the session, which is mildly infuriating because paul can tell and he’s very smug about it 

anyway i leave his office and the lady having the next appointment walks in and i hear what’s all over the floor? and paul very seriously says cognitive behavioral therapy tools.
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2G41hjv

greenekangaroo:

standard-dingo:

candygarnet:

spottytonguedog:

riskpig:

ravencapri:

dykean:

the “___ change my mind” guy sitting at a desk is Steven Crowder who is literally a deep conservative “comedian” and the biggest transphobe of 2018 so can we NOT use that meme anymore thanks. he literally calls trans people tr**** in some of his videos and refers to caitlyn jenner (I may not like her but Christ) as a transgender f@scist because she transitioned and refers to her transitioning as “going full #sjw.” this meme is cancelled and not funny. use google if you don’t believe me. bye

yeah actually i did some research (googling. i googled) and this is what the the original image was: (as opposed to what i first saw it as and what other might have, and had assumed that was the real one) 

he does stuff like that a lot; 

so yeah Yikes. 

Shit, I just looked him up as well.

Fucking YIKES, meme cancelled.

FYI. Don’t reblog or make any more memes from this guy. Fucking creep.

we know hes a shitty person, the whole reason the meme started was to make fun of him

Yeah that.
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2pzWYoO

chandelyer:

Hamda Al Fahim f/w 2018-2019 couture
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2DKSjWr

tsundereforcoffee:

adhdalistair:

adhdalistair:

every anti-milk post on this website only fuels my milk-drinking ways and makes me stronger. im drinking milk right now

hey guys… interesting news

turns out daily intestional cramping isn’t normal

a tragedy in two acts
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2pyFzO8

aggressivelybicaptainamerica:

sellyourseconds:

athenadark:

cranberrycapers:

Pugs are not cute.Pugs are malformed, inbred, sick animals that should never have existed.

(Above: pug and wolf skulls. Note the shallow eye sockets, crowded, protruding teeth, and short snout in the pug.)

Dogs pant to cool themselves. As pugs have practically no snouts, they have trouble cooling their bodies and they can suffer from organ failure as a result.

Pugs are often unable to breathe properly due to their short snouts and compact breathing passages. This inhibits their ability to do things that dogs like best - running, chasing things, playing.

Pugs suffer from a mangled jaw from which their teeth grow in all directions.

Because of the distorted shape of their skulls, their eyes commonly pop out of their heads. 60% of prolapsed eyes become blind. Eyes put back in the skull are prone to infection and the dog may need treatment for the rest of their life.

Their eyes are also prone to swelling painfully, becoming scratched, and being irritated by their eyelashes.

When excited, pugs are prone to getting fluid stuck in their throats, making them choke or gasp for breath. This is given the cutesy nick name “reverse sneezing”. [video]

As it can be difficult for pugs to exercise, they are prone to obesity.

Some pugs are born with their nostrils pinched almost shut, making it impossible for them to live without an operation.

The wrinkles on their faces will become infected without constant, careful cleaning by their caretaker.

About 64% of pugs suffer from hip dysplasia (malformed hip sockets) which causes crippling lameness and painful arthritis.

Pugs have a genetic weakness to demodectic mange (a pretty nasty skin condition caused by mites).

Their curled tail makes them susceptible to hemivertibrae - misshapen backbones which cause spine bending and instability, neurological disorders, back leg paralysis, incontinence, and pain.

Pugs are so inbred that a study of ten thousand pugs in the UK had the genetic makeup of only 50 individuals. Inbreeding means that defective genes are more likely to be expressed and passed on to offspring.

Necrotizing meningoencephalitis (brain swelling) is common among pugs. Dogs with this condition usually die within a few weeks. 

I am so sick of seeing pugs being celebrated.Their small, squashed skulls, facial wrinkles, curled tails, and protruding eyes are actually valued when these characteristics are a cruelty in themselves.

Pugs are charming, sweet, funny little souls and they don’t deserve the bodies humanity has designed for them.

Stop celebrating pugs.Stop buying pugs.

let’s celebrate retro pugs instead

responsible breeders decided they liked the temperament but the health issues were a nightmare, so they fixed them, they bred them out

it’s retro as in before the muzzle was bred out

and look at them

the one on the left is a retromop and the one on the right is a (elderly) pug

they’re healthier, live longer and have all the pug benefits with none of the usual health issues because of the deformed skull

they have longer legs

making exercise easier, and yet maintained most of the pug looks, and yes, they have the pug grin

want a pug - get a retropug or retromop, a healther, happier, and possibly cheaper option

even though I love pugs, it’s important that people know this 

Retromops are where it’s at friend.  Keep 100% of the pug charm with 0%of the terrible unhealthy inbred deformity. 
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2DNb2k1

nonlinear-nonsubjective:

swingsetindecember:

tv shows with time travel organizations/bureaus/police/agencies/whatever should have a department with instead of a tech genius eating candy, it’s a harried seamstress or fashion designer who is like

“1450 italy? does it look like I have the time to dye you wool? nO. YOU’RE GOING TO THE 1980s”

and throws shoulder pads at the hapless time agent

“I literally made three- THREE- 18th century corsets last week. You can wait until one of them gets back, or you can go sometime post-1920s, because if I have to sew one more god damn channel I will literally lose my mind.”

“Upper middle class?!?!? You told me upper class! FUCK YEAH THERE’S A DIFFERENCE!!!”

“How about kimoNO.”

“Look me in the eyes. I do not care what you want. This is the 1500s. You absolutely cannot wear trousers.”

“Another court gown?? Here’s a novel idea: go as a peasant for once in your life. Why do you do this to me? You’re fucking sadists that’s why.”

“Don’t mind me, I’ll just be up all night hand painting silk.”

“THE POLICY IS ONE MONTH’S ADVANCE NOTICE ON PRE-1900s WOMEN’S FASHION FOR A REASON, DEBRA.”
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2G0R1IE

saturnineaqua:

yemme:

binti-msa:

alwaysbewoke:

links within this thread:

https://t.co/87kYpZ4LJr

http://credo.library.umass.edu/view/full/mums312-b015-i208

https://t.co/FpxrGYd5dJ

https://www.pri.org/stories/2017-03-17/curious-origins-irish-slaves-myth

https://www.csmonitor.com/USA/Society/2018/0316/No-the-Irish-were-not-slaves-in-the-Americas

https://medium.com/@Limerick1914/the-imagery-of-the-irish-slaves-myth-dissected-143e70aa6e74#.xhxaucbu2

https://www.nytimes.com/2015/12/06/magazine/white-debt.html

in addition to this great thread, i recommend reading “how the irish became white” by noel ignatiev.  i do expect a lot of fighting against these facts because these lies and myth are so ingrained and now have become a part of the community and the sense of self and pride of irish people. 

Anti-Blackness is such a thing amongst the Irish till this day Black people find it so difficult to get work here in Ireland and if they do get work they often get harassed for being Black. I had a feeling that the ‘Irish slave’ wasn’t a thing, I’m glad to know in fact it wasn’t.

This is why history is so important.  People try to bury this because of shame and some still feel no guilt.  The Irish are not the only ones who have done this.  Everyone who landed on this rock was the new negro on the block and tried hard to exclude themselves.  No matter how many times you check white on an application you will never be white.  You are just a means to an end. 

the funniest thing about the Irish slave myth is that it was started by non irish (norwegian) white supremacists as a trap for Irish people who really didnt know their own history but claimed whiteness. and it worked. 
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2HX4ykW

liliac-gold:

the-alpha-poptart:

complexparsimony:

queeraro:

accelgors:

prokopetz:

lierdumoa:

prokopetz:

prokopetz:

I’m not ace myself, so I’m coming at the whole acephobia thing from an outsider’s perspective, and as such, it’s not my place to speak to the experience of those on the receiving end of it.

However, as a bisexual dude, I can observe that many of the arguments that are employed to establish that ace folks have no place in the queer community are strikingly similar - indeed, at times practically word-for-word identical - to the arguments that were for many years (and in some circles still are) employed to establish that bisexual folks have no place in the queer community.

It’s enough to make a guy suspicious on general principle, you know?

I’ve gotten a few messages asking for (well, in some cases more “demanding”) elaboration, so: here are a few of the primary areas in which I’ve observed that arguments against bi inclusion and arguments against ace inclusion tend to exhibit significant overlap. There may well be others - these are simply the ones I’ve run into most frequently.

The Passing Argument

It has been argued that bisexual folks don’t have any grounds to complain about discrimination and violence suffered in relation to their orientation, because a bisexual person is able to pass as straight simply by choosing partners of the appropriate gender. Therefore, any discrimination and violence that a bisexual person does experience must be construed as voluntarily undertaken, since they could have passed, and freely chose not to.

This argument is similarly applied to ace folks via the assertion that being ace poses no particular barrier to seeking a partner of a socially acceptable gender, so any failure to do so must likewise be construed as voluntary.

The Performativity Argument

It has been argued that bisexual folks ought to be excluded from queer communities because sexual orientation is purely performative; i.e., being gay is defined in terms of currently having a sexual partner of the same gender.  A bisexual person who has a partner of a different gender is functionally indistinguishable from a straight person, and must therefore be regarded as straight. Conversely, a bisexual person whose current partner is of the same gender must nonetheless be regarded with suspicion, because they could “turn straight” at any time simply by leaving that partner.

This argument is similarly applied to ace folks via the assertion that their orientation has no discernible performative component; an ace person is functionally indistinguishable from a straight person who simply isn’t involved in a sexual relationship at that particular moment, so ace folks must therefore be regarded as straight by default.

(An astute reader may notice that the passing argument dovetails neatly into the performativity argument: those who choose not to seek partners of a socially acceptable gender may be dismissed because any violence and discrimination they experience is a consequence of their voluntary failure to pass, while those who do seek such partners are performatively straight and therefore to be shunned. It’s a neat little system.)

The Mistaken Identity Argument

It has been argued that, while bisexual folks may suffer discrimination and physical and sexual violence, they’re not targeted by such acts because they’re bisexual. Any discrimination and violence a bisexual person suffers in relation to their orientation is suffered because they were mistaken for a gay person. Any effort on their part to discuss such experiences is therefore to be regarded as appropriative, in spite of the fact that they personally experienced it. In short, a bisexual person’s own experience of violence and discrimination doesn’t truly “belong” to them: it “belongs” to the purely hypothetical gay person their persecutors allegedly mistook them for.

This argument is applied to ace folks practically verbatim - no particular adaptation is necessary.

I’ll add The Contribution Argument, which involves one of these gatekeeping behaviors:

1) rewriting history to erase bisexual and asexual contributions to political LGBTQ rights movements, and then claiming that bisexuals and asexuals have never done anything for the community at large

2) arguing that modernday bisexuals and asexuals should be excluded from current political movements because our goals are distinct from, or even contradictory to the goals of the LGBTQ rights movement at large

3) interpreting any attempt on the part of bi/asexuals to make safe spaces for ourselves within the community as an attack on LG safe spaces, generally by reframing bi/ace pride as homo/lesbophobia, or by dismissing accusations of bi/acephobia as inherently homo/lesbophobic

In other words, arguing that bisexuals and asexuals, rather than being contributing members of the community, are parasites on the community, leeching from, and undermining the community and its goals.

The Contribution Argument is an interesting one because it goes way beyond popular biphobia.

It’s often been asserted that bisexual folks ought to be excluded from the LG community because that community is specifically for folks who experience homophobia, and bisexual folks don’t experience homophobia, save by misidentification. (See the Mistaken Identity Argument, above.)

However, anybody who’s over the age of 30 can tell you that the positioning of the experience of homophobia as the community’s great unifier is, itself, a relatively novel development.

Up until quite recently (and by “recently” I mean as recently as the mid 1980s), even lesbians were routinely characterised by the leaders of mainstream gay rights activism as unwelcome parasites, riding on the movement’s coattails and contributing nothing in return.

Not only is identifying the experience of homophobia - defined narrowly as discrimination against those who are actively involved in sexual relationships with persons of the same gender - as the sole qualifier for inclusion a totally arbitrary place to draw the line, it’s baldly ahistorical.

Historically, a great many folks who do experience this type of homophobia have routinely been left out in the cold by mainstream activism for gender and sexual minorities - and the Contribution Argument, as you’ve outlined it here, is one of the primary tools that’s been used to justify that exclusion.

this post is literally just “why won’t those big meanie gays let asexuals in their club??? :(” written in the form of a jargon-filled essay for a philosophy class

I love your wording; because that’s precisely it. Its the “gay club.” As in, its the same fuckers who wanted us bi people to be excluded. It’s the same people who argued that we should drop the “T” to focus on the “gay movement.”

Newsflash: no one wants an invitation to that party. No one is “invading.” No one wants to be included in your “gay club.”

What we want is shits like you to quit perpetuating intra community bigotry and hatred in the LGBT+; because the only ones treating it like a “club” are those of you that check the “queer credentials” of everyone looking for a safe space and stamp their hands with “gay enough I guess” to let us pass through the gates. (Not that we get the same treatment as the ~VIP cis gays~ anyway.)

Anyway, nice to know that you people are still ignoring when bi ppl speak and repurpose that biphobia as ace hatred in the same breath :)))))) kinda :))))))) reinforces the points above :))))))))))

Also the idea that you have to have the consistent ability to perform your sexual orientation on a daily basis in order to be oppressed enough to be welcomed into the exclusive “gay club” is pretty shitty. The point of having inclusive spaces is to allow people a specific space where they feel they can comfortably perform and express their orientation/identity/etc, but if you gatekeep, what you’re telling people (bi and ace people in the case of this discussion) is that they must subject themselves to a constant barrage of discrimination in order to be worthy enough to access a space where they do not feel discriminated against, which just defeats the purpose of said “inclusive” space, doesn’t it?

Why should anyone demand that certain members of the LGBTQ community must run a trial by fire first in order to have enough oppression points to pay for a spot in The Gay Club? And then on top of that, tell them that even AFTER they subject themselves to said discrimination, they’re only accessing the same discrimination “real” gay people face and are therefore somehow insincere in their experiences because they aren’t “gay enough” every day of their life to constitute a real place in the community.

This is more of a personal note, but nothing hurts more than your family/peers calling you broken and sick, then going to an LGBT+ “safe place” and being told that your family/peers were right.

Nothing hurts more than your family/peers calling you broken and sick, then going to an LGBT+ “safe place” and being told that your family/peers were right.
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2IJuG4m

jabberwockypie:

nyxserpent:

crazy-pages:

Okay. This seems pretty insane if you don’t know what the existing state of terminally ill patients’ options is. So let’s go over that.

Terminally ill patients can sign up to be part of pre FDA approval trials for treatments which might potentially cure them. As these treatments are experimental, untested, not guaranteed to get results, and intended to provide profit to the medical provider in the long run, patients cannot be charged for these experimental treatments. As it should be. It’d be pretty unethical to get people to pay you to be your guinea pig for treatments which may not even help them.

This “right to try” law changes that. It makes it legal for terminally ill patients to be charged for experimental treatments. Furthermore, it removes FDA testing restrictions from the process. Currently a company which tries an ‘experimental’ treatment they know won’t work will get the hammer dropped on them by the FDA. But under this new process, medical providers would be legally allowed to provide ‘treatments’ they know won’t work, without oversight. This would legalize medical predation on terminally ill patients.

Labeling this bill ‘right to try’ makes it seem like terminally ill patients aren’t allowed to seek out experimental treatments right now. But they are! All this bill does is make a terminally ill patients more financially burdened and more vulnerable to predation.

That’s why the Democrats blocked it.

Thank you for explaining it

Reblogging for EXPLANATION
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2DN6t9k

arahir:

me: man i can’t wait to write this when i have free time

when i have free time:
(Your picture was not posted)

Photo

Mar. 22nd, 2018 04:38 pm
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2G58uj5
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2FT9f2V

itsalburton:

thanris:

fat bird bullying my doggo

@indirispeaks @degeneratemagicalcatgirl @ocress this cheeky little shit bird
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2DN72Qv

alwaysalreadyangry:

i thought i’d written this up on here before, but i can’t find it. so let me tell you my favourite story about my time in oxford.

my college library is a converted church (with graveyard still attached). and it closed at about 1am every night, but they let people keep working in the vestry – where there were… i think six desks? – overnight. i was not very good at doing my work at anything other than the absolute last minute, and would fairly often end up in the vestry the night before an essay was due.

it was grim. honestly i do not miss it.

the highlight of those nights was when i allowed myself a break to go out to buy a burger from the kebab van that was on the other side of the high street. the nearest kebab van was ahmed’s. kebab vans in oxford are serious business (there are few kebab shops, and they’re mostly not near the colleges, where the first and third-year students often live in). i just looked ahmed’s up to check i was spelling his name right and found this amazing painting of the van!!

anyway. so one night in – i guess it was probably april? i think it was in my final year, and not too long to go before exams – i walked out to the kebab van. it was 2am, or maybe 3am. a weeknight – maybe a tuesday – and there was nobody around. too late for other people taking study breaks, and maybe the people who were out clubbing weren’t coming back yet. i felt like i and ahmed and the other guy who worked in his van were the only people alive.

and then an entire band of men turned up in full 16th century regalia. 

i think maybe one or two of them had musical instruments with them, but not all of them. they stood there. they didn’t seem to think that they were doing anything unusual. i guess for them, it wasn’t. nobody else came by. nobody said anything except to order some food.

i thought: am i hallucinating??? what is happening???

i always ordered a cheeseburger at ahmed’s, and as it wasn’t a busy night they didn’t already have any cooking, so i stood by the van for a good five minutes while it cooked, just watching these men, who seemed like time-travellers, solemnly order their kebabs. none of them had phones out or anything. nothing broke the illusion except the situation we were in. it honestly felt like time was collapsing. like we had all been pulled out of the timestream and were just chilling here together. it wasn’t april whatever, 3am, 2011. it was no time, no place. The Kebab Van At The End of Time.

they just seemed like people from the past who wanted to get something to eat. an eternal constant. and the guys in the van were as nonchalant about it as the men themselves were. yeah, we get sixteenth century people through here all the time.

and you know what, they probably do. it’s oxford.
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2IHVm5v

slimejen:

you wanna sit down Mama Murphy? you gotta fuckin work for it
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2pw9A10

medusasstory:

crunchbuttsteak:

crunchbuttsteak:

Minimum Wage should be indexed to 2% of a city’s median rent.

And here’s why:

Housing costs are the single biggest financial burden facing Americans today.

The Department of Housing and Urban Development define being cost-burdened as spending more than a third of your income on rent. By that definition, over half of the households in this country are cost-burdened. Source

If we want people to be able to afford to live in cities and not get priced out, we have to make a two pronged approach. One is to build houses towards all incomes and price ranges, not just luxury condos. And the other is a robust wage floor so people can actually afford to live.

Fight for 15 is doing an amazing job and I love them, but we have to realize that is quite a few places, $15/hr still isn’t enough to live on.

Which is where the 2% comes in. It allows a minimum wage that is flexible with regards to the costs of living.

And it wasn’t plucked out of thin air either:

Rent should be a third of a persons income, or to restate the equation: income should be three times a person’s rent.

And since a full time job is 8 hrs a day / 40 hrs a week / 160 hrs a month.

So when you do the math, the ideal hourly minimum wage as a percentage of rent works out to around 1.875%, which for ease of calculation is 2%.

Example minimum wages under a 2% rent rule:

San Francisco: $67.40/hr

New York City: $56/hr

Boston: $55.94/hr

Los Angeles: $27/hr

Houston: $21.38/hr

St. Louis: $18.22/hr

Billings, MT: $17.16/hr

I. That puts San Fran’s cost-of-living issue into perspective. 
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2pzEIfn

ask-chairkun:

Social Links
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2IJABWV

prozdvoices:

life as a persona protagonist
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2G4gJMv

one-punch-titty:

guys being dudes
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2IK2GNH

velvet-ribbon:

the phantom thieves in Persona 5 the animation ✨
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2pyIJAW

pompousprince:

Average Scene in Persona 5

Player: I’ll order a burger

Waitress: that’ll be 500 yen

Creepy little girl voice: thou art I and I art thou…thou hast awakened a new bond: the food service arcana

Sae Niijima in the interrogation room: for you to pull off a criminal enterprise of this size and sophistication you must have been eating regularly…there had to be some accomplice assisting you, someone with ready access to large amounts of culinary resources and condiments…some sort of nefarious food delivery expert…tell me! *bangs fists on table*
(Your picture was not posted)

Photo

Mar. 22nd, 2018 08:14 pm
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2FYZ5O0
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2pyiA57

thefingerfuckingfemalefury:

sodalovin:

kuvirametalbender:

adaemonie:

kabardina:

leofitzisms:

according to hetero dating law the girl shouldn’t pay for her meal which, logically, means that if two girls go on a date together nobody pays and they get everything for free but the catch is that they have to stand the whole time bc no one can pull out a chair

declan’s 8 year old cousin gabriel has come up with a perfect solution! yes, he admits, it’s true that in order for a date to be sufficiently romantic the man has to pay. when asked how best to preserve the romantic mood if two women go on a date, gabe suggests they simply get the attention of the nearest man and request he pay for their dinner. crowd-funded lesbianism, what a beautiful concept

reblogging this again for the crowd-funded lesbianism tbh

what happens when two guys go on a date?

they fight for the right to pay for the meal, and the losing male pays for the nearest lesbian date

AN ELEGANT SOLUTION
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2pwXkgR

lunaticshrimphere:

xxcopycat7151xx:

runrunrun-asfastasyoucan:

lah-disputes:

I decided to create a masterpost that would help you with what you are struggling with. Hopefully any of the links below will help you!

Reminder; You’re going to be okay. What you are going through will pass, just remember to breathe. 

————————————————————————————-

Distractions;

Here are some distractions to help keep your mind occupied so you aren’t too focused on your thoughts. 

-Draw something

-This website translates the time into colours.

-Create your own galaxy.

-Play flowing.

-Make a 3D line travel where ever you like. 

-Listen to music.

-Calm.

-Ocean mood, do nothing for two minutes.

Sleep issues; 

- 8 hour sleep music.

-Rainy mood. 

-Meditation.

-Coping with nightmares.

-How to cope with nightmares, 11 steps.

-Calm

-Foods that can affect your sleeping, both positive and negatively. 

 

Uncomfortable with silence; 

-Rainy mood.

-10 hours of rain and thunder.

-3 hours of rain and thunder.

-Human heartbeat.

-Rainforest.

-Sound of rain on a tin roof.

-Autumn wind.

-Rain on a tent

-Traffic in the rain.

-Soft traffic. 

-Fan.

-Train.

-Simply noise.

-My noise.

-Rainy cafe.

Anxiety; 

-How to stop worrying. 

-Tips to manage anxiety and stress.

-The 10 best ever anxiety management techniques. 

-Self-help strategies for anxiety. 

-Helping a friend with anxiety. 

-All about worrying.

-8 myths about anxiety. 

Sad, angry and depressed/depression; 

-“I’m always sad”

-Feeling sad.

-Going through trauma.

-“I’m always angry”.

-Anger management. 

-All about anger.

-National helplines and websites.

-Self-help strategies for depression.

-Dealing with depression at work.

-Dealing with depression at school.

Isolation and loneliness; 

-Pets and mental health.

-All about loneliness. 

-“I feel so alone”

-10 more ideas to help with loneliness. 

-How to deal with loneliness.

 

Self-harm;

-Alternatives to self-harm and distraction techniques.

-146 things to do besides self-harm.

-More alternatives to self-harm.

-Self-harm alternatives.

-How to take care of self-harm wounds/injuries.

-Getting rid of scars.  

Addiction; 

-How to help a friend with a drug addiction.

-What is addiction?

-All about alcohol and addiction.

-The facts about drug addiction.

 

Eating disorders; 

-Helping a friend with an eating disorder.

-Eating disorder treatments. 

-Support services for eating disorders. 

-Self-help tips with eating disorders.

-Eating disorder recovery. 

-Recovering from an eating disorder. 

-100+ reasons to recover. 

-Understanding and managing eating disorders. 

 

Dealing with self-hatred;  

-3 ways to ease self-loathing. 

-How to turn self-hatred into self-compassion.

-Self-hatred resources.

-10 step plan to deal with self-hate. 

 

Suicidal; 

-International suicide hotlines (1)  (2)

-Preventing suicide. 

-Reasons to stay alive.

-Dealing with suicidal thoughts and feelings.

-Coping with suicidal ideation.  

 

Schizophrenia;

-All about schizophrenia.  

-Helping a person with schizophrenia.  

-Understanding and dealing with schizophrenia.  

-Delusions and hallucinations.  

OCD;

-Managing your OCD at home. 

-Overcoming OCD.

-How to cope with OCD. 

-Strategies for dealing with the anxious moments. 

Borderline personality disorder; 

-Helping someone with BPD. 

-All about personality disorders.

-Treatment for BPD.

Abuse; 

-Healthy relationships VS abusive relationships. 

-Emotional abuse

-Overcoming sexual abuse. 

-Hotlines services. 

-5 ways to escape an abusive relationship. 

-Domestic violence support. 

-Signs of an abusive relationship. 

-What do to if you’re in an abusive relationship. 

-Surviving abuse. 

-What you can do if you’re sexual harassed. 

-Sexual assault support.

-What to do if you’ve been sexually assaulted or abused. 

 

Bullying;

-How to stand up against bullying.

-How to protect yourself when it comes to cyber bullying.

-How to help stop people bullying you. 

 

Loss and grief; 

-How to cope with a suicide of a loved one.

-Grieving for a stranger. 

-Common reactions to death. 

-Working through grief.

(Other loss and grief)

-Moving away from friends and family. 

-Coping with a breakup.

 

Getting help; 

-Seeking help early. 

-All about psychological treatments. 

-Types of help.

-All about age and confidentiality. 

Things you need to remember; 

- Don’t stress about being fixed because you’re not broken.

-Remember to remind yourself of your accomplishments. Tell yourself that you’re proud of yourself, even if you’re not. 

- This is temporary. You won’t always feel like this. 

-You are not alone. 

-You are enough. 

-You are important. 

-You are worth it. 

-You are strong. 

-You are not a failure, 

-Good people exist. 

-Reaching out shows strength. 

-Breathe. 

-Don’t listen to the thoughts that are not helping you. 

-Give yourself credit. 

-Don’t be ashamed of your emotions, for the good or bad ones. 

-Treat yourself the same way as you would treat a good friend. 

-Focus on the things you can change. 

-Let go of toxic people. 

-You don’t need to hide, you’re allowed to feel the way you do. 

-Try not to beat yourself up. 

-Something is always happening, you don’t want to miss out on what’s going to happen next. 

-You are not a bother.

-Your existence is more than your appearance. 

-You are smart. 

-You are loved. 

-You are wanted. 

-You are needed. 

-Better days are coming. 

-Just because your past is dark, doesn’t mean your future isn’t bright. 

-You have more potential than you think. 

- Your value doesn’t decrease based on someone’s inability to see your worth.

Please remember to look after yourself and know that you are more than worth it and you deserve to be happy. Keep smiling butterflies x

 

God bless the person who made this

It makes me happy to think how much time this person put into making sure strangers were okay. Now it’d just be rude not to even try it, wouldn’t it.

Wow… this is so amazing. Thank you.
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2DKPDYF

golbatgender:

Everyone’s going like “don’t use the change my mind meme the guy it’s based on is transphobic” but like, making it a meme is mocking him and his annoying signs. It’s refusing to engage with him the way he wants and just repeating the words back at him in that wonky SpongeBob voice. It’s like making fun of Haman’s shitty hat and making up an entire genre of cookies about it. Basically, saying to stop meming the thing is saying to take that jerk seriously, and that’s what he wants. For fuck’s sake, don’t just hand him the win over some sense of thought-free moral performativity.
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2ILKq6M

chuuni:

lycoris radiata

“I only think of you”
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2DNPO5r

huitality:

michael b jordan is going to kill me in my sleep
(Your picture was not posted)

Photo

Mar. 22nd, 2018 09:49 pm
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2GfvPlq
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2IKFKya

jhin-ffxiv:

love-in-mind-palace:

kelseyeng:

Had so much fun designing this series of mermaid paintings based off of Indian saris! More art here: www.instagram.com/kelseyeng32

Also I am looking for illustration work - editiorial, YA, etc if anyone knows of anything :) 

Keep reading

Omigodomigod these are so pretty

@ayyymeric
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2pvveSq

thebootydiaries:

bug: hi

me: Aren’t You Supposed To Be Dead.
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2ucYkvj

trashboat:

vriskanon:

m-a-d-luvs-comics:

Another by Josh Luna

What the fuck? The original comic is about whitewashing:

source

they whitewashed the comic im screaming
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2G5pHsV

gay-propagandist:

Alternatively you know i really love it that whenever there’s a post abt some russian lgbt issue all the donation links are for western lgbt organisations or people mention them only after they’ve listed every other lgbt org imaginable.

Like who do you think physically rescues these men from Chechnya and provides them shelter in other cities? Who sets up hotlines for them? Who keeps track of the crisis? It’s our local organisations, particularly the Russian LGBT Network. Not the American orgs.

(You can donate to the russian lgbt network here: https://www.lgbtnet.org/en/endonate)
(Your picture was not posted)

Profile

gravityeyelids: (Default)
Rachel

April 2019

S M T W T F S
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930    

Most Popular Tags

Page Summary

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 11:26 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios