Jan. 26th, 2018

gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2rFXnKT

kinkydaydreams:

peachieskin:

punk-in-the-beerlight:

THIS IS EXACTLY THAT SHIT THAT I HATE. Yes, I realize your intentions are good. But that shit hurts.

Fat women are not brave just for existing. I’m not “SO CONFIDENT” because I posted a selfie just like everyone else in the world does. I’m not confident at all. I want to be. I"m just a person. My weight and body are one small part of me and don’t make me any different from anyone else.

Also? Shit like “You’re beautiful, don’t let anyone tell you otherwise” is so fucking backhanded, quit that. “You’re beautiful” will suffice. When you add the last bit on there, you are literally saying “I’m assuming everyone else tells you you’re ugly, see how nice I am?” and that fucking hurts, too.

👆🏼👆🏼👆🏼 if ya wanna piss me off, say I’m brave…

DITTO
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2EcENN1

Zenyatta: The boy who tried to shove a flower up his nose.
Reinhardt: The one who told me to watch before running face-first into a wall at full speed.
D.Va: The 2-year-old who told me sadly, "There's no wi-fi."
Junkrat and Roadhog: The two stabbing each other in the hands with forks at the lunch table.
Symmetra: The girl who cried when she got food she didn't like on her clean hands (I now keep paper towels nearby to clean her hands off right away since it bothered her so much).
Lucio: The one who comes (consistently) screaming when their favorite song drops.
Mercy: The one who looked a screaming child in the face and told her "you're FINE."
Widowmaker: The one who had the gall to look me in the eyes and tell me "I don't like your outfit" before asking for something.
Soldier 76: The boy who looked off into the distance on the playground and replied "I'm going home" when I asked what he was doing.
McCree: The one that tripped down the last few stairs, locked eyes with me and cheerfully said "howdy"
Ana: The girl that hurled a dodgeball at another girl who was already on the floor crying
Genji: the boy who climbed to the top of the jungle gym to escape the Oni during tag and then cried because he couldn't get down
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2GgwvnY

theafricanunicorn:

So I made this top yesterday but tell me why I almost had a whole ass photo shoot in my bed room 😭 

instagram.com/cynthianyongesa
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2Ebi18c

neyruto:

Cowboys are witches and horses are their familiars
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2rG3crz

stevens-lion-447:

unwinona:

staroidi:

How I Teach Men Not To Talk Over Me: from one feminist to another, when basic respect is lagging and conversations are impossible

I’ve done this to several men, and they catch on rather quickly. You’ll be able to have a conversation right then and there, and it works long term too - they might’ve forgot their manners by the time you talk to them again, but by repeating this, they’ll eventually learn to let you talk without you having to do this at the start of every convo. Source: I have a very stubborn older brother, who eventually learned too.

1. When they interrupt you, stop talking. Don’t try to raise your voice or battle them. Be completely quiet and wait.

2. Ignore everythingthey’re saying. Do not actually listen - just wait until they shut up. Don’t make a point of anything they say, do not answer to anything they say, do not refer to anything they say here. Literally do not listen a single word. Let them rant as long as they want.

3. When they finally shut up and wait for your reaction, say: ”I wasn’t done talking.”

4. Start over whatever you were saying when they interrupted you. I don’t care if it was a 10-minute explanation of rocket science. Start. Over. Repeat you original thought, but do not add anything related to what they just said while talking over you. That gives them the idea that it’s okay to interrupt you, you’ll still listen and pay attention and they’ll get their point clear without having to listen to yours. (It’s especially funny when you get done and they expect you to keep going talking about whatever they talked over you. The face when it sinks in that you didn’t listen a single word is glorious.)

5. If they interrupt you again, return to step 1. If you find yourself repeating the cycle over 3 times, tell them: ”you’re not letting me speak. Either you listen and wait for your turn, or our conversation ends here.” If they try to make excuses, laugh it off or keep interrupting, end the conversation. Prove them that if they wont let you speak, they’re not worth your time.

Why does this work? First, because sometimes talking over is internalized and men don’t actually notice they’re doing it. Being vocally called out makes them realize it and pay attention to it - especially if it happens more than once. Secondly, by refusing to aknowledge anything they say when they interrupt you, they’ll soon realize they will not get their own point across if they keep doing that. Peoole and especially men have the need to be heard and paid attention to when they talk - when you make it clear that by talking over you, they will not have your attention, they’ll learn to wait until you’re done, because they know that’s when you will be paying attention and actually listening.

Go my darlings. Have some actual conversations where your point of view is just as valid as his. Demand the basic respect of being heard. You can actually have some interesting conversations with men when they’re forced to listen too, when being louder is not going to make them feel like they’re dominating the conversation or winning the argument.

This is gonna be fun.

Need to remember this
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2nfIEB0

babyanimalgifs:

This made my day
(Your picture was not posted)

Photo

Jan. 26th, 2018 08:30 pm
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2DBfpzj
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2neWMLI

blinkpen:

i love that part in the third episode of FMA:B where it’s revealed that ed had staged a classic “expose the villain’s lies by acting like i’m cornered and then secretly record/broadcast the ensuing monologue to the public” scheme

only instead of a stealthy bug or a wire he used a regular ass standing mic and it was lying right in the middle of the fucking floor the entire time and the guy just didn’t notice it was there when he walked in
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2nez16k

becausedragonage:

watercolored-braids:

sloppy:

shapeandcolour:

This weekend, activists in Uganda - a country where homosexuality is punishable by death - held their first Pride. 

This is the epitome of courage. I have no other words. 

this is making me tear up holy shit

This makes me soo fucking proud most of us in places like Nigeria and Uganda especially northern Nigeria, the punishment by law is getting stoned to death if you show any signs of being gay. This makes me sad that Me and thousands of others can’t be themselves but still, this is so FUCKING beautiful I am proud of the people of my African continent!

I just want to make it clear that the photo was taken, and the first Ugandan Pride was held, in 2012. Five years later they’re still celebrating Pride. Despite the fact that they face police raids and arrests, they’ve made this an annual event. 
(Your picture was not posted)

Profile

gravityeyelids: (Default)
Rachel

April 2019

S M T W T F S
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 01:38 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios