Jan. 12th, 2018

gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2qXBiam:

bumble-bee-pd:

whenever anyone mentions that they were talking abt me I get this weird but kind of comforting feeling that I exist to a person outside of our own relationship,, like?? u talked abt me??? u thought of me when I wasn’t there????? i exist to u when I’m not around????!!!!!!?
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2D3X7KV:

gothhabiba:

imo a pretty significant problem with sj/leftist/radical/whatever-you-want-to-call-it politics in a lot of popular circles is that they’re based on opinions rather than being based on values. having “good politics” is understood as collecting and displaying a whole bunch of correct opinions using the correct language (which is, of course, determined by the leading order of the day and subject to change), rather than having a good set of values and strategies for gaining information from which you can arrive at your own conclusions.

someone having “good politics” to me doesn’t mean that they have a list of positions that I agree with, but rather that they base their politics off of compassion, respect, a desire for a nuanced understanding of the world around them + how they relate to other people, etc. etc. And it’s very likely that we’ll agree on a lot of things and disagree on a few but ultimately I can understand where they’re coming from and we can have a discussion about our disagreements that’s productive and hopefully leads to both of us having a better understanding.
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2CYqwSN:

humansofnewyork:

“My husband had a sudden heart attack a few months ago. It was just a few blocks from here. They called me in to identify his body and then just let me walk right out onto 7th Avenue. I felt so lost. My friends were wonderful and supportive but eventually everyone moves on with their lives. I don’t have children. And I’m not a workaholic. So I was left with this intense loneliness and void. I couldn’t eat. I couldn’t sleep. Then one day I started researching dogs that are good for grief and depression. And ‘poodle’ kept popping up. But when I went to the rescue fair, all the poodles were gone. There was this one old dog in the back that nobody was looking at. She was skin and bones. She was trembling and scared and mucus was running out of her eyes. She seemed so fragile. She reminded me of myself. I named her Grace because I think my husband sent her to me. She’s my first dog. She’s been pure joy. We spend all our time together. She’s gained her weight back. She comes with me to therapy. We’re getting better together.”
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2mwFw4e:

snowthunder:

I mean really? With the book shelves?

It’s like an alcove of happiness.

You want a whole row of individual seats? Fine, here you go. Or how about a whole window bed for those snugglers out there.Curtains.. Guys this one has curtains.Seriously? This is basically a glass cube of bliss. You can even get them with corners! Not enough corners? Okay.Ba-BAM!! Corners for cocooning. There’s also the Roman-esque themed seat for the historians out there.  If you don’t want to snuggle up in blankets with hot cocoa in this then I don’t even know why you’re on this planet. I mean dat stonework. This one’s an entire rectangle. Just imagine all the cuddling that could happen in there. It’s practically a fortress.This one’s fucking curved okay? it’s just chillin, up of the ground, and curved for your lounging convenience. don’t like rectangles or square? Okay. Have a fucking trapezoid seat.
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2Fxu286:

shittynewyorkercartooncaptions:

The Cream of the Crap, 2017 

[Follow us on Instagram]
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2qY7bzE:

butchknight:

I was so fucking torn between these two answers
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2Dp82fb:

sk4ting-wit-satan:

i need to lay in bed in someones arms for ten hours at least
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2AUaRC4:

just-shower-thoughts:

The only thing flat-earthers have to fear is sphere itself.
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2mz5yUt:

someone: am i the only one who—
me: There are 7,000,000,000 People On This Earth
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2mrao52:

boycomics:

a sequel
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2mwX3Js:

tikkunolamorgtfo:

guccimatty:

tikkunolamorgtfo:

giambattistavico:

fromacomrade:

I’ve literally seen this happen

The number of people in the notes who thought that a post meant to illustrate how Jewish people merely existing should never be taken as a political statement about Israel would be a great platform to say “Fuck Jews, Free Palestine” is depressingly astounding.

yeah western jews are the real victims of the isreali occupation

Do you genuinely not understand the difference between standing against the occupation and going up to Jewish people merely existing in the diaspora and asking them to submit to a loyalty test, or…?
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2CV5c0h:

accio-rebels:

lone-star-multiple-moons:

thefingerfuckingfemalefury:

not-so-tall-gay-danny:

oneshortdamnfuse:

panacea-for-the-absent-soul:

ridersofdickhan:

mister-boss:

dannydevito-senpai:

dothepropaganda:

dothepropaganda:

punk isn’t just skinny. punk isn’t just perfect mohawks or aesthetically pleasing jackets. punk isn’t only listening to dead kennedys or black flag. punk is being an individual, having no respect for our fascist authority, sticking up for the little guy even if you are the little guy. punk isn’t just a look or a music scene.

i literally made this because nazis and the alt right can’t be punk

Stop bringing politics into music genres lmao

stop bringing politics…….. into punk????

Here’s Green Day, one of the most popular and well known punk bands.

Wait, but there’s MORE!

Wait, in case you weren’t convinced that the punk scene is political and is all about standing up against fascism and bullshit and racism that America is facing:

shut up. Punk is not just a fucking music genre.

Ok I’m reblogging this again bc when I went to see green day, before they properly started playing they made us make a pledge, at the gig there is to be ‘No racism, no sexism, no homophobia, no donald trump’

Punk has been political long before Green Day existed. The political history of the Punk scene(s) cannot be divorced from the music scene(s) that arose out of them. It is not just about music. It is not just about fashion. The stylistic choices made have meaning and are situated in a social/political context. 

That being said, it’s really important to acknowledge that Neo-Nazis didn’t infiltrate the Punk subculture for no reason. Absolutely, make it clear that Neo-Nazis are not welcome in The Punk Scene. However, part of doing that means confronting how they got there.

Punk music isn’t all about one political stance, though it’s commonly anti-authoritarian. Anyone can utilize the genre to promote their own ideologies, even if a popular intention of the genre is to be anti-authoritarian. Green Day is just one of many bands who use Punk music to spread their ideology. 

It’s not just punk. Music has been used as a form of rebellion against oppression for a hell of a long time. Fuck, centuries even. The people who don’t get this have most likely never been oppressed in their life.

A few protest/”political” songs, and some about specific tragedies, from recent history, that aren’t just punk:

Zombie, The Cranberries

I Know A Place, MUNA

99 Luftballons, Nena

Beds Are Burning, Midnight Oil

Khe Sahn, Cold Chisel

I Was Only Nineteen, Redgum

The Greatest, Sia

Fuck Tha Police , N.W.A

Eve of Destruction, Barry McGuire

We Are The World, USA for Africa

Say It Loud (I’m Black and I’m Proud), James Brown

Big Yellow Taxi, Joni Mitchell (or more recently, Counting Crows)

Born in the USA, Bruce Springsteen

Know Your Rights, The Clash

Holiday in Cambodia, Dead Kennedys

The Revolution Will Not Be Televised, Gil Scott Heron

We’ve been doing this shit forever, it’s not new. War, racism, fascism, homophobia… if it’s harmed people, it’s been put into music. It’s an incredibly powerful medium that has changed the world before, and to say that politics, hatred, and tragedy shouldn’t be featured is, honestly, simply ignorant.

I cannot deal with the sheer level of numbskull-ery in a statement like “Don’t bring politics into music” as if this is some Silly Tumblr Fad and not something that’s been a thing for over a hundred years

bard is a combat class

bard is a combat class
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2mraE40:

dazzledfirestar:

stardust-rain:

violent-darts:

sephboy:

heres a cool idea: what if in 2017 tumblr commie kids gave up the creepy romanticization of the soviet union thing in favor of the aesthetics of american labor history–the haymarket riot, the pullman strike, the great railroad strike, emma goldman & yiddish socialism, woody guthrie, pete seeger, paul robeson, the iww and the 1912 textile workers’ strike, the ladies’ garment workers’ union, wpa murals, the american communist party, bread and roses, the union maid. that’s the Good Shit if yr looking for historical leftist culture imo

Seriously tho, kids. 

The USSR was a blood-soaked mess. A racist, anti-semitic, sexist blood-soaked mess at that. Do not repeat the sins of the Left of the 60s/etc by ignoring that. (Same goes for Maoist China, etc.) To ignore that is to literally piss on a truly appalling number of graves As an allegory, Animal Farm’s inaccuracies were that it’s not grim and horrific enough. The most conservative and hesitant and “well we don’t want to be hysterical about this” count of Stalin’s death toll, not including famine-victims, is 4 million; the one which, after various amounts of research, I find most convincing is about 20 million. Mao’s Great Leap Forward killed anywhere from 18 to 50 million, and we have literal footage of Tienamen, guys. 

This is not the good example you are looking for. Do not romanticise them. 

100% go back, as OP says, to the things that actually had good results (like a 40 hour work-week and basic human worker’s rights and shite) and did not do them over mountains of corpses. We have lots! They even included (gosh!) women! and queers! and people of colour/different ethnicities! They do all the things you want. 

These are your models. Not those bloody handed bastards over there. 

honestly, now is more important than ever to remember the historical contributions that the working class has made for social movements, given how much the media have taken blaming them for the rise of fascism. 

From Trump to Brexit, the narrative being spun has been that of “the working class were too poor and too dumb to know better” and how both Brexit and Trump spoke for them or to them, even though a majority of that demographic are non-white/immigrant/minorities who are severely affected by the political outcome. It’s a false narrative and it is both classist and racist and erases the fact that labour rights and worker’s rights and social rights in West Europe and Americas have come from and were heavily supported by the socialist left and working classes. 

Just to start off, I was reading the other day about The 1936 Battle of Cable Street, which was a stand organised by the local working class comprising of Jewish locals, the Irish locals, Labour and Communist party members in a demonstration against a Nazi march that lead to confrontation with the police (Discworld fans, read the fuck up about this because you will find a lot of what Pratchett was referencing in Night Watch). 

I’m sure there’s probably a lot more examples, and what OP mentioned definitely deserves more historical context and background. But the fact is that those historical contexts are either forgotten or ignored by the tumblr social justice commie kids scene because clueless privileged teenagers are more willing to worship dead genocidal dictators for cheap aesthetics than do actual fucking research. 

There’s a difference between celebrating bloody totalitarian regimes and celebrating actual socialist and leftist movements that had a positive outcome, in all their complexities, struggles and conflicts. And that difference means research and looking at the contexts of historical and social political landscapes of the time, the sum of which unfortunately can’t be reduced to sickle-and-hammer on a pastel colour palette.  

Also please be aware that the horrors that were brought down on people in the USSR and other regimes are within living memory. There are witnesses, victims and perpetrators STILL ALIVE, and potentially on tumblr. This is not some far off thing that happened hundreds of years ago. PLEASE understand how the trivializing and romanticizing of these regimes and their imagery can be very triggering.
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2DpyeGz:

captain-narraboth:

BLESSED IMAGE
(Your picture was not posted)

Photo

Jan. 12th, 2018 11:37 pm
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2D04zml:
(Your picture was not posted)

Photo

Jan. 12th, 2018 11:37 pm
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2DqoR9K:
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2DpK8jy:

mindfulwrath:

herebelife:

herebelife:

herebelife:

herebelife:

Okay so like…A few weeks ago I saw this in a dollar store and thought it was pretty neat so I bought it

and now I’m wondering if I jinxed myself because like a couple of weeks after, I  bought this:

he’s looking more and more like the plate every day, i think i did accidentally buy a prophetic plate

I think the brown is taking over purposely so he can match the plate???

getting entirely too similar for comfort

possibly he is growing to match the plate?

the portrait of Doggian Gray
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2AUEXp0:

philomaela:

You came as a she-devil?
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2AVW5ur:

marshmallowmachinegun:

jennikeatts:

candystrippers:

imnimnm:

destinyrush:

Video shows Maryland cops REPEATEDLY pepper spray 15-year-old honor roll student.

5 ft 105 lbs girl, whose name has not been officially released yet, was brutalized by Hagerstown police after she on her bike was hit by a car, but refused medical assistance. 

Her family’s attorney says that when police arrived, they grabbed the little girl, lifted her hands above her head and slammed her face into a wall.

“They slammed her against a wall, arrested her for refusing treatment, maced her 4 times in the police car while handcuffed, and took her to the police station instead of the hospital.”

She was put in the car, which is when a bystander began filming the incident. The video shows the 15-year-old with her hands handcuffed behind her back kicking at the police car door and later a cop is heard saying: “Put your feet in, or you’re going to get sprayed!” Officer proceeds to pepper spray her a few times. 

The girl can be heard screaming: “I can’t breathe!”

The girl was only taken to hospital when she was released to her parents. 

Three hours after being pepper sprayed she was finally able to wash her eyes.

She is now charged with disorderly conduct, two counts of second-degree assault, possession of marijuana and failure to obey a traffic device.

#BlackLivesMatter    #StopPoliceViolence

#StayWoke

this is where I live and there’s nothing on the news about it

This is torture. They tortured her for fucking fun.

just keep in mind they took Dylan Roof into custody wearing a bullet proof vest to protect him from anyone that may try to kill him THEN they bought him Burger King to eat after the arrest. 

But this is how they treat an innocent child.

Cops are literal fucking demons
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2D7x6dV:

sweet-bitsy:

I want to put this on every one of my social medias because if I mysteriously die soon I need you to know the culprit. Please tell my family I
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2AV6gQc:

theawesomeadventurer:

fungoidfred:

the-macra:

and i can scream :)

imagine explaining this post to your grandmother
(Your picture was not posted)

Profile

gravityeyelids: (Default)
Rachel

April 2019

S M T W T F S
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 28th, 2026 01:38 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios