Dec. 27th, 2017

gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2pDzH90:

hobbitsaarebas:

zombeesknees:

antique-royals:

John William Godward  (1861 –1922)

#I can’t come I’m sick [tiny elegant cough]

now THIS is an artist who found what worked for him and worked it to its utmost. “What is it you like to depict?” “Beautiful pale women with dark hair in diaphanous gowns lying down in this one specific pose”
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2pFwm9i:

tachypneic:

benepla:

i think oceans 8 looks dykey & great but it’s worth noting all the white protagonists are upper class professionals and all the women of color protagonists are……street conman! jewlery bootlegger! hacker but like the kind that lives in a shitty apartment! and that’s it. Women-fronted movies have long been having issues with racial dynamics let’s try to change that yes thanks

tru but

the women of color are just as professional in their fields as the white women. the white women are just as criminal as the woc. judging from the trailer, three of them got their upper class lives from stealing. one of them (helena bonham carter) seems like a ditz. 
none of these women are respectable, ethically speaking. 

a majority of woc are poor in real life. we live in shitty apartments. we work shitty jobs. sometimes it do be like that.

donna meagle, a character in parks and rec, was portrayed as a rich, boujee, sophisticated woman. she was secretive and sexy, she was shown to be desired by all sorts of conventionally attractive men. she was played by Retta; a fat, dark skinned black woman. people complained about how her character was unrealistic and didn’t portray the lives of black women accurately.
there’s no one role/character that can accurately portray the lives of women of color. this is a fantastic start.

this movie looks great, like you said. it represents women of color. we are starving for representation. and here we are, represented. this is great. please watch this movie.

this movie cannot flop. misogynists are rooting for this to fail. they want female-led action movies to stop being a thing. remember ghostbusters?

the lack women in STEM has been an issue for years now. the lack of woc specifically in STEM is also a problem that doesn’t get talked about as much because it just gets grouped into the issue of “women in STEM”. to see a computer savvy black woman is something new and refreshing.

personally speaking, as an asian woman, i’m thrilled to see an asian woman who is a con artist.
what are the expected jobs for asian women in media and society? doctors? nurses? therapists? something dutiful? cosmetologists? masseuses? something sexual?
asians are seen as the “model minority”. it’s a stereotype and everyone should know at this point that there’s no such thing as a positive stereotype.
to see a cool, street smart asian woman conning people out of money? performing sleight of hand tricks? being a thief? is thrilling tbh

op is white. i’m a woman of color. thought i could share my thoughts.
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2lh5EyC:

historical-nonfiction:

From late 1932 until mid-1933, the Soviet Union experienced a major famine largely due to the disastrous policy of forcing peasants to work in collective farms. In Soviet Ukraine, the situation was deliberately exacerbated by teams of activists who removed food from peasant homes. They would go from village to village, entering each house and demanding grain, corn, squash, roots, the seeds for the next year’s crop – everything edible. Then the state closed the borders of Ukraine. The policy was designed to quash Ukraininian separatism, but in reality took away both food and the ability to grow more food, while preventing Ukrainians from leaving their villages to find food elsewhere. Millions died. Today, the famine is known as the Holodomor.

Of course the Soviets tried to cover up how many Ukrainians died. They prevented journalists from visiting the region, forbade publication of the national census in 1937, and then altered the census for years afterward to hide the impact of the Holodomor.

Recently, though, Ukrainian demographers have gone back to look at birth and death records, which were largely unaltered by the Soviets. By estimating how many people should have died and should have been born, they can estimate how many Ukrainians went missing from late 1932 to mid-1933. Using this method, the number of “unnatural deaths” during the Holodomor is 3.9 million.
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2CaeEQh:

lesserjoke:

No, frankincense was the name of the wise man, not the gift he brought. You’re thinking of frankincense’s monster.
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2CbzRcJ:

blarpus:

HOHOHO P5 fandom merry Christmas!! Today I come bearing gifts of a cursed post about your favorite protagonist, [REDACTED] !!!!!
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2Cd5y5w:

aiyuki4s:

モルガナもいるよ
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2CajECe:

penrosesun:

gaymilesedgeworth:

if you’re a Youth and you’re reading this i just wanna discourage you from like….imitating the culture on this site too completely and building your whole worldview through the lens you’re finding here. just. be cautious be careful be critical

This is true for every age, and for every cultural lens.
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2DjXDAa:

tashasilva:

My wish for every writer in 2018 is that you all finish every WIP you got lingering around.

May your words flow freely, may your characters come alive and may everyone love your finished story when they read it.
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2DVCD3R:

boggoth:

mapsontheweb:

Norway compared to Eastern United States.

that’s our secret underwater norway
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2Dln1pp:

blackpanthersdick:

blackpanthersdick:

I love hearing about the vibes I give off cause I honestly have no idea

Anonymously message me what vibes I give off and why you think that
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2Cb3Oto:

mingpicket:

kink: deleting someone’s pointless comment by reblogging the post from the same person they did
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2BJcELC:

filledwiththislight:

Things my dentist has actually said to me:

“Well, either the x-rays lied to me or you are spontaneously creating teeth. I’m going with the second one because it’s way cooler.”

“When was the last time you flossed? Your gums aren’t bleeding which means I’m either not doing this hard enough or you actually floss your teeth regularly”

“You don’t need to do a fluoride treatment I just want to go check my facebook for a second and this is the best excuse I can come up with. Don’t worry your insurance will cover it.”

“Take a whole handful of toothbrushes, I can’t order new ones in less ugly colors until these ones are gone.”

“Remember not to eat or drink anything for a half hour…or actually you know forget that go eat lemons and drink coffee right now. I make money based on peoples bad decisions, you should probably stop brushing your teeth too.”

“I became a dentist because I like making children cry and they don’t let you do that as a regular doctor.”
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2l73MZP:

90377:

Enchanted Forest by ScenicScapes
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2DmChSS:

skyl:

dear-miss-adair:

voidbat:

baphomeme:

im serious about that “stop saving things for special occasions” bit tho like. even if u aren’t in your 20s. thats for everyone. its one of the most useful things ive learned lately

stop! just stop. eat the special snack. drink the expensive hippie tea. use the incense or the bath bomb or whatever you paid way too much for because you were feeling really bad and retail therapy makes u feel alive

when we save things for special occasions/rainy days it contributes to us feeling like A.) our day to day existence is lackluster and B.) you have to be feeling a certain level of Bad, or have to reach a certain level of Socially Accepted Achievement, to enjoy things

just give yourself stuff. there are definitely sometimes reasons to withhold things from yourself - as motivation, if it’s something you consciously want to use sparingly, etc - but at least for me half the time it just turns into self-flagellation and also cool things and cool experiences and nice treats just collect dust while i wait for some fabled day when i convince myself i finally Deserve it

just fuckin give yourself stuff dude. life’s so mindblowingly short

my grandmother died having only used her china like twice in her life. during the year or so before her death, she was starting to package up and give things of hers to her kids, and gave mom the china while sighing “oh i wish i had used the china more!” and mom tried so hard to convince her to just keep it, then, and eat corny dogs off it if she wanted. she insisted she couldn’t possibly, you need a special reason to use the fine china.

when nana died, we used her fine china as our everyday dishes for years. i was 18 when she died, and never really stopped having that in the back of my head.

now, when i hear myself say “i wish i had a reason to wear/do/eat/use X!” i hear nana regretting never really using her china. and let me tell you a thing:

spaghettios taste great when eaten from fine china.

I’ve seen this post making the rounds. Just wanted to add something to it that my sister-in-law once told me:

“A ‘special thing’ can make any occasion special.”

She told me this when I objected to her opening a really expensive bottle of champagne just to watch a movie. And you know, she was right. The champagne was amazing and while we always sit around and watch movies, that bottle made that night a really special occasion that I will always remember.

So, cut yourself a little slack and remember that an ordinary day can become special.

this post kinda makes me feel like crying idk why
(Your picture was not posted)

Photo

Dec. 27th, 2017 07:02 pm
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2pLl03P:
(Your picture was not posted)

Photo

Dec. 27th, 2017 08:32 pm
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2CeC9HS:
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2CeQILy:

shamelesslydrawingin:

bumbleshark:

yall gay girls know you gotta actually communicate to other girls to date them right?

what
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2CdZIym:

laureljupiter:

he;lp this is too beautiful
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2DnlUWd:

pervocracy:

If you want to discourage this behavior, it’s probably easier to talk about it in gender-neutral terms.  “In crowded spaces, it’s rude to take up more space than you need.”  I think most people can agree on that.  I think if we called it something like “seat hogging” very few people would come out of the woodwork to defend it.

But as soon as you turn it into a gender discourse–”manspreading is a symptom of toxic masculinity teaching men that it’s manly to take up more space than women”–then you find people willing to go waaaayyyy out on a limb to justify it.  What about men’s hip shapes?  What about squishing their balls?  Why are you demanding everyone sit with their kneecaps perfectly touching at all times?  You can’t prove that 100% of men do this and 0% of women do this! Suddenly “is it okay to be the human equivalent of a BMW parked across three spaces” becomes a live debate.

And I don’t really know what the answer is here.  It’s easier to not bring gender into it if you just want a damn subway seat that isn’t 50% knee.  But it’s not the whole story, and it’s letting people push you around by means of obnoxious discourse.  And if we concede ground here, does it make it harder to talk about issues that can’t be discussed without admitting some kinds of gender disparity exist?

…Aw man, now these guys have even got their metaphorical knees in women’s way.
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2CgJJ2F:

politicalsci:
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2Doonj7:

koolworu:

youmu-konpaku:

fun thing i just remembered

in japanese, there’s a term for a person who dual wields swords called “ryoutoutsukai”, literally meaning something along the lines of “two sword user”. it’s ALSO a euphemism for bisexuality

Duel-wielding is bisexual culture
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2Dn5CMY:

setheverman:

emeraldembers:

setheverman:

setheverman:

all letters in my name are actually silent

it’s pronounced like *gust of wind*

Are we talking a poetic autumn breeze or a fart here

depends on your accent
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2CfC9VY:

galaxxxia:

Dwarven lesbian warrior here to break down your door and pet all your dogs
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2l80Ufe:

hey-is-that-a-giant-tooth:

fictionallyattractive:

dodonmastoklese:

overdevelopedid:

dodonmastoklese:

overdevelopedid:

fireb0y:

“Why don’t you have any sales going on?”

“Why don’t you take your cheap ass back to Marshall’s where it belongs?”

“Let me speak to your manager.”

“Hey, if you wanna be told the same shit in a different voice, I do a really good Jack Nicholson.”

Do you have this patio set in a different color?
Yeah but fuck you its on the top shelf and I’m not getting a ladder. Eat a dick old lady.

“What!? Why is that your policy?!”

“To fuck with you, specifically. We do it differently for everyone else.”

*burns stack of expired coupons in front of customer*

“This food is dry and gross.”

“I thought I would serve food based on the customer today.”

*customer walks in 5 minutes to close with a trolley*

*me, screaming like a Banshee* FUCK OOOOOFFFFFFFFF
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2pKGJsz:

abracataako:

sirmat:

abracataako:

frenchfrycourse:

xoteria:

master-of-pocket-worlds:

abracataako:

making fun of asexuals ain’t funny anymore leave that shit in 2017

2018 is the year of supporting ace and aro people and welcoming them into LGBT+ spaces <3

2018 is the year of recognizing that cishet ace discourse is literally the least important conversation to be having about oppression and exclusion in the lgbt community when there are trans ppl of color we could be centering instead and not cishet ace ppl

2018 is the year of recognizing that you can care about more than one issue in the LGBT+ community

2018 is the year of not derailing a post about not making fun of asexuals and aromantics

2018 is the year of supporting ace and aro people

☝️☝️☝️

2018 is the year of stopping the idea of using “___ is an aphobe”, (or rather “___ has harassed myself or others due to my/their sexuality in some way”) as a meme-y example of how wacky and silly tumblr discourse gets.

And it’s for sure the year of caring about multiple issues.

god yes thank you this is exactly the type of post i was annoyed with when i made this post
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2pL9HZd:

kayas-wife:

blackblocberniebros:

ithelpstodream:

http://ift.tt/2AozZpm

Also, the victim was white and Black Lives Matter spoke up on his behalf anyway. So that should shut up any fucking idiotic “all lives matter” clowns.

“all lives matter” didn’t speak on his behalf. they were never about “all lives”
(Your picture was not posted)

Video

Dec. 27th, 2017 10:57 pm
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2pOHssX:
(Your picture was not posted)
gravityeyelids: (Default)
via http://ift.tt/2E3MQLN:

sounddesignerjeans:

hurloaned:

Are you Straight or BI or Gay or Lotion?
(Your picture was not posted)

Profile

gravityeyelids: (Default)
Rachel

April 2019

S M T W T F S
  1 2 3 4 5 6
7 8 910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930    

Most Popular Tags

Page Summary

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 29th, 2026 09:22 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios